Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Beaufort Academy

Private | PK-12 | 280 students

Our school is best known for 100% college acceptance by our graduates.
 
 

 
 

Living in Beaufort

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $204,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $873.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2014

Beaufort Academy is a wonderful school! When we were moving to Beaufort, we visited the campus and were so impressed with everyone and everything. We have two children enrolled and their transition was flawless. It truly is a family atmosphere and they welcomed us all with open arms. The teachers provide a challenging curriculum with a nurturing hand. Everyone strives to make their students reach their full potential. We could not be happier with our choice! It is definitely money well spent. Our kids are worth it! Thank you BA! I would encourage you to go visit the campus and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2014

Our children attended for 5+ years . If you are from Beaufort and well-to-do, this is the best place to go. If you are middle class and just wanting a good education, think twice if you aren't local. Most of the parents who run the school programs are snobs, and their children in turn are also. There are constant requests for more money (fundraisers) every month of the school year. It can become almost harassing. The education as far as elementary age is solid, high school is limited with what they offer compared to public school. Also, discipline for problem behaviors in the classroom is inconsistent and at times not followed. (It depends who the child's parent is as to whether it's a teacher's kid- they all go free or a well-to-do and influential parent). My children did love their teachers, and there are always things going on with programs and field trips, which is a positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2014

BA is a horrible, teachers are awful. As a former student in high school, I say BA is bad. The only thing the school is good at is their sports program.. So if you have the chance, send your kids elsewhere. Trust me when I say, do NOT come here.


Posted September 25, 2013

My children love coming to school! This is our first year at BA and my PreK students immediately connected with the teachers and their new classmates. They have already learned so much in such a short time, and as parents we see their confidence soaring. The teachers are very experienced, accessible, a wealth of information, and highly skilled. This was absolutely the combination of academics and family environment we wanted for our kiddos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

We enrolled our child in Kindergarten last fall and wound up removing her after a month of class. The school did not meet the advertised standards of character or conduct and fostered a chaotic and stressful environment due to lack of supervision and discipline in the class. Ensure you get tuition insurance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

My 3 children graduated from B.A. and excelled in academics. The teachers are professional and serious about the student's education. My 3 children went on to college and graduated in the top 10% of their graduating classes. The results of being educated by the teachers of Beaufort Academy are obvious. My wife and I are most pleased by all that is Beaufort Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2012

This school is amazing! My daughter's learning has increased exponentially since they enrolled at Beaufort Academy. The quality and patience of the teachers and the professionalism of the entire staff is commendable. Parent concerns are addressed immediately and the curriculum in every grade exceeds my expectations. I am so impressed with this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

Beaufort Academy has everything for our children. The small class sizes and quality teaching methods are second to none! Great preparation for college and beyond. Family atmosphere with love and attention towards all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 53%
Black 4% 36%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Julia Stewart Corner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (843) 524-1171

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Academic Quiz Bowl
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • SADD
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Beaufort Academy is designed to instill in students the intellectual curiosity and strength of character for success in college and beyond. At BA, students will find themselves immersed in a professional learning environment grounded in the core values of integrity, leadership, pride, intellect and respect, which are embodied by the faculty, parents, and students alike. BA is where learning happens, a sense of community is felt, and every student is encouraged to make a difference.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$6000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
4-year college or university
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

240 Sams Point Rd
Beaufort, SC 29907
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 524-3393

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT