Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Island Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
My son attended the 7th grade at JIMS and is going into 8th grade. He had a lot of medical issues during elementary school and fell pretty far behind. He struggles, but his teachers at JIMS have worked diligently and he is now meeting and exceeding some of the goals in his IEP. He is thriving and I contribute that to his teachers and the friends he’s made. He’s an intra-district transfer. The school he’s zoned for was horrible and that’s putting it mildly. There isn’t bus transportation for him and it is an extra 30+ minutes to my commute every day, but so worth it.

James Island Middle School 5

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
My son attended the 7th grade at JIMS and is going into 8th grade. He had a lot of medical issues during elementary school and fell pretty far behind. He struggles, but his teachers at JIMS have worked diligently and he is now meeting and exceeding some of the goals in his IEP. He is thriving and I contribute that to his teachers and the friends he’s made. He’s an intra-distract transfer. The school he’s zoned for was horrible and that’s putting it mildly. There isn’t bus transportation for him and it is an extra 30+ minutes to my commute every day, but so worth it.


James Island Middle School 1

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
This school is not the worst there is, but they have a ton of issues. A student has been bullying kids in the 6th grade and tried to fight them in the hall. FINALLY, the kid gets suspended, but he will be back to do it again. I saw a 13 year old smoking right outside the door yesterday, which the SRO addressed. Thank you SRO Ryan! The administration here now is not the same administration that was here in 2010 and that group quickly took care of issues. JIMS just sent home their fundraiser asking parents to buy 5 expensive items. For what? We have no idea exactly what it is funding and no one can answer the questions. Please take care of the bullying and disrespect problems before pushing gift wrap sales expectations onto parents. You have far bigger issues to worry about than sales.

James Island Middle School 1

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
This school is just OK. They offer absolutely no options for 6th or 7th graders after school and "lock all students out" after 3:40pm to wander in the parking lot alone until working parents pick them up. Why don't you offer a one hour homework session that parents can pay for? This school also has problem students that come from the problem areas of James Island. Many 8th graders seem to be headed for jail at a young age. The brand new principal never replies to emails and parents are treated as second class citizens by the school staff. The PTA is a farce with no real impact on school operations. The teachers are OK - they do what they can with what they have. This school is not like Stiles Point or Harborview Elementary, which are both excellent schools. It is better than some of the other middle schools in the area.

James Island Middle School 5

Posted July 21, 2011
- a parent
JIMS has made my child feel at home and she has made great progress academically. Ditto the parent's comment below about bullying. No tolerance policy. Positve Behavioral Intervention System really works. Great special ed support.


James Island Middle School
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
They have been a wonderful learning environment for my son and have embraced and shown care and compassion for him. He had a brain tumor removed at 10 and had a stroke during the procedure. As a result, he walks with a limp and wears a leg brace. When faced with some bullying, the school took immediate action and corrected the problem. They also set him up with a speech pathologist to help him with some of those issues. They are always a joy when you call with any concern......quick to respond! I love them!

James Island Middle School 4

Posted August 16, 2009
- a student
This was a great school. I made so many friends, and I loved most of my teachers, with the exception of 1 or 2. I am so glad that I went there, and I can't believe my middle school years are over.

James Island Middle School 5

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. All of my chirldren went there and now my grand children goes there.


James Island Middle School 5

Posted June 05, 2006
- a parent
Mr. Davie is an excellent principal that really cares about each child. He has a very solid reputation with students, parents and staff and we all are grateful for him. The school tries to promote positive behavior with fun incentives like school dances. The staff seems to also deal fairly with disclipline issues.

Nearby schools

James Island Middle School
1484 Camp Rd, Charleston, SC  29412
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (843) 762-2784
Last modified James Island Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top