Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Leaphart Elementary School 4

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attends Leaphart; she transferred from a private school where there were approximately 25 kids in her class. She is in a class of 14, I feel truly blessed because she needed the extra attention. She has an excellent teacher who is patient and kind and very open to communication. The entire staff is great. Sometimes all of the "outside" activites (Family night, Engineering night, Bi-lo night...) can be overwhelming for an "Old Mommy" like me, but as long as my daughter is happy, we will continue to support Leaphart!

Leaphart Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Leaphart Elementary School 4

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
I don't understand what all the fuss is about the open classroom. I went to Leaphart in the mid eighties and loved my experience there. I am now am a parent of 3 and 2 of my children attend Leaphart (K and 1) and they are doing an excellent job. The kids who aren't doing well are apparently lacking focus. The parents should address this issue on their own. Maybe the open classroom just isn't right for children who are unable to concentrate on the task at hand.

Leaphart Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 24, 2009
- a parent
We are very pleased with our child's experience at Leaphart. While the 'open classroom' experience provides a challenge for both teacher and student, the teachers seem to work hard to make the environment work for the kids. The school is getting ready to undergo a major expansion and renovation beginning in Summer 09 and the the Open Classrooms will soon be a thing of the past. The school is also being designated as a Math and Science Magnet School beginning with the 2009-2010 school year. A good, diverse school for all kids.

Leaphart Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 12, 2009
- a parent
I can't wait until my son leaves Leaphart, he's been there 6 years (K-5). Academically the school is lacking. The open classrooms were a mistake from the beginning. This school teaches primarily for standardized tests. Take your children to another school!


Leaphart Elementary School 3

Posted May 24, 2005
- a parent
As a parent of children who have attended Leaphart, I must say that it has been a challenging experience.We continue to try to stay in the public setting, but are disappointed with our children's experiences in this 'open classroom' school. The teachers are trying, but are in a difficult environment. No one in the District seems to want to admit the challenges before us. They are evident at Leaphart, and manifest themselves by the time the children reach Irmo Middle. Sorry to disagree with another parent, but the school environment leaves much to be desired. Parent surveys (info located at SC State Dept of Ed website) indicate some dissatisfaction with school/home interaction.This is only growing.Music and art is great there, sports do not exist. Academics are struggling.

Leaphart Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2005
- a parent
My child has attended Leaphart for 3 years. She first entered in Kingergarten. We were considering sending her to a private school, but our neighbors assured us that Leaphart would measure up and exceed the private school education. The experience was so great for my daughter after 2 years, that I convinced my cousin to take her daughter out of private school and send her to Leaphart. Her daughter has enjoyed this year and she is looking forward to her next two years at Leaphart. The teachers and faculty are very nice and care for each student. I enjoy being a part of Leaphart.

Leaphart Elementary School 4

Posted October 05, 2004
- a parent
The individual who posted the initial review on this board has obviously never had a child who attended Leaphart. I have been a Leaphart parent for 8 years now with my third child just starting kindergarten. Leaphart continuously receives state and national recognition for its achievements in elementary education. The teachers and staff are second to none and you can rest assured that your child will receive a top-notch education from Leaphart.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leaphart Elementary School
120 Piney Grove Rd, Columbia, SC  29210
(803) 476-4700
Last modified Leaphart Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Leaphart Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top