Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cardinal Newman School 2

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
My child has had a tough time with this school due to the lack of true teachers. The facilities are falling apart and the restrooms along with the boys locker rooms are atrocious. The administration promotes the school to be something that it just can not be due to the fact that it will not spend money, and are accepting kids that should not be at the school in the first place. I pulled my kid out of there after just 2 years.
1 person found this helpful

Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
we have been very pleased with CN. The school is old and the new campus will offer even more opportunities. We have had one child graduate from CN and is a honors student in college. Our second child is in high school there and is very happy .


Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
Facilities showing their age, but Academics are superb. My child has been there for a few years now and is performing quite well. Teachers are excellent and they maintain high standards. A significant amount of homework and quality test performance is expected for all students and discipline is closely enforced. My child is in a number of AP courses and those classes are far more demanding than what I ever had at that age (and I have master's level engineering education from a major college). There are numerous clubs and sports opportunities available for students at the middle school and HS level, and an encouraging staff of administrators, AD and coaches. While this school doesn't have the resources of a large public HS, it does well with what it does have. Parents are encouraged to be involved with the school's activities. The new HS will be a huge step up and is probably within a year or so of starting construction. I'm pleased with what CNS offers and we wouldn't consider anything else.

Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school community. Much is expected of students, and ample support is given to ensure success. I highly recommend Cardinal Newman.

Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted June 27, 2012
- a parent
Every student is important to the faculty. They know the students by name and care about their well-being. They encourage the students to do their best and many have been extremely successful in gaining admission to some of the most prestigious schools in the country (including West Point, and the US Naval Academy). The buildings are old, but the faculty and school spirit are great. New school campus will be opening soon.


Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted April 04, 2012
- a parent
The teachers and faculty WANT every student to succeed. They will accommodate for kids with learning differences. It is a good fit for the high achievers as well as those who are more challenged. They are more progressive than any other school in their teaching methods. Bullying is not tolerated. Acceptance, civility and Christian values are highly emphasized. submitted by Mary Alice Edmonds, parent

Cardinal Newman School 3

Posted January 17, 2012
- a community member
This is a good school. Not a great school, but a solid one. It offers a lot of religious courses to build a strong foundation for kids. It does not offer as many AP courses as surrounding schools. The teachers are involved. I am still friends with one of my teachers. The school has a lot of spirit activities. There are some bad apples at this school. Some of the kids, like any school, do bad things on the weekend and sometimes at school. I feel as though they let too many kids that have been expelled or asked to leave from others schools come to CN. I know that the teachers care about the students, which is its biggest asset. What would make this school better would be more AP and honors options and more focus on academics. I did not feel challenged at CN and was shocked when I went to another high school. I made good grades without trying hard at all at CN.

Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted March 05, 2011
- a parent
Good academics, sports, and social environment. A great school with a solid spiritual foundation. CNHS provides a positive environment for middle and high school students.


Cardinal Newman School 4

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
This is an amazing school, growing and improving each year. About to relocate to a new and wonderful newly built site. Principle is a hands on loving soul who guides with wisdom and faith.

Cardinal Newman School 0
no rating

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
The school lacks the coordinated effort by the principal. She puts on a good show and makes you think she is working so hard, yet not much is coordinated. We left there this year very unhappy and dissatisfied.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cardinal Newman School
4701 Forest Drive, Columbia, SC  29206
(803) 782-2814
Last modified Cardinal Newman School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Cardinal Newman School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top