Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Central, SC
Students enrolled: 764

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


R. C. Edwards Middle School 1

Posted November 24, 2014
- a community member
This school has a problem with kids being bullied and the staff would rather sit back and do nothing! Parents have contacted the principal and they get called a liar! Parents and other community people have wrote reviews on a FB page only to have them ignored and deleted! This school already lost a 13 yr old student because he was tired of the bullying then almost lost a 12 yr old student because she was tired of it! How many young lives has to be lost for these administrators to wake up and do their job and protect these kids! We as parents are forced to send our kids to school everyday by these people but we as parents can't force them to protect them! I find it a disgrace that this is allowed!

R. C. Edwards Middle School 4

Posted October 01, 2013
- a community member
My son went to this school as we moved to Central for a few years, and the school is great! There are really high expectations and the classes he takes are quite challenging. I don't recommend this school unless your son/daughter has taken advanced classes in the past year.


R. C. Edwards Middle School 2

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
We moved from South Carolina to Washington State where my son was tested and was a full year behind. He had to take 7th grade over. He was NOT ready for 8th grade in Math, Science and English. If your child is attending this school make sure they do all they can to acheive good grades in those subjects and try to do more if possible. Make sure they read!

R. C. Edwards Middle School 1

Posted June 08, 2010
- a parent
We, too, are from another state and very displeased with the educational system in SC . After PASS Testing, school books are taken up and no more school work happens. The teachers show movies and let the children play games all day for weeks after PASS Testing. There is very little instruction going on from the teachers at any time during the year. Most hand out worksheets and while the children work on those, the teachers play on the computers that are in their classrooms. The teachers have two planning periods a day which is unheard of at most schools. With all the "planning" that is going on, you would think the rest of the day they could teach what was planned. One teacher had the children listen to books on tape everyday instead of instructing them with a proper lesson. There is a reason SC schools are ranked #49.

R. C. Edwards Middle School 1

Posted June 07, 2010
- a parent
We relocated to South Carolina 3 years ago & were told that this is the best school in the area. My child has just completed the 6th grade at this school & I am happy to say that we are relocating. I highly recommend that if you are considering sending your child to this school that you visit the facility. It is in poor condition and has not been maintained consistently. The administration falls short in providing the best opportunities for their students. If a student is in the band, orchestra or chorus they are not elligible to take a foreign language. This is possible elsewhere. Teachers have been enjoying in school vacations with their students since May by showing movies. The office staff is unkind to parents & students. Academic achievement awards are not in fact awarded to students with the highest average. Strong leadership & change is badly needed.


R. C. Edwards Middle School 3

Posted May 24, 2009
- a parent
My daughter was placed in an advanced 6th grade math class that all but skipped the 6th grade standards. The rest of the class had to be in a special math class for 7th grade to undo the damage. We moved out of state last fall, where my daughter soared this year, and had a caring math teacher that helped her regain her footing. She was so happy to leave a school where the bathroom doors are falling off and the halls dingy. The teaching is for the most part pedestrian and too-structured for passing tests. Last year, the principal changed twice. This school needs better leadership and creative teaching from more teachers.

R. C. Edwards Middle School 2

Posted May 30, 2007
- a parent
Academic expectations are high but teacher quality of instruction is very one-dimensional with little engaging instructional opportunities for students. Lack of visionary leadership has been an ongoing problem for teachers and students but with a new principal coming on board for Fall 2007 expectations are high for improvement. Two award-winning elementary schools feed into this one with an award-winning high school following. This school could be stellar with the right leadership for both teachers and students.

R. C. Edwards Middle School 5

Posted March 08, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


R. C. Edwards Middle School 1

Posted November 22, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

R. C. Edwards Middle School
1157 Madden Bridge Rd, Central, SC  29630
(864) 397-4200
Last modified R. C. Edwards Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
R. C. Edwards Middle School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top