Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

This school is amazing! Just visit and see the time and consideration that the faculty puts into creating a beautiful, student friendly environment. Learning is the top priority and the teachers do not settle for anything less than the best. The students are learning to be leaders. They were even on the news for all of their school spirit. I love Burnside!
August 27, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
This school is amazing! Just visit and see the time and consideration that the faculty puts into creating a beautiful, student friendly environment. Learning is the top priority and the teachers do not settle for anything less than the best. The students are learning to be leaders. They were even on the news for all of their school spirit. I love Burnside!
Posted August 27, 2015

Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
Our hiring process is rigid. Teachers have to have more than subject knowledge to work at our school, they must have passion and compassion. They must be driven to ensure that ALL students succeed. We have coaches and interventionists that support students and teachers.
Posted August 27, 2015


Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
We understand that time should be spent doing extracurricular activities, so we limit the time that it should take students to complete homework in the afternoons.
Posted August 27, 2015

Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
Our focus is on building characteristics in our students that will help them throughout their lives. Throughout every academic area, persistence, grit , and determination are required.
Posted August 27, 2015

Develops respect:
SCHOOL LEADER
We focus on the Seven Habits of Highly Effective People. This helps build mutual respect in students.
Posted August 27, 2015


Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
We visit neighborhoods, provide guidance support, and consistently meet with students during community building meetings.
Posted August 27, 2015

Annie Burnside Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
I am so happy that I decided to let my daughter attend Burnside Elementary! The staff is so helpful, knowledgable, and most of all friendly. From the time you walk in the door, to the time you leave the school the staff and teachers are friendly. This year they have put a new program in place, and my daughter comes home excited about school. The halls of this school make me excited, so I know that the children are happy about learning. I don't know how anyone could say anything bad about this school because the school is great, and they are moving in a great direction. Keep up the great work! My daughter is glad to be a Burnside Bee, and I am too!

Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
The Leader in Me is a new initiative at the school. The students learn Stephen Covey's Five Havits of Highly Effective People.
Posted August 27, 2015


Annie Burnside Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
This school is wonderful! The environment has completely changed over the past two years. The teachers, principal, and office staff are kind and helpful. The student work displays are so good. You walk in and feel like your child will be loved and taught. Thanks Burnside!

Annie Burnside Elementary School 2

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Please explain to me why? My daughter's school doesn't have a national holiday off. I'm talking about Memorial Day! When my other children have it off. As well as all my niesce and nephews do. So now I have to explain to her why she has school and they don't. And watch her get upset because she feels left out. And I would appreciate it if the ladies who answer the phones. Weren't so rude and short. Especially since it is your job to do so.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Annie Burnside Elementary School
7300 Patterson Rd, Columbia, SC  29209
(803) 783-5530
Last modified Annie Burnside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Annie Burnside Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top