Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Columbia, SC
Students enrolled: 1,160
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dreher High School 5

Posted January 15, 2011
- a student
I love being a student at Dreher.There a great arts opportunities, I take guitar and dance classes . The teachers and faculty are kind and really teach us a lot. It is a great experiance.

Dreher High School 4

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
I would like to see faculty enforce The Code of Conduct more. My son acts out in class and teachers phone me as if I can motivate him over the phone. I appreciate knowing what he's doing at school but enforce the code please. Excellent communication from teachers. Top notch arts program. Hats off to the Special Ed group.


Dreher High School 5

Posted January 30, 2010
- a parent
this school is excellent , many AP courses are available , wish there was more money in schools to support athletics . If your child wants to learn dreher is the place to be , if your child doesnt it probally doesnt matter what school they are in , It starts at home people !!!!

Dreher High School 5

Posted January 27, 2010
- a parent
I have two children at this wonderful school. Dreher maintains the highest of standards and your children will definitely be challenged. I know several people who's children have transferred from two of the local private prep schools. These people say that Dreher is far more challenging than the private schools. Dreher sends students to the Ivy League every year. The two most expensive private schools in the area cannot make the same claim. You're not getting what your paying for folks, bring your kids to Dreher!

Dreher High School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a student
dreher is an asome school and they do have alot to give to your children as a student who goes to dreher and who has a younger sibling that will being going there in two years i think dreher i a school that does challenge it's children and they do excell in every thing mins our football team but that really does show that the students are focused on there work and not just focused on sports and the teachers are wonderful they really do care and they do try to help each of there students .


Dreher High School 4

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
Dreher High School offered more foreign language courses than any other school and has also supported the arts as much as possible since its beginning. I'm an alumna who is the widow of an alumnus.

Dreher High School 5

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Dreher High School 0
no rating

Posted February 11, 2009
- a parent
Excellent academic track record. Ranked higher by newsweek than ac flora. Ap students excel, seem to routinely win academic decathalons, etc and each year have more merit semi finalists than the public and private schools in the cola area. Wish football team was better, but basketball, baseball, soccer, cross country , tennis are competitive. See parental involvement getting better.


Dreher High School 5

Posted December 30, 2008
- a student
Dreher is an excellent school. After reading some of the complaints on this site about Dreher, I can tell you now, that most of it is nonsense. If your child is strong academically and you don't want to pay all that money for a private school, then Dreher is where you want to go. Dreher offers more AP courses than most schools, giving a lot of students head starts into college. It's not uncommon for AP students at Dreher to go into college as a 2nd semester Freshman. It is true, the professors can be challenging, and there isn't a boat load of parent involvement; but these teachers will expand your child's mind, and prepare them for the road that lies ahead. They teach you work ethic, drive, and how to evolve as, not only a student, but as an upstanding citizen in the community. If you want success, choose Dreher

Dreher High School 5

Posted April 01, 2008
- a parent
This may be the best high school experience in South Carolina. Awesome faculty and administration. Great arts , academics .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dreher High School
3319 Millwood Ave, Columbia, SC  29205
(803) 253-7000
Last modified Dreher High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dreher High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top