Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Columbia, SC
Students enrolled: 647

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Satchel Ford Elementary School 1

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
My child is special needs and goes to this school and it is horrible. The people who work there are very disrepectful to parents and won't listen to a thing they say. They really tie your hands as far as where your student goes, who the teacher is, and the students grade level. Also, the food their is terrible. They serve fruity cereal for breakfast and one day they had corn dogs. The quality is extremely poor with very little nutrition. My child's teacher rarely praises him and seems to focus on all his negative qualities. He is a pleasant child at home and usually obedient, but at school apparently he is a bad child. I feel like they make that out to be my fault instead of the authorities in the school. My child has been in special ed classes for the past 3.5 years at least and while he sometimes acted up. It was never on a daily basis. He has some problems behaving like every kid, but is generally a good boy, especially around his dad and I.

Satchel Ford Elementary School 5

Posted July 24, 2014
- a parent
We love Satchel Ford. The teachers are wonderful. There are amazing opportunities for students to learn and grow!


Satchel Ford Elementary School 1

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
I was told this was the best school here in columbia. I sent my children here the beginning of the school year and within a week of my kids going I transferred them to another. Horrible experience with some of the main staff. Will never recommend this school to anyone. The reason why there scores are so high in testing is because thats all they make the children focus on. I have a friend that her child attends this school,who is in third grade and still doesn't know how to spell. Yes, the mayor sent his children here, ask if he would now.This school might have been great years ago but not now. Would not RECOMMEND horrible school some staff do not belong there. This school may have be

Satchel Ford Elementary School 3

Posted February 21, 2014
- a community member
its good school its good school its good school its good school its good school its good school

Satchel Ford Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2013
- a parent
I have two children at Satchel Ford and am delighted they're both receiving such an excellent public school education. Both have tested into the Advanced Academic Placement program thanks to excellent teachers. I really appreciate the emphasis on writing and the arts and the encouragement to be lifelong lovers of reading. This is a safe, secure, welcoming and diverse environment conducive to learning and enjoying school. The related arts program is exceptional. The grade-level performances incorporate drama, music, dancing and visual arts in relating to the curriculum. My only complaint about this school is with the PTO, which does an excellent job raising funds for the school and staging events but falls short when it comes to communicating with parents. PTO meetings are actually those grade-level performances mentioned above, and almost no actual PTO business is discussed. Decisions seem to be made by a select few in daytime executive meetings that are impossible for most parents to attend. The parent leadership is clique-ish, probably common in such excellent public schools but quite off-putting to parents who want to be involved in more than just sending money to the school.


Satchel Ford Elementary School 3

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
Some of the teachers are phenomenal. Some of the teachers are horrible and honestly don't seem to even like children. The principal is on a power trip and although she claims to want parental input regarding their child, she purposely gives parents exactly the opposite of what the parents feel the child needs (in terms of type of teacher). There is way too much homework/busy work given and parents are not allowed in the classrooms ever! The children are taught "to the test" instead of according to what they need.

Satchel Ford Elementary School 1

Posted November 14, 2012
- a community member
It's one of the worst schools ever. The teachers give students unreasonable grades. That don't try to let the student be in their comfort zone and the school clean up is filthy but the school is actually big I give them that but that's it.

Satchel Ford Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2012
- a parent
Both of my children have attended here since Kindergarten (oldest going into 4th). We have had a great experience and would highly recommend this school for anyone seeking a private education for a public school price!


Satchel Ford Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Satchel Ford Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
My oldest went here for 5 years and this is our youngest first yeay. Have been very happy with the quality of education and the caring spirit of the school staff and teachers. Would recommend to anyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Satchel Ford Elementary School
5901 Satchel Ford Rd, Columbia, SC  29206
(803) 738-7209
Last modified Satchel Ford Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Satchel Ford Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top