Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Columbia, SC
Students enrolled: 739
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


W.J. Keenan High School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Mrs. DeLaughter in Guidance is always there to help at a moments notice. Awesome administration Department.

W.J. Keenan High School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
WJ KEENAN....Ms Obihia in Guidance is Awesome..they have a wonderful Engineering Curriculum!!! Well run and maintained school


W.J. Keenan High School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
We could have dances like we used to but the children that have no guidence and don't have respect for themselves or others have ruined it for all. If the students want more activites then you need to step up and talk to your trouble makers, help them to stop making trouble so that the school can offer things to do. Please don't blame the school for the unraised trash that is zoned for the school. If the school could have the students that they want then it would be the perfect school. That is not possible, so we need students to step up to the plate and become positive leaders and not let the trash take away the things that you want to do. The trouble makers come from troubled homes for the most part and they have never seen a better way to do things. This is an opportunity to lead and change your enviroment.

W.J. Keenan High School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

W.J. Keenan High School 2

Posted July 27, 2009
- a community member
I have a brother, Sister, and Nephew that ll attended Keenan in 2008-2009 school year. I find that this school does have very large gang problem. There are no activities planned to provide the kids with a better outlet . I believe Keenan could do a better job by putting on such activities such as dance i.e Tola, Winter ball, Sady Hawkins. Also they need to plan more events around getting parents involved ie Daddy daughter dinner dance, Mother daughter tea. The could also do a better job at the prom. Take the kids to the Sheraton some where other than the school hall way. It would also be a better tutoring program if they would help the all kids with their homework instead of focusing on students that are in harder classes. Overall gangs, and no extracurricular activities is this schools issues.


W.J. Keenan High School 3

Posted June 29, 2009
- a student
Well from the outside everyone make think that W.J. Keenan School is the best school to send your child to. I don't disagree but W.J. Keenan do have many flaws. W.J. Keean has great academic programs for children and a excellent ciriculum but school shouldn't always be strictly work. I know the falculty and staff may wonder why there are so many gang activities and fights at our school...well its because the school does not have things that we could do that are exciting to the youth at keenan such as dances and events that will make the students look forward to waking up and attending W.J. Keenan High School because some days i know i don't feel like getting up and attending this school because of their strict policies and no down time or no enjoyment at all.High school must not be the best four years of your life.

W.J. Keenan High School 5

Posted July 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

W.J. Keenan High School 4

Posted November 28, 2005
- a parent
School has excellent teachers - but discipline is inconsistent. School offers excellent classes for students in the arts, preengineering, and vocational areas.


W.J. Keenan High School 5

Posted October 27, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

W.J. Keenan High School 2

Posted February 06, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

W.J. Keenan High School
361 Pisgah Church Rd, Columbia, SC  29203
(803) 714-2500
Last modified W.J. Keenan High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
W.J. Keenan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top