Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Northwood Academy

Private | K-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Charleston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $101,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, September 28, 2014

I paid money for my child to be in a christian environment and sadly this school does NOT have a christian atmosphere. The principal is very difficult to work with and does not speak to other faculty, students or parents with respect. Kids are bullying each other without consequences and more and more students are turning away from their relationship with the Lord due to this school. Save your money and child's heart, do not send your child to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2014

We have been very unimpressed with Northwood Academy. The school is, at best, average. High school math instruction is very poor. The high school principal is difficult to work with and has the attitude that she is always right. However, on more than one occasion, we have been provided with information regarding something as basic as state school requirements that have been factually incorrect. We would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

What a terrific school! My daughter has been at this school for 5 years. The teachers are very caring and the academic program is excellent! We drive 30-45 minutes every morning, and it is well worth the effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

I'd give this school zero stars if I could. Horrible people in the preschool program. Always trying to cause problems with parents who are not together. Very judgmental to kids who come from homes where the parents are not together. My poor nephew has been treated like a dog at this place. Thank god this is the last week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

This is a great school! The teachers are very caring. This school has a great educational program and promotes high standards for students to learn and achieve success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

Both of my daughters attend school there. They love it!! I am another parent that wishes they were not moving. I also work downtown and with all the traffic the move will not work for us either. I am very sad about it but praying that something else will work out. Maybe extend there after-school hours to 6:30?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

My daughter has been attending Northwood Academy since she was 2 and is starting 1st grade this year. This school is excellent! The teachers and staff could not be better. My daughter has passed other children educationally who are older than she is. The curriculum is far better than ever imagined! I only wish they were not rebuilding in their chosen location. Unfortunately we will not be able to keep our daughter at the school w/ the increased tuition and the fact that I work downtown - it won't work. I definately recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

This is an excellent school. Excellent academics with a Biblical basis. We wish they were not rebuilding in such an inconvenient location. Between tuition increases and the new location, we will probably not be able to keep our child in this school long term. We will continue to pray that the Lord works something out.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2263 Otranto Rd
Charleston, SC 29406
Phone: (843) 764-2285

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Northwood Academy
North Charleston, SC




Northside Christian School
North Charleston, SC



Pinehurst Elementary School
North Charleston, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT