Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Columbia, SC
Students enrolled: 699
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Andrews Middle School 1

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
This is the worst school my daughter been to....EVER...Teachers are rude ,,just like the front staff ...after i got told my daughter should come during lunch break to get help for math ,,,,either the class was locked or the teacher would be like they have no time to help ..they tell you one thing ,,then turn around and have a different story for you the next time ...i plan on moving so my child can go to another school

St. Andrews Middle School 3

Posted July 09, 2011
- a parent
As a parent, my experience with SAMS has been quite an interesting journey. Starting with the principal, he is very motivated and concerned about student achievement, and he has and open door policy. He is up-to-date wiith materials and software that enhances student success. The staff, just like at ANY other school are highly qualified and trained to teach students who want to learn, and not just come to school to practice how to pretend to be an adult when away from the supervision of their parents. Parent involvement is essential, and rewarding for the student. My son is entering his 8th grade year and we are ver excited about it. I've learned that if you are looking to be successful in anything that is waht you are going to get.


St. Andrews Middle School 1

Posted May 03, 2011
- a community member
"AND I QUOTE, St. Andrews is a sorry excuse for a school and education. I attend there now and am not satisified with the education that is taught at this school and with the faculty. I have been here for three years and have NEVER enjoyed this so called learning environment.I'm so sick of teachers forever accusing us students without letting us explain our reasons or for the wrong thing and thinking their always right. Teachers tell us to give them respect but they dont give us no respect. You got to give respect to get it. This is how i feel!!

St. Andrews Middle School 1

Posted May 26, 2010
- a community member
St. Andrews Middle is a poor example of Richland One! My son attended there for a little over a month and I had no choice but to pull him from the school and move him! The only positive experience he had there was that his orchestra teacher was really wonderful! In advanced placement classes, his assignments were on lessons my son was taught 2 years prior in Lexington District Two! And the fact that St. Andrews is a uni-race school, is awful! My son was one of 9 white children out of 900 or so students! He was changing to try to fit in during a difficult transition period from elementary to middle school anyway! I had to move my son to Hand Middle. He received an excellent education there and he was actually challenged! St. Andrews Middle needs some drastic improvements to even compare to other schools in Richland One!

St. Andrews Middle School 4

Posted November 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


St. Andrews Middle School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

St. Andrews Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2009
- a student
I am a current studen at ST Andrews and i have to get my dad to come up to the school and beg the teacher to give extra work to help fix my grade because they don't listen to the students and they don't know how to teach.....

St. Andrews Middle School 5

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


St. Andrews Middle School 4

Posted June 13, 2007
- a former student
I graduated in may and I believe that this school has gotten better. There is a more mixture of races here now, and the education is pretty good. Most of the teachers I had though are leaving

St. Andrews Middle School 5

Posted June 09, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Andrews Middle School
1231 Bluefield Rd, Columbia, SC  29210
(803) 731-8910
Last modified St. Andrews Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
St. Andrews Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top