Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Columbia, SC
Students enrolled: 623
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Meadowfield Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
Great school! We love the staff and teachers! My boys have done very well there. We love the new principal!

Meadowfield Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful neighborhood school! Caring and passionate teachers and a very impressive new Principal. Parent of a 1st grader and extremely impressed with the character building efforts to promote responsibility, kindness, and importance of learning. Very happy we chose to send our child to this great school.


Meadowfield Elementary School 4

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
Not too big and not too small public school. Situated in a beautiful sidewalk lined neighborhood, next to Woodland Park. A new principal begins the 2014-2015 school year with lots of energy. Monthly events sponsored by the PTO encourage families to interact. The school has elected with full participation to wear uniforms (this parent loves this). Many houses in the neighborhood were built in the late 60's/70's, some original families are moving out and many young families are moving in. As a homeowner in the neighborhood since 2007 and a parent of a current 3rd and 5K student, these are my observations.

Meadowfield Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
Meadowfield is a wonderful school that just has a bad reputation. If more neighborhood families would give Meadowfield a chance, they would probably find that they really liked it and their kids could be very successful there. Meadowfield has some of the best and most carig teachers around. They are fully invested in the children's education. Some of the teachers even attend some of their students' sporting events! They are wonderful! The Paideia model has been wonderful for us. They learn actively and in a "real life" sort of way. The PTO is very great. It is very organized, and the parents are very involved in making this a great school to attend. If you are considering sending your children to Meadowfield, don't listen to your friend's friend's realtor who says it's not a good school; come into the school and see for yourself. We have prospective parent meetings, and the staff is always willing to give you a tour or sit down with you to discuss your child's academic needs. As they say, "Don't knock it 'til you try it."

Meadowfield Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a parent
Situated in a safe, walkable neighborhood, with many sidewalks and a variety of home styles, prices and sizes. This is a public school that requires uniforms and teaches by using the 'Paideia' method, a type of active and project driven learning. A new principal will replace the soon retiring Mrs. Stephens. All candidates show great promise. Exciting times for growth and improvement. Many activities throughout the year by the PTO.


Meadowfield Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
Meadowfield is a wonderful school. The school teaches citizenship, introduces moral principles, and encourages high self-esteem and self-worth. Academically, the school has a top notch team of educators helping our children learn an aggressive and comprehensive series of math, science, language arts, social studies, and history courses, meeting and exceeding the state's requirements. Our children are among the highest grade scoring in the state. PTO needs improvement on involving ALL parents and not making us feel there is a "click" or favorited group among the population. For instance, not enough OPEN meetings, no genuine acceptance of proposed ideas, and of course, the hypocritical conduct during the meetings. (Our students are taught the Paideia concept, -everyone deserves to be heard -when one speaks, all should listen-) but during the meetings, PTO members talk over each other, conduct sideline conversations with whispers that exponentially become louder and those of us nonmembers who raise our hands are not acknowledged nearly half of the time. PTO does functions well with fundraisers, and various projects as IT sees fit. Meadowfield is the best school in Richland County.

Meadowfield Elementary School 4

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
Meadowfield is a great school. The teachers were always professional, interested, and attentive to both the children and parents. In middle and high school, my children and their Meadowfield peers have assimilated and performed as well as or better than their classmates from other elementary schools. As with any other school, there will always be room for improvement and challenges to overcome, but this school is undeservedly underrated and underutilized by families zoned for it. Meadowfield will teach your children as well as any other school, if not better - especially if you send them prepared and with high expectations for learning.

Meadowfield Elementary School 4

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
I couldn't agree more with the July 10, 2013 posting--I have also been an involved parent of two children who attend Meadowfield. We have found the teachers and other faculty to be extremely dedicated to their students and parents--my children's teachers have often gone above and beyond (with very limited resources!) to create a respectful, engaging, and exciting hands-on learning environment. We've also found that there is not a one-size fits all approach at this school--they meet the students where they are and give them the tools to learn and grow. We are also grateful for our neighborhood public school and greatly appreciate the diversity!


Meadowfield Elementary School 4

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
As an involved parent of Meadowfield students for the past 4 years, I would have to respectfully disagree with some of the extremely negative comments. While not perfect, Meadowfield has been a great school for our family. For starters, our teaching staff is exceptional. We have some outstanding teachers who are not only gifted at teaching, but invested in our childrens' overall welfare. The Paideia program has been a wonderful tool in teaching the children how to problem solve, think through things, and form/respectfully discuss individual opinions. We have found the children to be overall kind to one another and discipline problems have not been an issue. We are grateful for our neighborhood school.

Meadowfield Elementary School 2

Posted January 08, 2013
- a community member
Meadowfield S-U-C-K-S!!!! This school is not parent friendly at all! Things a parent/grandparent are genuinely concerned about in reference to their child is made into a joke or brushed off and not taken seriously. If it were mu decision, I would not send my children to this school!!! I believe my grandchildren are going here strictly due to convenience. What a waste!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Meadowfield Elementary School
525 Galway Ln, Columbia, SC  29209
(803) 738-5549
Last modified Meadowfield Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Meadowfield Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top