Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Columbia, SC
Students enrolled: 388
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Timmerman School 3

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
When I was enrolling in Timmerman the school principal made you feel welcome. Now when they see you they walk by and don't speak at all. Not very friendly all the staff is family and money hungry. Parents don't have a say if there is a problem.

The Timmerman School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
The teacher are al family and I feel that if their is a real concern it is biased. A teacher slammed a door in my face and the principle did nothing.


The Timmerman School 5

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
Timmerman is an excellent school with very high standards. Our child has been there for 7 years and we couldn't be more pleased. He has two teachers, each with their masters degree. Public schools could never compare to the wonderful education our child is getting coupled with small class size and a principal that will sit down with you anytime you need

The Timmerman School 1

Posted August 23, 2014
- a community member
Because this is a private school, " teachers" don't have to be accredited. It bothers me that private schools can have such " teachers". Summer staff is rude. You rarely see interaction. Every time I pick up my child the staff is sitting down.

The Timmerman School 1

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
The school needs some updating. The rooms are old looking and cramped, small. The mosquitos are horrible there and no one wants to take care of this. The kids come home with so many bug bites. Roaches outside- how many get in? They need to welcome 2014 and get a real accountant and not a "book keeper". Quicken books would do wonders! Check your accounts and lunches you ask for.... the playground equipment probably would not pass inspection. the water fountain outside has not worked in years. Needs a big make over!


The Timmerman School 3

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
I was a student there from the 2004-2005 year up until the 2012-2013 year when I was in 4tb grade I say t was a good school but there were not many real teachers with degrees other than that and bulling in the 13-14 5th Graders which most left it was great

The Timmerman School 3

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
My daughter currently attends Timmerman. The school is okay. 2013-2014 will be her second school year there. I find that you must stay on top of the staff if you want things done. That's not a positive. Hopefully this year will prove to be a great one!

The Timmerman School 5

Posted April 07, 2012
- a community member
I attended Timmerman for three years and left the school in 1985. Since then I have completed college and am a teacher myself. When I first went to Timmerman they informed me that my reading level was far below par and that I would need to repeat the sixth grade. Even though this enraged me I soon learned to love this school and learning. The Timmermans know how to run a top notch school and I am sure that the teachers there today are as top notch as the ones entrusted with my education in the eighties. I owe my love of history to my eighth grade teacher and our trip to Washington D.C. and will always remember the collection of teachers that made every day at that school a wonderful experience. In three years ALL of my teachers helped me grow. I would recommend this school to anyone who is serious about their child s education. Once again thank you for helping lay the groundwork for me to become the man I am today! John Jay Farthing


The Timmerman School 4

Posted March 18, 2012
- a community member
This is a very good school. They could get kids more involed , but over all very cool school. The aftercare harsh thoue givers can be very givers can be very harsh expecetaly the over all all aftercare worker. She yells at kids for very weird stuff, but over all the school is wonderful.

The Timmerman School 5

Posted June 24, 2011
- a parent
Timmerman school provides an excellent family like enviornment both in the classroom and in the extracurricular activities. I would address the review below in saying that the Timmerman aftercare staff has always been helpful, loving, and responsible in the caring for my son and my daughter. My children have been in the aftercare program for several years. During that time, I have found that they have excellent discipline. I have yet to see children be "yelled" at as described. Our family even trusts many of the aftercare workers to come into our homes as babysitters, and they have always been wonderful to our kids. I have yet to meet a child in the program who does not love their aftercare teacher! I hate to see reviews that are unfounded. Do not let one "bad apple" alter your view of a fantastic school and program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Timmerman School
2219 Atascadero Drive, Columbia, SC  29206
(803) 782-2748
Last modified The Timmerman School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
The Timmerman School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top