Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


C. A. Johnson High School 5

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
C.A. Johnson has been the best thing ever for my child. No school offers more support and individual attention. The parent involvement has really increased because the principal there makes us feel welcome and like she wants us to be a part of our child's education and involved at the school.

C. A. Johnson High School
no rating

Posted November 14, 2007
- a parent
C.A. Johnson is a great school to attend. Yes there are many up and downs. Yes there are problems but what school don't have problems. Johnson is a small school which allows everyone to know each other by name. Its like a family at CAJPA. People who speak bad on the school never really been in the school to see what goes on. The displine is very good and the school is very productive. Everyone gets along and they all help make the school safe. C.A. Johnson is on the rise. Just a little more help from the community and parents the school could be much better. I recommend the school to anyone who wants to be known for who they are, want to be respected and who is looking to be successful and productive.


C. A. Johnson High School 2

Posted November 14, 2007
- a student
C.A. johnson is a great school for almost any child to attend, we have the resources, the personality, and school spirit that. but because of the negativity publicity that we get it makes it very hard to become successfull. when the community, the media, and the Administration are seemingly against you how is a 15 year old kid supposed to respond? yes i aggree the test scores are low but if you can make it through C.A. Johnson you will be one of the stronger people of society. CAJ is on the down side but we as students feel as if we are fighting this battle alone. Most of us do not have the parental support that you would see at a Irmo or a Dreher because the income that most families recieve..so there is no system of checks and balances, the teachers do what they want and so do the administrators

C. A. Johnson High School 1

Posted August 03, 2007
- a parent
this school has change for the worst and i would not recommend no child to attend. they need to close this school.

C. A. Johnson High School 4

Posted December 29, 2006
- a parent
We selected C.A. Johnson Preparatory Academy as the school for our daughter after our research indicted that enrollment in the school was down. This meant that the student to teacher ratio would be very low. Although we were discouraged by local educators, including teachers at the school, we purchased a home in the neighborhood and enrolled our daughter in CAJPA. She had an absolutely amazing experience and enrolled in a very competitive university. A dedicated group of parents and members of a proud community fight to ensure that the legacy of one of the last historically Black high schools in South Carolina is maintained. This school needs other parents and community members who will hold educators to the high standards that will ensure that all students are provided with a high quality education.


C. A. Johnson High School 5

Posted February 09, 2006
- a student
CA Johnson is a great school. It is underappreciated because of the area it is located. What people fail to realize is that outside of the location and slight pull backs, they have a higher grading scale (in which A honor roll students must have a minimum of 4.0 and Principle's list must have a minimum of 4.6). There ROTC participates in events with USC and many other highly accredited schools. Colonels, Stage Comedians (BET), Musical Artists, and Astronauts are only a few great lifes that they have produced. If the media would pay closer attention on academic excellence over sports and community they would see that C.A. Johnson is one of the better schools in downtown Columbia.

C. A. Johnson High School 5

Posted January 18, 2006
- a parent
C.A. Johnson is a beautiful school with a great principal who knows his students very well. I would recomend it to everyone.

C. A. Johnson High School 5

Posted November 21, 2005
- a parent
I think Johnson is a very nice school. When most people think or hear about Johnson they think of a bunch of underachievers and bad kids. But what they fail to realize is they are our future and we have to be behind them 100%.


C. A. Johnson High School 5

Posted August 01, 2005
- a parent
My child attends C.A Johnson and she is doing a great job there. Personally I believe that Johnson is a great black school and kids who attend it will go far.

C. A. Johnson High School 1

Posted July 17, 2005
- a parent
C.A. Johnson is a horrific school filled with underachievers.

Nearby schools

C. A. Johnson High School
2219 Barhamville Rd, Columbia, SC  29204
(803) 253-7092
Last modified C. A. Johnson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top