Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mccants Middle School 4

Posted May 16, 2011
- a teacher
I was both a teacher and a parent of children in this school. I agree with some of the comments from parents. In short, McCants is the best school for bright, creative, hard working students. If your child is not willing to apply himself...select Lakeside! Lakeside or Southwood caters to making parents happy and keeping students happy--thus their higher rating. Overall...McCants has high academic standards and does leave many behind!

Mccants Middle School 3

Posted December 10, 2010
- a parent
We just recently moved to the Anderson area. I chose this school for my 8th grade son based on the ratings from this website. Imagine my horror to discover that there are teachers that allow students to sleep during class. Even teachers in the honors classes have challenges. Please rethink your rating for this school.


Mccants Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 08, 2009
- a student
I am a senior at TLH and attended McCants. Honestly, sometimes it can't be blamed on the teacher. Middle school is a lot harder for the smart elementary students and sometimes it is a wake up call, and not entirely the teachers fault. I am also a Teacher Cadet and recently finished my internship at McCants, and know there is nowhere near 40 students in any class. There were 26 students in my class. Maybe I was just with an excellent teacher, but the students were not afraid to ask questions and she would always answer them. As a former student, older sister to a current sixth grader, and a future teacher, I can say with confidence that McCants is doing an excellent job with what they have.

Mccants Middle School 5

Posted July 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mccants Middle School 2

Posted September 02, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Mccants Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 15, 2007
- a student
4 star school. Great teachers. Great location. Nice Students.

Mccants Middle School 3

Posted April 28, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mccants Middle School 2

Posted March 11, 2006
- a parent
I also agree with the 'Falling through the cracks'. My child is not in honors classes. Always made straight A's in the past and has now made some C's. Teachers are unresponsive to your questions or requests for help. The child is afraid to ask questions in class because the teachers seem to think once through something is enough. Very disappointed with the quality.


Mccants Middle School 0
no rating

Posted February 08, 2005
- a parent
I have a child who attends this school and am also very disapointed at how he has 'fallen thru the cracks'. When he started at McCants two years ago, he was a honor roll student and has gone downhill since. I know that the school boast a 15:1 student/teacher ratio, but there are 35-40 students in all four of his major academic classes. The staff needs to be more aware of these students who need help and don't know how to ask. The communication between teachers and parents is really a joke. This needs to be addressed.

Mccants Middle School 2

Posted October 20, 2004
- a parent
My child attends McCants --- I am very disappointed with the performance of this school. I am so disappointed, that I cant even think of the words right now. There's nothing more to say that I am really disappointed in this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mccants Middle School
2123 Marchbanks Ave, Anderson, SC  29621
(864) 260-5145
Last modified Mccants Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mccants Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top