Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Clover, SC
Students enrolled: 528

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Griggs Road Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
I love Griggs Road. We left Charlotte b/c of overcrowding, teachers who just don't really care and my kid being overlooked so none-learning students could get more attention. Love the small town community and teachers (minus 1 or 2), principal and staff are wonderful. Always greeted with a smile by front desk, principal seems to k ow almost every students name and friendly to me when I visit. Mrs. GLEN always smiling when you enter. My son's teachers always take time to answer my emails and offer help, I love that they offer tutoring classes. Just wish some of the parents would take responsibility for their own children's actions and discipline when needed, teachers ARE NOT babysitters. Overall a great school!

Griggs Road Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Griggs Road Elementry is a great school with great Teachers. My son has Mrs. Peterson this year and we are off to another great start. The office staff is so helpful.


Griggs Road Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2012
- a parent
This school is the best, I couldn't be any happier with the Griggs Road! The teachers and staff are so friendly and great with the children. Both my children wake up happy to go to school and learn. My son has progressed greatly duue to the awesome teachers that he has had. The only thing I would want more of is, after-school programs such as music lessons, specialty classes. I would even pay for them if they were available. My vote is for Griggs!!

Griggs Road Elementary School 3

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
Despite a great beginning, this school did not live up to it's reputation for us. I have a straight A student and teachers during our first couple of years really worked with him and encouraged his abilities. Too bad this year we had a teacher that saw him as a chance to relax and let him float along. His scores were still high but we saw a 50% reduction in his growth rate when compared to his first three years there. We opted to choose private school next year. In doing so, we needed to get transcripts and letters of recommendation. The mood definitely changed after that - no longer were we welcomed with hellos and smiles, it became forced kindness or simple silence. What a shame. We did have some great teachers but ran into a poor one this year.

Griggs Road Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
Griggs Road Elementary is special-mainly due to the love and attention given by the staff. Your child is not only learning but also being given the love that you would give at home. The first thing your child is given at birth--is love and attention--and it goes on at tis school. I am never worried about leaving my child at school-because I know they will be given what we give at our home. How great a feeling.


Griggs Road Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Absolute BEST Teachers & Staff! Just like Family!

Griggs Road Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Griggs Road Elementary School 3

Posted February 05, 2007
- a parent
My son's Kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Adams was the best teacher ever, and her assistant, Mrs. Deal was awesome also. They use positive reinforcement vs. negative punishment whenever possible. The staff and parents are friendly but clickish. A lot of pressure on the test scores.


Griggs Road Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2007
- a parent
My son is in the Developmental Kindergarten for special needs children, and I couldn't be more thrilled with the teachers. Not to mention, I have been trying to find a program for my son for 2 years in York County, and went through Psychologists, Play Therapy, the list goes on. When my son started this year, I tried not to get too excited for fear of another failed attempt to help him, but Ms. Gibson and her Assistant Teachers have exceeded my expectations and my son is thriving. Also, they have an Autism Specialist on staff. The program slowly integrates my son into mainstream, which has been wonderful. My only qualms were with the Speech Department. My son tested at a 3 yr.old level and was denied treatment. However, those are state-regulated guidelines and would be the same at any school in S.C.

Griggs Road Elementary School 1

Posted April 25, 2006
- a parent
Just like most people, at first look I was impressed with this school. Parent involvement is high here and there is beautiful artwork gracing the halls as proof of artistic achievement, however if your child has special needs, then theres a good chance that this school will disappoint you. Some of the teachers do not seem to want to accomodate a child that requires a little extra assistance. Everything is rosy at this school until you disagree with the powers that be and then your liable to see it rear it's ugly head!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Griggs Road Elementary School
100 Griggs Rd, Clover, SC  29710
(803) 222-5777
Last modified Griggs Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Griggs Road Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top