Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cathedral Academy

Private | K-12 | 20 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2014

Cathedral Academy was good when I was 5. They need to begin to look at the big picture and realize that if they do not do something soon, the school will not be around for much longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

This school allows bullying of their students!!! They tend to always look the other way. I will not let my child attend a school that allows bullying!!


Posted June 24, 2013

After moving several times throughout my life, and attending and visiting several schools up and down the east coast, it is with confidence that I say that Cathedral Academy is one of the most outstanding christian schools I have ever been to. Cathedral Academy offers their students an environment for learning that is in a class all its own. The teachers and staff are so passionate about Kingdom Education and ensuring that each child reaches their fullest potential. Teachers do more than teaching at this school, they build relationships with their students, and journey with them to help them uncover their God given dreams and gifts. I have been a part of Cathedral Academy for three years, and in those three years I have watched young lives change for eternity. Cathedral's weekly chapels are so full of life and passion, the teachers are always available to students, and their curriculum is excellent. A biblical worldview permeates throughout each class and subject taught. And the students at Cathedral Academy are not only prepared for college but they are also prepared for life beyond college. I HIGHLY recommend Cathedral Academy and I am thankful that such great school exists!!!


Posted June 15, 2013

After having tried Public School, Homeschool, and another local Private Christian School, we decided to enroll our children into Cathedral Academy the day it opened. Being familiar with the church, and their Vision to journey with people to walk in the destiny that was designed for them, we made the financial sacrifice and enrolled all of our children. Our youngest just graduated last year, and all I can say is that it was worth every penny! Our children were not only prepared for college, but life as well! They were prepared academically, emotionally, and spiritually. The temptations that college can present have not been issues, because of the values that were instilled in them not only at home, but in school as well. It was wonderful to know that the staff was partnering right along with what we were teaching and training at home; Biblical values in all aspects of daily life. The teachers never hesitated to meet with us when necessary, and were always quick to respond to emails. The use of Gradebook.com made it possible to always know our child's grades and assignments. I HIGHLY recommend CA!!!!!!! Great Parents + Great School= Great Kids!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

My child has attended Cathedral Academy for a large portion of their schooling and we could not be happier with a school, public or private! When we researched other schools there was not one that compared in preparing my child for the 'real world" academically, spiritually, physically and emotionally. The vision of the administration is clearly evident all the way down to the volunteers who give their hearts and time to continuously improve and stay on top of what is best for the student as a whole person. There is so much to think about when it comes to where to send my child for the majority of their day and what is going to be put inside of them, not only academically but spiritually, mentally, emotionally and physically. i am proud of my child and who they are becoming and the way this school and the people God has placed there are helping them to become who God purposed for them to be! Thank you for such a real and wonderful environment for one of the most important people in my life, my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2013

We were so upset at this school and the administration on how they handle things. One certain teacher gets away with everything they do, no matter how awful it is just because of who she is married to!! This has come from more than just me, many other families feel the same way and have either already left mid year or won't be returning! The education that we are paying for isn't worth the money!! After this year, we will NOT be going back to this school. After looking at our other options in the area, even the public schools are more advanced than this school. The children will be so far behind and I just can't see paying for a huge disappointment! My child deserves so much more and better than this schools education and the administration. They do not care too much for the families and there needs or concerns and they should as we are the ones that are paying them for there "service"!! Please, don't waste your time or money on this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

My child has attended for 3 years and after this year will be attending a different private school. The academics could be more challenging. There could be more clubs or activities offered. There has been problems with bullying that should be addressed differently. I would love to have organization and buses used for away sporting events. Given the small school size there are cliques, that may or may not be beneficial to your student's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

This school has a great environment and just an all around great school. I will send all my children here for every year of school! I have seem the school just continue to inprove every year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

I have a child in middle school and we have been there several years. Needing to see the academic standards of the high school raised in the next year or so, but so far as Christian education, they are top notch when it comes to focus on Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

My son is attending K-4 here and we love it. This school has a loving, caring, christian environment. They are not only nuturing his mind, but his heart as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 53%
Black 10% 36%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 41129
Charleston, SC 29423
Phone: (843) 760-1192

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pepperhill Elementary School
North Charleston, SC



Eagle Military Academy
North Charleston, SC


Coastal Shores Christian School
North Charleston, SC


Pinehurst Elementary School
North Charleston, SC


Northside Christian School
North Charleston, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT