Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
160 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Island Christian School 5

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
We agonized over our school choice decision for our two daughters and settled on James Island Christian School after touring virtually every school in the area. We are SO impressed with the education that our daughters (6th and 8th grade) are receiving at JICS. I have worked in education for 25 years and have never seen a school where the teachers are so deeply committed to the development of the whole child. They instruct, mentor and encourage the development of leadership through multiple programs. Please, do yourself and your children a favor and tour this school! We cannot be more pleased with our choice.

James Island Christian School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
Jeremy Schwartz is the driving force of this school, but he could not be so effective without the complete and total backing of a truly talented group of teachers.


James Island Christian School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
My oldest son will graduate from JICS this year and has been at the school since the first grade. My youngest son is in the first grade now and will also graduate from JICS. Choosing to send my children to this school is the best decision I have made as a parent. My senior has been prepared academically, spiritually and athletically. He has been accepted at every college to which he has applied including state and private universities and colleges. I would recommend this school to anyone who asks.

James Island Christian School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a community member
Great school with strong leadership, excellent faculty who care for students needs, tremendous extracurricular (athletic, academic, arts) and strong emphasis on the development of Christian morals and values.

James Island Christian School 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
Our son has been at JICS since K5 (almost 10 years now). My wife and I love the school, the leadership and the faculty and staff. The school also has a sound academic program and a strong athletic program with solid coaches. We really love the schools mission: partnering with parents, to disciple children to influence their generation. JICS is an integral part of helping us raise our child. Through the partnership that is created between the school, me and my wife, we are able to provide for our child an education that is centered on a biblical world view. From the core subjects to the extracurricular activities, the school is centered on the Gospel. The Gospel shapes the way subjects are taught, and it complements what is being reinforced and taught at home. This partnership is then used to disciple our child and helps him grow in his understanding of the the Gospel. As he grows in his understanding of science, history and math, he also grows in his knowledge of the Word and how to apply that understanding in his own life. From there, we are trusting that God will use this solid foundation in the Gospel to shape a young man that is able to influence his generation.


James Island Christian School 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
James Island Christian School We love the staff at James Island Christian! They are educated, patient & loving with the students. Our children are given one on one time with the teachers because of the smaller class sizes which has been very beneficial especially with reading! They are teaching our kids character & life skills that go beyond what you will find at other schools. The school has a family atmosphere that we enjoy as well!

James Island Christian School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Once in a while something truly exceeds expectations - for us, the JICS experience does. We have 7 children that now attend JICS - ages 4 to 13. They were adopted from afar and near: China, Ethiopia, Panama, and New York State. This is the third year since the first of our children enrolled at JICS - in less than 4 years we will have 2 more children there. We are extremely pleased with the school. From the principal, the administrative staff, teachers, and coaches, we have been treated as family. The school's Christian values brought us to the school - the work ethics of the school's teachers and staff keeps us there. We have been extremely pleased with not only the school's curriculum but also with the individual attention each child receives. A couple of our kids are truly gifted in art - there is no better art program in the country than what exists at JICS. Do we consider JICS tuition to be a good deal? The fact that we have 7 students there and will have 9 before the oldest graduates answers that question.

James Island Christian School 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
We have had one or two children attending JICS since it opened in 1994. Our experience has been overwhelmingly positive. The Christian worldview is taught and lived out here. The school supports our family's efforts in discipling our kids, as well as teaching academic subjects they'll need in life and college. Our oldest completed his entire K3-12th experience at JICS. He was accepted by several colleges, and graduated from the SC school he most wanted to attend. The athletic program is well-supported, and because the school is smaller, both kids have played on whatever sports teams they were interested in. The art teacher is gifted at pulling out whatever talent your child may have; JICS students' artwork is amazing. We have had many JICS teachers whose sincere interest in our children's success was both touching and encouraging. The faculty and staff are a huge part of why JICS feels like family. There are pros and cons to a small school. We have found mostly that the pros (class/teacher ratios, individual attention, sports participation, family feeling), outweigh the cons (limited extracurriculars). Uniformed marching band? No. Great teachers dedicated to kids success? Yes!


James Island Christian School 4

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
We moved our three kids here because we wanted a school for our kids that matched our Christian values. Come here if you are a Christian who cares about discipling your child, wants a good education for your child, wants an excellent sports program, and wants to participate in your child's education.

James Island Christian School 2

Posted April 22, 2011
- a community member
No, do not send your children here. They are not professionals, my teen has not been happy here, and is not getting a education. It does not get you really to go to college, and some kids end up at a community college, because they have flunked out. The only good thing is the student body. They are nice kids, and loving to each other.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Island Christian School
15 Crosscreek Dr, Charleston, SC  29412
(843) 795-1762
Last modified James Island Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
James Island Christian School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top