Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brennen Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
To the person who wrote the negative review concerning "some of the second and third grade teachers", I think you should not generalize. To my knowledge, there was one teacher on each grade level who may have been considered below par by some, but the rest are top-notch. By the way, those questionable teachers are now gone, so both grade levels are even stronger than before with the most competent teachers.

Brennen Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2013
- a community member
i am a former student, but I moved to VA after 5th grade. I can say that the bad reviews can't be true. I was only there for 2 years, but those two years were the BEST. I LOVED it. Not saying VA isn't good either, but Brennen shaped me. I read GONE WITH THE WIND there. I was in ALL AAP. I was going to go to Crayton, to MEGSSS. Still, GO THERE. You will NOT regret it.


Brennen Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of two students at Brennen for the past 6 years, I could not be more pleased. I have one typical child and a child with Asperger's Syndrome (high functioning autism) with an IQ in the "very superior" range. Both are in the Advanced Academic Program. They are so happy and love their school! The support from the teachers and administration to help each child reach his or her potential is unparalleled. It truly is a team effort. The academics and learning are at the top. But we all know that there is so much more to school than that. Besides the academics, the arts programs are top notch (the drama dept will blow you away) and every day you see volunteers, parents, mentors all giving their time and talents to this wonderfully diverse student body. My kids have learned lifeskills, had dozens of hands-on field trips and learning experiences, acted in plays, made sculptures, been colonial patriots, danced, written newspapers...I could go on and on. I cannot imagine being anywhere else! Thank you Brennen Elementary!

Brennen Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2013
- a teacher
With new administration, staff, and teachers, the success of BES keeps getting better! There's a strong social and academic focus on all students, meeting the diverse needs of the school community. The Brennen community is professional, well knowledged and caring. Parent involvement is phenomenal. Parents assist in tutoring, volunteering in the office and supporting teachers through a variety of measures. Parents are welcomed as a part of the school day and can often be found giving tours, mentoring students, and sharing their expertise. If you're looking for a school that focuses on student learning, creating thinkers and not just doers, one that sees parents as partners, and a principal who is aiming for the success of EVERY child that walks through the door, BRENNEN is the place for you and your family.

Brennen Elementary School 1

Posted January 14, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful school, but like most public schools, bad teachers do exist here and have for some time. Talk to other parents, The good news (or bade news if you really think about it) is that these bad teachers are well known and have been around for years, so are easy to find out about. It saddens me that I have to rate this school lower, because of a few bad apples, but they persist thanks to system that rewards bad teachers with tenure and does not want hold bad teacher accountable, nor reward good ones. Be particularly carful with some of the 2nd and 3rd grade teachers.


Brennen Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brennen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 22, 2009
- a parent
With a diverse group of students, a very strong advanced academic program, a very high parental involvement rate, this neighborhood school is celebrating it's 60th anniversary. Highly motivated and educated faculty and staff work with the students and parents to improve every single day. Along with a great PTO and actice School Improvement Council, Brennen enjoys super support from the business community and local neighbors. Now in my 8th year as a Brennen parent, I would say that children who leave Brennen are not only ready to excel in middle school, but far beyond. I love Brennen and would send my children here over ANY school in the Columbia, SC I had a choice to attend.

Brennen Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Brennen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a teacher
The staff is very supportive. The kids are outstanding students. The parents are one of a kind!

Brennen Elementary School 3

Posted August 06, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brennen Elementary School
4438 Devereaux Rd, Columbia, SC  29205
(803) 738-7204
Last modified Brennen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brennen Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top