Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mccants Middle School 4

Posted May 16, 2011
- a teacher
I was both a teacher and a parent of children in this school. I agree with some of the comments from parents. In short, McCants is the best school for bright, creative, hard working students. If your child is not willing to apply himself...select Lakeside! Lakeside or Southwood caters to making parents happy and keeping students happy--thus their higher rating. Overall...McCants has high academic standards and does leave many behind!

Mccants Middle School 3

Posted December 10, 2010
- a parent
We just recently moved to the Anderson area. I chose this school for my 8th grade son based on the ratings from this website. Imagine my horror to discover that there are teachers that allow students to sleep during class. Even teachers in the honors classes have challenges. Please rethink your rating for this school.


Mccants Middle School
no rating

Posted January 08, 2009
- a student
I am a senior at TLH and attended McCants. Honestly, sometimes it can't be blamed on the teacher. Middle school is a lot harder for the smart elementary students and sometimes it is a wake up call, and not entirely the teachers fault. I am also a Teacher Cadet and recently finished my internship at McCants, and know there is nowhere near 40 students in any class. There were 26 students in my class. Maybe I was just with an excellent teacher, but the students were not afraid to ask questions and she would always answer them. As a former student, older sister to a current sixth grader, and a future teacher, I can say with confidence that McCants is doing an excellent job with what they have.

Mccants Middle School
no rating

Posted August 15, 2007
- a student
4 star school. Great teachers. Great location. Nice Students.

Mccants Middle School 2

Posted March 11, 2006
- a parent
I also agree with the 'Falling through the cracks'. My child is not in honors classes. Always made straight A's in the past and has now made some C's. Teachers are unresponsive to your questions or requests for help. The child is afraid to ask questions in class because the teachers seem to think once through something is enough. Very disappointed with the quality.


Mccants Middle School
no rating

Posted February 08, 2005
- a parent
I have a child who attends this school and am also very disapointed at how he has 'fallen thru the cracks'. When he started at McCants two years ago, he was a honor roll student and has gone downhill since. I know that the school boast a 15:1 student/teacher ratio, but there are 35-40 students in all four of his major academic classes. The staff needs to be more aware of these students who need help and don't know how to ask. The communication between teachers and parents is really a joke. This needs to be addressed.

Mccants Middle School 2

Posted October 20, 2004
- a parent
My child attends McCants --- I am very disappointed with the performance of this school. I am so disappointed, that I cant even think of the words right now. There's nothing more to say that I am really disappointed in this school.

Mccants Middle School 2

Posted September 15, 2004
- a student
Here is a review of teachers at McCants from a current 8th grade honors student.Most teachers here are good and high quality. But, it depends on the teacher you have. The 'old' teachers with a lot of experience might tend to be a litte boring but, they are fair in terms of your grade. The 'man' teachers are very fair and it depends if they are boring. The 'young' teachers are very strict, have very little experience and high expectations. They cant really teach we1l but, they expect a lot from you. The 'woman' teachers vary. Some really do teach you and some are very adamant.


Mccants Middle School 2

Posted August 31, 2004
- a parent
McCants is a great school, provided your child is an honor student in all honor classes. If your child is an 'in between' student expect them to fall through the cracks of this school. The staff is not willng to cooperate with the parents of these 'middle of the road' kids. The want you to stay out of the class room and leave the teacher alone. I have yet to see evidence of the 'open door' policy for my middle of the road' performing child. It was always open for my honor student. I guess the only children that count in this school are the ones that can boost the test scores. Best of Luck to anyone with children in this school.--- Very disappointed parent.

Nearby schools

Mccants Middle School
2123 Marchbanks Ave, Anderson, SC  29621
(864) 260-5145
Last modified Mccants Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top