Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
247 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cross Schools 1

Posted April 06, 2016
- a community member
The test scores that Cross uses to purport it's academics as superior to the public schools are an entirely different set of standards. The administrators are manipulating unknowing parents into believing their children are performing at a higher level when in fact they are using a different set of tests to reach the conclusion. To be fair, I did only tour Cross in my search to find the best education for my kids but that was enough. It was a disastrous experience. Kids sleeping in class, science class was a joke and teachers who I asked couldn't even explain what their instructional plan was for science, computer lab had kids passing notes and goofing off, overflowing trash cans, a tiny library, high schoolers pushing and calling names in the stairwell before they realized a tour was coming. Friends whose kids go there love the school and I get it---it's an insulated universe and has a great community. I've heard fantastic things about its preschool. But, it's elementary, middle, and high school strength is its small size NOT the academics.

Cross Schools
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
Respect is modeled and taught to students each day. Students begin their day by shaking hands each morning with their Head Mistress, Mrs. Young. That is a wonderful way to start your day!


Cross Schools
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
Cross Schools promotes empathy, compassion, and caring in all aspects of the school. Older students mentor younger students and teachers mentor older students!

Cross Schools
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
Cross Schools Parent Advisory Committee held a parent night to help the parents with the topic of integrity! As Christians we are called to live public lives of integrity. However, we find ourselves in a culture that is becoming increasingly hostile to all matters of faith. How do we live a life of Public Faith that impacts our community and honors God? How do we teach our children that? This message was shared with our parents. The students participate in character education working on integrity and many other character traits.

Cross Schools 5

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience at Cross Schools for both of our children. Our son began at Cross as a two year old and is now in the second grade our daughter began as an 18 month old and is now in Pre-k. Both the Preschool and the Lower/Middle School prepare spiritually and academically for whatever life will through at them. The teachers are caring and the classes are smaller giving students more attention. Teachers have an assistant to help in the classroom as well! There are many sports and clubs to be a part of for students and many ways for parents to volunteer and participate in their child's schooling like family chapel and Flag Pole Friday. Cross Schools feels like an extended family we look forward to many more years at Cross for our children.


Cross Schools 5

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
Wonderful, loving atmosphere. I love that my child is learning about the Bible in addition to academics. The small class size allows all students the attention they deserve.

Cross Schools 5

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
We love Cross Schools! Choosing the best school for your children is one of the most important decisions parents will ever make. We are thrilled with our choice! The teachers and staff are wonderful, and our children have grown spiritually and academically. We highly recommend it!

Cross Schools 3

Posted April 18, 2015
- a parent
My family's experience with Cross schools, was both good and bad. The students seem to be well behaved and overall good kids. However, some of the teachers come off as insensitive at times, especially in the lower grades. Also, this school is not very accommodating for students who struggle academically. Ultimately, we decided to go with another school that offered more individual support.


Cross Schools 5

Posted February 26, 2015
- a parent
My pre-k students (twins) love going to this school. This is a great environment to kickstart my children's passion for learning. They will be prepared for kindergarten and seem to know how to function properly in a school setting. Let's hope this continues into their teen years!

Cross Schools 5

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
This school is fantastic. My daughter has attended since she was 18 months old and we could not be more pleased. The staff is caring and they are have a great ratio of students to teachers. We love that the preschool program has actual academic value and is not just a babysitting service. We are so glad we found Cross.

Nearby schools

Cross Schools
495 Buckwalter Parkway, Bluffton, SC  29910
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (843) 706-2000
Last modified Cross Schools is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top