Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cross Schools

Private | PK-8 | 440 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bluffton

Situated in a rural neighborhood. The median home value is $174,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $873.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2014

This school is fantastic. My daughter has attended since she was 18 months old and we could not be more pleased. The staff is caring and they are have a great ratio of students to teachers. We love that the preschool program has actual academic value and is not just a babysitting service. We are so glad we found Cross.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2012

We loved Cross Schools. After having a nasty experience at a smaller private school close by, Cross took our child in and his advancements were great. We had to move and his is admired at his new school, all thanks to what he learned with Cross Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2011

We couldn't be more pleased with the experience our 2-year-old daughter is having at Cross. She is learning so much, it amazes me. Plus, it is really neat to see her develop friendships even at such a young age. We feel completely comfortable leaving our daugher at Cross on a full-time basis and couldn't be happier with the teaching staff - they are amazing and we are grateful they are a part of our daugher's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

I think Cross Schools is a BARGAIN! When any parent considers the environment that their children are forced to be exposed to in the public school system, particularly in this community, then compares that to the loving Christian environment that their children encounter day in and day out at Cross Schools, the choice seems pretty simple. The Headmistress and her staff of faculty and administration are unparalled in this community. How the school is able to retain such over-qualified teachers is one of life's little mysteries that I an extremely thankful for. My child's test scores were off the charts last year, compared to where she had been when she started at this school and I know this is a direct result of the individualized attention that she receives due to the small class-size. If giving your child(ren) the best advantages (an excellence in academics coupled with a strong foundation in Christianity) as they progress through what has become an increasingly competitive and secular world, then look no further than Cross Schools. You'll be glad you did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

We love Cross Schools. My children really benefit from thier time at Cross. The "extra" things the school does are great and I appreciate the dedication of the teachers the most. Not only are the academics set at a high standard but the children are also learning important Christian values. Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

Our children love Cross Schools. The teachers are amazing and my children have learned so much! The small class sizes (18 children with 2 teachers) allow the teachers to give individual attention to each child. We truly feel the education at Cross Schools is a terrific value as our children test above grade level and are excited to go to school and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

I am a staff member at this school.The teachers here go beyond the extra mile with the students.Students are the most well behaved and always ready to lend a hand no matter the cause. Parents are right there for their children and any needs the teaching staff may need.there is just so much more that this school offers that I have not enough room to go into.


Posted July 9, 2009

Cross is the kind of school that provdes an excellent education while teaching your child to be respectful and challenge themselves to their potential. Cross truly challenges the child on all levels, not just education. Cross prepares them for life. All of the staff have strong relationships with the students because of the small classrooms. The students love their school. I will miss Cross greatly since we moved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

This is by far the best school in the area. The teachers and staff care about each and every student. Unlike the public schools in the area the classroom environment is all about learning. There is no bullying and discipline issues in this school...truly a special place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2009

There is no real work, middle school students are treated like they're in elementary school with activities such as recess, spanish, class parties for non-essential holidays and there are no exploratories. The only exams they have are only for the eighth grade, you wear P.E. clothes all day, and in all, their education suffers. For example, when I switched schools, I took the test to be enrolled. They said I had to be tutored during the summer in math because my math skills were below average for the normal seventh grade student, which puzzled me because at Cross, I had a high A in math. Their education is definitely unsatisfactory compared to other school in this area. I would highly suggest not to go here unless small schools with barely any homework meet your standards and are satisfactory with you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2009

Both my 5 and 7 year olds go to Cross. The Director and teachers are all supurb. Communication is open and readily available any time. Class size is about 12 students with two teachers. This is the best in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

My sister and brother go to this school. They love it there. My brother struggled in Public, but is doing so much better now! My sister still struggles with her behavior sometimes, but is so much better since switching to this school. I would definitely recommend this school, it has wonderful kids and education.


Posted October 4, 2008

My kid has been going to this school now for 8 years and absolutly loves it. The kids and teachers are all well respected and there are absolutly NO bullies or abusive children. The teachers care about the students. If your looking for a new school, send your child to Cross Episcopal School! The grades are Kindergarden-8th grade and they are building a High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

Cross School is outstanding! Our grandson is receiving a superior education; the teachers and staff are excellent.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 50%
Black 2% 43%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 6%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Shawn Young, Headmistress/ Susan Hackett, Preschool Director
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
Fax number
  • (843) 706-2010

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Community service, fundraising, and volunteering at the school.
More from this school
  • Low student to teacher ratio.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

495 Buckwalter Parkway
Bluffton, SC 29910
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 706-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT