Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James Island Charter High School

Charter | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

This charter high school is an excellent school with excellent teachers put in place by former principal Robert Boehnstangel. The reason I rate this school so low is that the current school board that was installed in september 2013 has in only one month fired Dr. Boehnstangel over the hiring of a new football coach and other personal agendas of certain board members. The students, faculty and community are now divided over petty issues and I believe in only a few months the actions of a few have threatened the best interests of the entire school. What a shame. I had three children who graduated from JICS and they did extremely well in college. I would not enroll a child here until this current turmoil is over and current board members are voted out. Parents need to get involved and search out the truth. Don't believe the lawyers.


Posted December 9, 2013

Both children attended and are now excelling in both college and community life. JICHS has enthusiastic teachers and excellent adult leadership. I was thrilled with the high level of academics and also with the many extracurricular activities that were made available to students from every background. I also appreciated that the principal made himself available whenever I had a question or a comment. There is truly something for every student at JICHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

Both Children attended. Both are doing great at state universities. Nice neighborhood feel. Good community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I graduated in '87. Now a Charter school, my daughter is a Jr. This is a great school with really great kids all around. The teachers and staff are top notch and always willing to help the students. We, as parents, are informed of everything that involves our children from discipline to college help. We are proud and dedicated to JICHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It was a public high school with Charleston County School District, which converted in 2003 to a charter high school. They receive more money from the state and have been able to start new programs, add new courses, and additional staff. The faculty and staff of JICHS care about their students and help them success by providing guidance and extra help with their classes.


Posted August 20, 2009

I love this school! They take time to help my students reach their full potential. My son was struggling in Alg 1 and we were worried tha the wouldn't pass the EOC. They tutored him after school, provided a snack and he passed with flying colors. I applaud them to fighting for charter status.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2006

This school has great potential. I don't think the leadership is there nor the right attitude. I see alot of focusing on the higher performing students but not others. It's time for more parent involvement and more communication between the school and parents. My main concern is the discipline and non-communication between the school and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students93%
Female94%
Male93%
African-American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled55%
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant93%

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
African-American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals80%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled38%
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant88%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

295 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 53%
Black 29% 36%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A57%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (843) 762-5228

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Fort Johnson Rd
Charleston, SC 29412
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 762-2754

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

First Baptist School
Charleston, SC



Porter-Gaud School
Charleston, SC


Ashley Hall School
Charleston, SC


Burke High School
Charleston, SC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT