Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
776 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Heathwood Hall Episcopal School 2

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
The education wasn't worth the money. I really didn't care for my child's teacher or her second aide. The first aide was very helpful and kind. It was more of a burden than the blessing I hoped for. We are much happier now with homeschool. We don't have to worry about the "clicks" and favoritism.

Heathwood Hall Episcopal School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
Pence is amazing and very helpful with admission and settling in. She made us feel welcomed from day one.


Heathwood Hall Episcopal School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
I feel that a lot of them single out certain students. This is very obvious if you take a moment and observe.

Heathwood Hall Episcopal School 2

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
We were not satisfied with the willingness of a teacher to help a student who needed extra help. The teacher never offered. The educators I know who work in public schools have always been available and offered additional help after school to students in need. Also, since changing schools, we have learned that the education offered is not competitive with the education offered at public schools in nearby areas. Unfortunately, we have had to hire a tutor to help our child catch up with the other students in her elementary class. The child will also receive intervention to increase math skills because they were not on grade level with the elementary students in the same grade. This new information has made me want to share, so other parents will consider other options. We feel like our hard-earned money was not well-spent for the education offered at HH. From information I've received from other parents, there are better choices for private school, such as Hammond or Timmerman.

Heathwood Hall Episcopal School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
I am only responding in relation to my child's last year at the school. The teacher she had her first year was excellent.


Heathwood Hall Episcopal School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The homework was not challenging. The assignments selected were often tedious, too simple, and not challenging enough.

Heathwood Hall Episcopal School 1

Posted February 17, 2015
- a parent
Extremely unsatisfied with a few teachers (their attitude towards learning) and the lack of education at this school. My son (who went to a public school before) has already learned everything he's been "taught" at Heathwood Hall this year. Unbelievable. Save yourselves the time and do not make the same mistake, I am pulling my son out of Heathwood this year.

Heathwood Hall Episcopal School 1

Posted November 29, 2014
- a community member
This school is a joke. The students who go there act friendly, but when you actually go there for a few days, they either ignore you or be fake to your face and talk about you behind your back. (I got a number of students' opinions on this). I came to Heathwood during Freshman year, and have regretted it ever since. The education is not outstanding at all. I "Expect(ed) more" (HHES's logo), but I did not "get more". Very disappointed. The teachers are the only good thing about this school. A total waste of 16k.


Heathwood Hall Episcopal School 5

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
This is the best school in Columbia... PERIOD! My child is in 10th grade and has been here all along. Our children are diverse, inclusive, gifted, and achievers. I know many people in other private and public schools. There is no comparison. Heathwood is the best!

Heathwood Hall Episcopal School 4

Posted May 06, 2011
- a parent
I have two children that attend HHES. It is a challenging college-prep learning environment. I have had students in the lower school, middle school and now the upper school. Some of the high points are small learning environments, the PEAK outdoor education program, athletics, safe learning environment and academics. There are strengths and weaknesses within the academic program, there are a few teachers at each grade level; especially in the middle school that should not be teaching. Overall, I find that the curriculum is above average in comparison to the local public school options. There has been quite a bit of turn-over recently in the administration; but I believe that the ultimate goal is to find the best fit for HHES. Overall, as a parent I feel that my children are receiving an above average education, but overall HHES is training the whole child; including their character and spiritual development. My children are happy and love going to school everyday.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Heathwood Hall Episcopal School
3000 South Beltline Boulevard, Columbia, SC  29201
(803) 231-7739
Last modified Heathwood Hall Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Heathwood Hall Episcopal School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top