Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Heathwood Hall Episcopal School

Private | PK-12 | 776 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Columbia

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $161,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 31, 2014

This is the best school in Columbia... PERIOD! My child is in 10th grade and has been here all along. Our children are diverse, inclusive, gifted, and achievers. I know many people in other private and public schools. There is no comparison. Heathwood is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2010

Senior year is a joke here. The students do very little work unless in AP Classes. Some of the teachers are very good and others shouldn't be there any longer because there are better teachers available. Parents do not have a lot of say in what happens at this school. Used to be better but has changed for the worse
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

My 12th grader has attended since 7th grade and had an excellent experience. The academics are quite challenging and a good fit for goal-oriented hard-working students. Sports and music programs are broad and well-supported. Teachers have been super. Some administrator and English teacher turnover in the middle-school has created problems for our younger child recently. I do recommend the school for it's college-prep programs and safe environment. My son was admitted to the college he wanted to go to on both an academic and arts scholarship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

I was so excited about my child going to Heathwood going in but feel that there needs to be alot more emphasis on learning and the basics versus play to learn. Also, there needs to be more of an outreach to enroll more minorities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

It focuses more on extra curricular activities and new options or students than academics and appearance. Not that it is not a bad thing for kids to have new choices, but school is a place for learning and a little play not play and a little learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2005

I have enjoyed my children's year at Heathwood Hall. I believe that the children's education was pretty well rounded and that they had quality teachers. I would like to see more minorities represented in teacher/teacher aid positions that are well qualified. Overall, the school experience was wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

Great school for African American students!! First, H2 emphasizes educating the whole student including nuturing and growth potential, regardless of color, gender, religion, etc. In the public schools, they tend to emphasize color then the student. Often times this leads to an automatic failure of children left behind in schools. Second, what I most enjoyed about my experience is the variety and diversity of both students and parents. Both students and parents develop gifts to return to H2 without pressure of being the 'perfect person.' Third, my children attended both pubic schools in Irmo and H2. I can honestly say the commute from Irmo to H2 is well worth it. I saw my children develop and grow, not as African American students, but as students who are African American with talents and gifts to share with others!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Definitely a school of excellence. Committed teachers, high standards, emphasis on education in a Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

Excellent school. Small class size. Excellent teachers in English and Humanities. Teachers are very close to students and communicate well with parents. High level of discipline is the norm, without any pressure or punishment. I see a great potential in this school and its students, as life-skills are reinforced by example rather than mandates. Although an episcopal school, secular thinking is encouraged. I wish they started teaching physics and chemistry at grade 6-7 rather than at grade 8-9. Good choice of extracurricular activities
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 53%
Black 14% 36%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3000 South Beltline Boulevard
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 231-7739

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT