Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
1-8
Private
Charleston, SC
Students enrolled: 323
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mason Preparatory School 4

Posted December 14, 2014
- a parent
Most of Mason Prep's teachers are above and beyond what you could ever hope for in any school. The family-style, nurturing environment is unmatched in any school across the Lowcountry. Students are well prepared for high school with the exception of one subject - Science. Until the 7th and 8th grade Science program begins to improve, Mason Prep students will suffer as they attempt to excel in high school. Instead of testing on "critical thinking skills," the science teacher needs to test on science knowledge so that these children will be prepared for high school science. MPS students are not prepared for advanced high school science. Hopefully, administration will understand the importance of proper teaching and testing, and insist on improvements in this area. Otherwise, this school is unsurpassed in every other subject!

Mason Preparatory School 5

Posted December 17, 2012
- a parent
Mason Prep School (MPS) offers an exceptional learning environment for boys and girls. The headmaster (Mr. Kreutner) is outstanding and the education is second to none. The school does an excellent job of promoting self confidence and teamwork within and across the grades. The environment sets a solid foundation in education and good citizenship so the students can continue to excel beyond MPS. We are confident that we made the best choice when choosing schools.


Mason Preparatory School 5

Posted December 15, 2012
- a parent
Mason Prep is one of a kind. We have an amazing principal and incredible teachers all of whom are committed to the individual success of the children. Rigorous academics in a nurturing environment equals WIN WIN for my daughters. We couldn't be happier with our choice of MPS.

Mason Preparatory School 5

Posted November 21, 2012
- a parent
I absolutely recommend Mason Prep both as an alumna and a parent of a first and third grader. Miss. Mason founded the school based on important fundamentals, such as: a democratic structure in which students elect a 'city council', an overall excellent standard of education, the importance of volunteerism, the power in working together and a well rounded curriculum . Students from day one are greeted by name. Teachers reward good deeds, behavior and skills via 'The Nice Knight', 'King of the Day' and special recognition during assembly. Older students are paired with younger students as 'pen pals'. Miss. Mason knew the importance and power of good manners and a hand-written note. Most of the staff have advanced degrees and have been with the school for many years. They go above and beyond to encourage and motivate each student. 7th and 8th graders learn how to volunteer. Parents are highly encouraged to participate and the PTO runs like a small business. If you like the feel of a small, nurturing, welcoming school that will fully prepare your child academically, emotionally and socially...Mason Prep delivers value and results.

Mason Preparatory School 5

Posted November 11, 2012
- a parent
As a parent of a Mason Prep graduate, I can't say enough about this school. The teachers are excellent, committed and dedicated. Many have been there for more than 10 years: this speaks volumes. It is a rigorous academic setting with attention to the most important fundamentals of education, good citizenship and leadership. Each grade-level teacher works diligently to prepare each child for the next grade to follow. As a result, the students are incredibly well prepared as they move upward and into high school and life outside of Mason Prep's walls. The new leadership is strong, forward thinking, approachable and on top of current trends in education, learning and policy. The education your child receives at Mason Prep is the best in town and most definitely the greatest value in a friendly competitive independent school environment. But perhaps one of the most endearing and important qualities Mason Prep offers is a strong and sincere feeling of "family." My child's friends from elementary school and their families remain our closest friends, many years after matriculating. We feel so fortunate that we chose Mason Prep and would do it all over again if we had the chance.


Mason Preparatory School 5

Posted November 11, 2012
- a parent
We are the parents of a 7th and 3rd grader at Mason Prep. We have not had a single negative experience with the school in our seven years. From an academic standpoint, the teachers do an excellent job of not only teaching the required materials but also keeping an eye on each individual child to make sure they fully comprehend the material. If there is ever an issue, the teacher will do whatever it takes to resolve the problem even if it means giving freely of their own personal time. The teachers and administration not only know each child by name, they are also well aware of their individual personalities and demeanor. As such, they are very attuned to any problems that may arise. It is this individual attention that our children receive that makes this school stand out in the community.

Mason Preparatory School 5

Posted October 14, 2012
- a parent
GREAT SCHOOL!!!!!! Very warm family enviroinment, teachers are very caring and supportive.We are very pleased that we have found Mason Prep.

Mason Preparatory School 5

Posted January 08, 2012
- a community member
I am a student at Mason Preparatory School. I have enjoyed the school for many years now and it offers great experiences and oppertunities! In my opinion you need to put your child in this school if you want them to have a good education. YOUR child will have great friends and there is no bullying what so ever. You will love the teachers and staff who are very involved with you children. YOUR child will be super prepared for highschool. Your child will love everything about this school. WHAT A GREAT ENVIREMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Mason Preparatory School 0
no rating

Posted March 15, 2010
- a parent
I am a parent of a 4th and 2nd grader and we absolutely love this school! I certainly don't agree with the writer that the teachers are uncaring. The school does expect much from the student but this is only to mold them into responsible and caring citizens. Our children are our future! The faculty/staff/teachers are exceptional in every way...

Mason Preparatory School 5

Posted July 31, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mason Preparatory School
56 Halsey Blvd, Charleston, SC  29401
(843) 723-0664
Last modified Mason Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 1-8
Mason Preparatory School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top