Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crossroads Middle School

Public | 6 | 917 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2013

My school year hear was really great. The teachers were nice and helpful, and so was the staff. The only problem I had was with the teams. Its separated me from a lot of my friends from last year, which crushed me. But, other than that, this school is pretty great.


Posted May 22, 2013

This school is horrible. The staff is so irresponsible. Stay away from it. If it's possible, I would rate as 0 star!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

My Granddaughter has been there this year and she loved it, The teacher's were good to her. The only thing I have a problem with is the backpack on her back is so heavy. Anyone that is graced with going to school here will love it....


Posted April 24, 2013

Crossroads Middle School is THE WORST!!! I agree with Ms. Bethel. VERY DISORGANIZED, TERRIBLE COMMUNICATION AMONG STAFF AND WITH PARENTS. The teachers(some of them/not all) have a lack of respect for the children; however, they demand respect. Some of he rules are unrealistic! By far the worst school in the district I've ever encountered. We've been in the school district for 6 years....it's the school....not the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

I'm a former student of CrossRoads and I have to say it- I loved that school! The people there were very friendly, and it was a nice, tranquil transition into real middle school. Everyone is given privliges that they have never head before, and you get to make new friends. Also, the classes there are very interesting and help you learn. There are also many activites to engage in after school- like orchestra and track intramurals.(of which I did both) I love this school- and it will always be one of my fond memories of my school days.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2010

I am a student at Crossroads and I love the school. As Ms. Bethel said, the school has the option for single gender classes which I am in. I love the concept of single gender and I have found that it helps me focas on schoolwork instead of other....distractions I guess you could say. Another thing Ms. Bethel mentioned was that classes seem to be smaller which I must say is not the truth. In fact, the average number of students in my regular classes(math, hla, science, and social studies), the averege number of students is 22. To me, thats a fairly good size. If you are considering this school, you would be wise to follow through with it. Another thing parents, the entire school is gated to protect your kids. Also there is security guard who moniters the school at all times. Overall I love the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2008

I would have to counter what Ms. Bethel says about CrossRoads Middle School. This is my second child at this school and 9th year in this school district. I've found nothing but competent, caring and superb teachers and administrators, esp. at CrossRoads. - submitted by Donald Kenney, Ph.D., M.A., B.S, a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

The only great thing about this school is the single gender education as an option. The classes tend to be smaller. Very disorganized school. Not impressed at all and certainly not with this school district. I would recommend to anyone who attends this district to invest in a private school or home school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

947 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

949 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

476 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

942 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students80%
Female83%
Male77%
African-American67%
Asian100%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial85%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled32%
Not disabled87%
English language learners81%
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant80%

Math

All Students81%
Female83%
Male78%
African-American69%
Asian100%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial89%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals67%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled34%
Not disabled87%
English language learners79%
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%

Science

All Students77%
Female80%
Male74%
African-American62%
Asian100%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial86%
White87%
Subsidized meals59%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled28%
Not disabled84%
English language learners85%
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant77%

Social Studies

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
African-American78%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial83%
White95%
Subsidized meals79%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled70%
Not disabled90%
English language learners79%
Proficient in English88%
Non-migrant88%

Writing

All Students79%
Female85%
Male72%
African-American64%
Asian100%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial85%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals64%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled24%
Not disabled86%
English language learners80%
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 53%
Black 34% 36%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6949 St Andrews Rd
Columbia, SC 29212
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 732-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Irmo Middle School
Columbia, SC


New Heights School
Columbia, SC


Birchwood School
Columbia, SC



Willow Lane School
Columbia, SC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT