Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Killian Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 694 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2014

sorry to hear that your child had to Indore this behavior..No child needs to go through that..And if you feel that you didn't get this situation resolved the right way ...Why stop with the school take it beyond them. There is no justification on the teacher doing what she did in both situations "ignoring you and written on your child's paper.When in fact it was correct..I'm coming on this site for the first time and all I can say is wow....I've never had a problem with this school everything is always on point with the teachers and the children that attend it...I had a issue at the being at the school with someone picking on my child and it was resolved by the end of the week...I'm always notified if there is a problem that has accord with my children.I can only speak in behalf of myself and this is really a great school to attend.I also have two going and one that is going to join in two years.and the new stem program that they are starting has a lot to offer.and the 21century program that my children have attend is great..so to a parent that is looking for a school you need to take a trip to the school and have a look for yourself and figure out if this is the school for you..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

To the reviewer that was obviously referring to me. First of all, I am pleased that your children are enjoying their educational years at Killian. I hope you weren't assuming that my child was "falling behind" or as if my child had "attitude" toward the school and that's why we had issues because there was no "attitude" from our child. But, if you need me to be more specific and to clarify for other parents using this website for choosing a school, here is me "backing my stuff up" ...We did numerous occasions have meetings with the teacher, vice principal and the principal himself, so we did "voice our opinions" Issues we were having were bullying and physical threats one example would be and I quote "move out of way before I throw this basketball in your ugly face" Notes on our child's test paper saying "WHAT? NONE OF THESE ARE CORRECT!!" When actually in fact they were correct. Neglect, "the teacher ignored me when I asked her something" and racism and again I quote, "move! ugly white girl" All issues brought to the teachers attention, then moved up the chain when nothing was resolved. Parents should consider other school options before possibly making a big mistake.


Posted November 8, 2013

Worst elementary school in the district. Teachers and faculty do not care, do not address hard issues, allow bullying, allow misbehavior, horribly address discipline issues. Simply put, no organization or structure. This school needs real leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

i thank that this school is a good school im going to killian elementry this year and i say that because when i look through the pictures it look pretty nice and i saw most a lot of people i know that was my friend but school is not about play its about learning


Posted July 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my daughters time in 3rd and 5th grade. They were challenged by their teachers. We are looking forward to this coming school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

I really enjoyed my daughters Kindergarten year. Her teacher Mrs. K-day was a great teacher. My daughter left reading in a 4th grade level in K. We had to move due to military orders and I am hoping she gets the same kind of eduational benifits as she did there. Excellence is truly the expectation at Killian. Now, with every school there are down sides. I feel there wasn't enough parent envolevment. I tried to volunteer but there was nothing for me to do besides assist on field trips. And my teacher didnt have an assistant which I felt wasn't fair to her or our students. I hope this helps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

I love this school because the teachers are proactive with the student's learning and they keep you abreast of grades and changes. I like that they challenge my children. This is important to me. The principal is dedicated to this school and the students. I appreciate that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Good school, very proactive in different programs geared toward the individual student. They offer a variety of programs that focus on the childs ability. I am disappointed that they, as well as, the district, do not offer programs to assist children in the younger grades with reading readiness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

Excellent school!e are leaving only because we are a military family that is relocating. My son was there from Pre-K to 1st grade and loved it. The staff is excellent from the principal down. You can feel the true concern for the students through the education methods that they employ all the way to the basic school rules that are well enforced. The entire school has a humble atmosphere that you can actually see and feel coming from the students and the school staff. I can only wish that my son s next school is as good as this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I love this school. My daughter is really happy. Sheis in Mrs. Price class.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students77%
Female83%
Male69%
African-American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled15%
Not disabled84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%

Math

All Students56%
Female58%
Male54%
African-American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals53%
Full-pay meals62%
Disabled0%
Not disabled63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%

Science

All Students56%
Female57%
Male55%
African-American51%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals51%
Full-pay meals64%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%

Social Studies

All Students66%
Female66%
Male66%
African-American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals63%
Full-pay meals70%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%

Writing

All Students56%
Female62%
Male49%
African-American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals53%
Full-pay meals63%
Disabled0%
Not disabled63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students66%
Female72%
Male61%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals63%
Full-pay meals75%
Disabled33%
Not disabled71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Non-migrant66%

Math

All Students70%
Female75%
Male67%
African-American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals66%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabled42%
Not disabled75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant70%

Science

All Students59%
Female64%
Male56%
African-American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals54%
Full-pay meals80%
Disabled33%
Not disabled63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%
Non-migrant59%

Social Studies

All Students76%
Female78%
Male75%
African-American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals75%
Disabled75%
Not disabled76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant76%

Writing

All Students72%
Female78%
Male68%
African-American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals75%
Disabled39%
Not disabled78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students79%
Female81%
Male77%
African-American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Non-migrant79%

Math

All Students69%
Female72%
Male65%
African-American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals64%
Full-pay meals77%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%
Non-migrant69%

Science

All Students73%
Female75%
Male71%
African-American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals80%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant73%

Social Studies

All Students74%
Female79%
Male67%
African-American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant74%

Writing

All Students76%
Female80%
Male70%
African-American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals75%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 82% 36%
White 8% 53%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Asian 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (803) 699-2971

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2621 Clemson Rd
Columbia, SC 29229
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 699-2981

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT