Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12|Private
427 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Wouldn't have my children anywhere else! I absolutely love what Cardinal Newman offers my 9th and 7th grade kids!

Cardinal Newman School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 03, 2015
- a community member
I am very glad that the school has instituted a service component to the curriculum.


Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted September 03, 2015
- a community member
I am a CNHS graduate (class of 1982). MOST of my teachers were great. Yes, there were a few exceptions but overall the standard was high.

Cardinal Newman School 2

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
My child has had a tough time with this school due to the lack of true teachers. The facilities are falling apart and the restrooms along with the boys locker rooms are atrocious. The administration promotes the school to be something that it just can not be due to the fact that it will not spend money, and are accepting kids that should not be at the school in the first place. I pulled my kid out of there after just 2 years.

Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
we have been very pleased with CN. The school is old and the new campus will offer even more opportunities. We have had one child graduate from CN and is a honors student in college. Our second child is in high school there and is very happy .


Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
Facilities showing their age, but Academics are superb. My child has been there for a few years now and is performing quite well. Teachers are excellent and they maintain high standards. A significant amount of homework and quality test performance is expected for all students and discipline is closely enforced. My child is in a number of AP courses and those classes are far more demanding than what I ever had at that age (and I have master's level engineering education from a major college). There are numerous clubs and sports opportunities available for students at the middle school and HS level, and an encouraging staff of administrators, AD and coaches. While this school doesn't have the resources of a large public HS, it does well with what it does have. Parents are encouraged to be involved with the school's activities. The new HS will be a huge step up and is probably within a year or so of starting construction. I'm pleased with what CNS offers and we wouldn't consider anything else.

Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school community. Much is expected of students, and ample support is given to ensure success. I highly recommend Cardinal Newman.

Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted June 27, 2012
- a parent
Every student is important to the faculty. They know the students by name and care about their well-being. They encourage the students to do their best and many have been extremely successful in gaining admission to some of the most prestigious schools in the country (including West Point, and the US Naval Academy). The buildings are old, but the faculty and school spirit are great. New school campus will be opening soon.


Cardinal Newman School 5

Posted April 04, 2012
- a parent
The teachers and faculty WANT every student to succeed. They will accommodate for kids with learning differences. It is a good fit for the high achievers as well as those who are more challenged. They are more progressive than any other school in their teaching methods. Bullying is not tolerated. Acceptance, civility and Christian values are highly emphasized. submitted by Mary Alice Edmonds, parent

Cardinal Newman School 3

Posted January 17, 2012
- a community member
This is a good school. Not a great school, but a solid one. It offers a lot of religious courses to build a strong foundation for kids. It does not offer as many AP courses as surrounding schools. The teachers are involved. I am still friends with one of my teachers. The school has a lot of spirit activities. There are some bad apples at this school. Some of the kids, like any school, do bad things on the weekend and sometimes at school. I feel as though they let too many kids that have been expelled or asked to leave from others schools come to CN. I know that the teachers care about the students, which is its biggest asset. What would make this school better would be more AP and honors options and more focus on academics. I did not feel challenged at CN and was shocked when I went to another high school. I made good grades without trying hard at all at CN.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cardinal Newman School
4701 Forest Drive, Columbia, SC  29206
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (803) 782-2814
Last modified Cardinal Newman School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Top