Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Springfield Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 845 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

its very good school, very nice manager and all the staff and the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

I was so sad when my child went on to 6th grade and had to leave Springfield behind. My child loved it there and the teachers....AWESOME! Everyone from administrative to the janitor were GREAT and seemed to care about each student and parent concerns! We love you Springfield!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

This is a great school with award winning teachers. It has good diversity and parental participation. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

i love this school. they were so good to my children. it saddened me when we had to relocate out of state. i would recommend this school to anyone. it was awesome, especially ms. lori, ms. anna, ms. dawn, and ms. teri for my son and ms mayo, ms. stone, ms. angie and ms. jones for my daughter. truly, springfield was a blessing to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Springfield is still devoted to the neighborhood school mentality. All the kids know each other and no one is ever 'left behind'. The teachers all bend over backwards to help your children succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The focus of the school is not only educating the children, but caring for them too by giving them a safe environment surrounded by teachers and staff that truly care about them.


Posted October 3, 2009

Springfield Elementary is one of the last remaining neighborhood schools in it's section of Charleston County! The school strives for perfection and demands excellence from it's students. While the population of the school is changing, the standards and expectations of the school have not changed. The community has helped make Springfield the wonderful place that it is, and will continue to support the school as the years move forward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

I am a parent whose child was in the class with the last minute teacher change. The communication of the change was poor. Could have been handled better. New teacher is great a chnage for the better I believe. My son had enjoyed kindergarden at springfield. He look forward to school everyday. The teacher is very encouraging to the students. She is very informative to the parents.We love being at Springfield.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Very poor communication with parents. Received a letter today from a new teacher that she will be my daughter's new kindergarten teacher. There was no notice or explanation from the principal regarding this significant change. This is my first year to have a school age child and I am not impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

It is very great school, my son love it very much! The teachers are wonderfull!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

'This school is amazing! We moved in from Germany just before school started. Our son (6 years) wasn t able to speak English. The support is great! The whole staff is working hard on childrens success! The children learn a lot! The whole surroundings are very warmhearted. There are more children like our son which first language isn t Englisch and we have been very happy, that our son wasn t the only german child there. And I would like to encourage you to join the PTA! You can meet there nice people and do something for the school. To choice this school was one of our best decisions!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

Being new to Charleston and unfamiliar with the area we really wanted to be in a good area. People I came in contact with were consistently telling me West Ashley was a nice area with great schools. My son started kindergarden at Springfield and I could not have asked for a better school. The teachers are so nice and sincerely care about the students individual development. Needless to say, my son flourised in kindergarden and was so excited about going into first grade. Many thanks to all of the teachers and staff that have made this transition to a new city exciting and educational for my 6 yr. old. Mrs. Pait and Mrs. Bosley are wonderful teachers and I can only hope my son continues to have such great influences as he moves to the next grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2004

I have three children who have or are currently attending this wonderful school. I actually didn't move to a larger home because I wanted to stay in this school district. Teachers: way above par, particularly Miller-4th grade. Office staff: amazing, helpful, patient. Safety: excellent. Extracurricular: very good. PTA: superior. Leadership: strong. I would HIGHLY recommend this school to any parent. It's a great place to educate your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students91%
Female94%
Male88%
African-American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals89%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%

Math

All Students70%
Female63%
Male78%
African-American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals55%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%

Science

All Students82%
Female73%
Male89%
African-American68%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Subsidized meals70%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%

Social Studies

All Students82%
Female83%
Male82%
African-American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals83%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%

Writing

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
African-American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White80%
Subsidized meals63%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students86%
Female91%
Male81%
African-American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabled50%
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant86%

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
African-American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled70%
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant89%

Science

All Students74%
Female70%
Male79%
African-American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized meals55%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled40%
Not disabled77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant74%

Social Studies

All Students88%
Female86%
Male92%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals79%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled80%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant88%

Writing

All Students82%
Female87%
Male74%
African-American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized meals70%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled30%
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students84%
Female87%
Male80%
African-American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Subsidized meals79%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabled60%
Not disabled86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant84%

Math

All Students85%
Female91%
Male78%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabled40%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant85%

Science

All Students69%
Female73%
Male63%
African-American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Subsidized meals60%
Full-pay meals82%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant69%

Social Studies

All Students76%
Female74%
Male77%
African-American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant76%

Writing

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Subsidized meals80%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled20%
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 53%
Black 37% 36%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2741 Clover St
Charleston, SC 29414
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 763-1538

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




W. B. Goodwin Elementary School
North Charleston, SC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT