Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridge View High School

Public | 9-12 | 1999 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2010

I go to RV and it has well over 2000 students in its. nice has good staff and teachers. they need to add on to the school more because its a little small but its big enough so thats what I think about RV.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2008

I am a senior at Ridge view high school, and I love it here. We're starting two new magnet programs this school year, and we're opening a new computer lab. The art department of the school is excellent, the library is huge, and the sports programs are great. The only issue I really have with the school is the size. There are a ton of freshman coming in this school year, and there really isn't enough space for all of us. They need to add on to the school because I don't think I want to spend another school year stuck in the portables.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

I am a student at Ridge View and i transferd here from Weisbaden, Germany. The homework is a bit overwelming at times but then again thyats just high school. The library is huge and they offer wonderful art classes and after school sports! The lunch food is great and the way the school is shaped, your not likely to get lost on the first day! Hope this helps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2006

This is a very good school. They have an excellent sports program and the teachers are very good. they try to help the students to the best of their ability and i really appreciate that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

RV is a good school. A little small but has great programs. The teachers are good, but there are some that aren't. Overall 4/5
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2004

I have two children that currently attend RV. OK school, but way too overpopulated. They're up to 2400 students now! The quality of the children's education is greatly suffering. The majority of the faculty and staff is friendly and willing to help, but there are few that are questionable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students92%
Female96%
Male88%
African-American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals88%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled57%
Not disabled96%
English language learners91%
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant92%

Math

All Students80%
Female84%
Male77%
African-American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial91%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals84%
Disabled41%
Not disabled85%
English language learners82%
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant80%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

637 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
66%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 69% 36%
White 22% 53%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Asian 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4801 Hard Scrabble Rd
Columbia, SC 29229
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 699-2999

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Blythewood High School
Blythewood, SC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT