Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blythewood High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 09, 2015
- a student
There is only one person in this school who has actually taught me anything. Ltc. White has given a lot of insight to what I could do after graduating high school. He has also been very understanding about my current situation.

Blythewood High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted December 09, 2015
- a student
As I've stated before, if you have to make a way to retake a test you know the students aren't retaining much knowledge from the curriculum.


Blythewood High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 09, 2015
- a student
The wrong teachers give homework in this school. For example, Choir has put more stress on me than any other class since the teacher can't teach people right the first time.

Blythewood High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a student
Some teachers don't even assign homework. I personally think that if you don't assign homework you don't help students learn their material. Also, you know it's bad when you have to develop a way to retake a test since so many students fail. If you take the time to teach them, they will do the test right the first time.

Blythewood High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a student
First off, being ridiculously lenient with cell phones and hats is not a good idea. Also, some teachers show noticeable favoritism towards certain students. I go to school to be treated the same as other people, not to be pushed aside and treated differently from the rest. Cheating is almost encouraged as teachers don't walk around during tests to look around to see if kids are cheating.


Blythewood High School 1

Posted December 09, 2015
- a student
I don't know if it's that I lived in a different state for more than a decade, but I have got to say this school is really not very good. The chorus teacher is unorganized and to be fair pretty rude, the German teacher is in my opinion one of the worst teachers I've ever had, the only thing this school has going for it is the JROTC program. The teachers on average don't really care about the students and some throw a fit when I try to ask a genuine question. The classes are absolute trash. There is not a single teacher I was comfortable talking with. There is rampant racism everywhere and the students are very disrespectful. I honestly don't understand why there are such good reviews for this school. If you're considering making your children attend, please please please reconsider. I don't want them to go through the same pain I did.

Blythewood High School 5

Posted July 31, 2013
- a student
I have surely thrived and felt more loved and given more opportunity at this school than ever. The teachers care about the student and the subject. It's one big happy family. They will do whatever you need to help you succeed. There's also a wide range of classes to best suit your interests and so many fun ways to get involved. My heart is always in Blythewood.

Blythewood High School 4

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
DO NOT listen to the parent below... please be cognizant that some people think their child is more deserving than yours.


Blythewood High School 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a community member
I love Blythewood High School! My child has greatly benefited from the rigorous academic program and the outstanding co-curricular opportunities allotted. DO NOT listen to the parent below... please be cognizant of which schools you are zoned for when relocating.

Blythewood High School 5

Posted December 01, 2012
- a student
Blythewood High School is one of more affluent and less diverse of the five high schools in Richland Two. The teachers are excellent and most have advanced training such as National Boards, AP, and G/T. I am currently in my sophomore year at BHS and I love it! I am so blessed to be at a school with such a warm and inviting environment, beneficial for all children to flourish. My only problem with the school is communication, we aren't aware of most things that are happening at school, so hardly anyone shows up to events, except for Basketball and Football, of course. To anyone relocating to the Midlands, I believe the Blythewood High School Feeder is the best in Richland Two. I have had the great and unique privilege of attending a true "Palmetto's Finest" High School. #GoBengals!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blythewood High School
10901 Wilson Blvd, Blythewood, SC  29016
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (803) 691-4090
Last modified Blythewood High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top