Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


James Island Middle School 1

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
This school is not the worst there is, but they have a ton of issues. A student has been bullying kids in the 6th grade and tried to fight them in the hall. FINALLY, the kid gets suspended, but he will be back to do it again. I saw a 13 year old smoking right outside the door yesterday, which the SRO addressed. Thank you SRO Ryan! The administration here now is not the same administration that was here in 2010 and that group quickly took care of issues. JIMS just sent home their fundraiser asking parents to buy 5 expensive items. For what? We have no idea exactly what it is funding and no one can answer the questions. Please take care of the bullying and disrespect problems before pushing gift wrap sales expectations onto parents. You have far bigger issues to worry about than sales.

James Island Middle School 1

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
This school is just OK. They offer absolutely no options for 6th or 7th graders after school and "lock all students out" after 3:40pm to wander in the parking lot alone until working parents pick them up. Why don't you offer a one hour homework session that parents can pay for? This school also has problem students that come from the problem areas of James Island. Many 8th graders seem to be headed for jail at a young age. The brand new principal never replies to emails and parents are treated as second class citizens by the school staff. The PTA is a farce with no real impact on school operations. The teachers are OK - they do what they can with what they have. This school is not like Stiles Point or Harborview Elementary, which are both excellent schools. It is better than some of the other middle schools in the area.


James Island Middle School 5

Posted July 21, 2011
- a parent
JIMS has made my child feel at home and she has made great progress academically. Ditto the parent's comment below about bullying. No tolerance policy. Positve Behavioral Intervention System really works. Great special ed support.

James Island Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
They have been a wonderful learning environment for my son and have embraced and shown care and compassion for him. He had a brain tumor removed at 10 and had a stroke during the procedure. As a result, he walks with a limp and wears a leg brace. When faced with some bullying, the school took immediate action and corrected the problem. They also set him up with a speech pathologist to help him with some of those issues. They are always a joy when you call with any concern......quick to respond! I love them!

James Island Middle School 4

Posted August 16, 2009
- a student
This was a great school. I made so many friends, and I loved most of my teachers, with the exception of 1 or 2. I am so glad that I went there, and I can't believe my middle school years are over.


James Island Middle School 5

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. All of my chirldren went there and now my grand children goes there.

James Island Middle School 3

Posted May 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

James Island Middle School 1

Posted December 15, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


James Island Middle School 5

Posted June 05, 2006
- a parent
Mr. Davie is an excellent principal that really cares about each child. He has a very solid reputation with students, parents and staff and we all are grateful for him. The school tries to promote positive behavior with fun incentives like school dances. The staff seems to also deal fairly with disclipline issues.

James Island Middle School 1

Posted April 25, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Island Middle School
1484 Camp Rd, Charleston, SC  29412
(843) 762-2784
Last modified James Island Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James Island Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top