Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

James Island Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 160 students

JICS provides a college prep experience within a Christ-centered environment.

 
 

Living in Charleston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $175,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

My oldest son will graduate from JICS this year and has been at the school since the first grade. My youngest son is in the first grade now and will also graduate from JICS. Choosing to send my children to this school is the best decision I have made as a parent. My senior has been prepared academically, spiritually and athletically. He has been accepted at every college to which he has applied including state and private universities and colleges. I would recommend this school to anyone who asks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

Great school with strong leadership, excellent faculty who care for students needs, tremendous extracurricular (athletic, academic, arts) and strong emphasis on the development of Christian morals and values.


Posted October 17, 2013

Our son has been at JICS since K5 (almost 10 years now). My wife and I love the school, the leadership and the faculty and staff. The school also has a sound academic program and a strong athletic program with solid coaches. We really love the schools mission: partnering with parents, to disciple children to influence their generation. JICS is an integral part of helping us raise our child. Through the partnership that is created between the school, me and my wife, we are able to provide for our child an education that is centered on a biblical world view. From the core subjects to the extracurricular activities, the school is centered on the Gospel. The Gospel shapes the way subjects are taught, and it complements what is being reinforced and taught at home. This partnership is then used to disciple our child and helps him grow in his understanding of the the Gospel. As he grows in his understanding of science, history and math, he also grows in his knowledge of the Word and how to apply that understanding in his own life. From there, we are trusting that God will use this solid foundation in the Gospel to shape a young man that is able to influence his generation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

James Island Christian School We love the staff at James Island Christian! They are educated, patient & loving with the students. Our children are given one on one time with the teachers because of the smaller class sizes which has been very beneficial especially with reading! They are teaching our kids character & life skills that go beyond what you will find at other schools. The school has a family atmosphere that we enjoy as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Once in a while something truly exceeds expectations - for us, the JICS experience does. We have 7 children that now attend JICS - ages 4 to 13. They were adopted from afar and near: China, Ethiopia, Panama, and New York State. This is the third year since the first of our children enrolled at JICS - in less than 4 years we will have 2 more children there. We are extremely pleased with the school. From the principal, the administrative staff, teachers, and coaches, we have been treated as family. The school's Christian values brought us to the school - the work ethics of the school's teachers and staff keeps us there. We have been extremely pleased with not only the school's curriculum but also with the individual attention each child receives. A couple of our kids are truly gifted in art - there is no better art program in the country than what exists at JICS. Do we consider JICS tuition to be a good deal? The fact that we have 7 students there and will have 9 before the oldest graduates answers that question.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

We have had one or two children attending JICS since it opened in 1994. Our experience has been overwhelmingly positive. The Christian worldview is taught and lived out here. The school supports our family's efforts in discipling our kids, as well as teaching academic subjects they'll need in life and college. Our oldest completed his entire K3-12th experience at JICS. He was accepted by several colleges, and graduated from the SC school he most wanted to attend. The athletic program is well-supported, and because the school is smaller, both kids have played on whatever sports teams they were interested in. The art teacher is gifted at pulling out whatever talent your child may have; JICS students' artwork is amazing. We have had many JICS teachers whose sincere interest in our children's success was both touching and encouraging. The faculty and staff are a huge part of why JICS feels like family. There are pros and cons to a small school. We have found mostly that the pros (class/teacher ratios, individual attention, sports participation, family feeling), outweigh the cons (limited extracurriculars). Uniformed marching band? No. Great teachers dedicated to kids success? Yes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

We moved our three kids here because we wanted a school for our kids that matched our Christian values. Come here if you are a Christian who cares about discipling your child, wants a good education for your child, wants an excellent sports program, and wants to participate in your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

No, do not send your children here. They are not professionals, my teen has not been happy here, and is not getting a education. It does not get you really to go to college, and some kids end up at a community college, because they have flunked out. The only good thing is the student body. They are nice kids, and loving to each other.


Posted September 16, 2009

Because the Princess loves it and it challenges her. It isn't a school that just 'gets by', they work to engage the students' minds and make them think for themselves.


Posted September 23, 2008

JICS is a school with a new athletic director and headmaster; new programs for K-12th grade. Academically it will not only prepare your child for college but life. It is also a school that now desires to minister in character and Integrity. This is a school that is developing into a real christian environment in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

JICS is a school with a new vision in athletics and academics. We have a new Athletic Director and Headmaster who both desire to see the students grow in academics, athletics and in ministry spiritually. If you are looking for a family and a school who wants character and Integrity; this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

I disagree. JICS is not athletic driven. It is academically driven and has new text books, computers, and teachers. It is diverse and growing. This is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

This school is an athletics driven shool, and it has a good accedemics course. It has a Christian based curiculum as well as atmosphere. It is a nice small school where the teachers can get to know each student. JICS teachers also provide adequate tutoring if a student has fallen behind on anything.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 53%
Black 6% 36%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 20% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 78% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation College of Charleston
Clemson University
Charleston Southern University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Regional Spelling Bee (2013)
  • Earth Day Art Award (2013)
  • N Charleston Art Festival (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Online Availability for other languages
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jeremy Schwartz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (843) 762-1619

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Online Availability for other languages
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • for special trips
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • National Beta Club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Each year, we are able to qualify students (based on our class size) for the Palmetto Fellow Scholarship, the state's highest academic scholarship.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$3000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
College of Charleston
Clemson University
Charleston Southern University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 20%
4 year college - 78%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 Crosscreek Dr
Charleston, SC 29412
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 795-1762

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Porter-Gaud School
Charleston, SC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT