Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Berry Shoals Intermediate School

Public | 5-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 31, 2014

Our family just moved to South Carolina and we used the information on the Great School website to help us choose our schools. We can honestly say that Berry Shoals school is everything that Great Schools says it is. The school is very well organized and the teachers and office staff are very friendly and helpful. We are very excited about the opportunities for the arts and the school has a lot of technology for the students to use. Although it has only been 2 weeks, our daughter has been very happy and starting in a new school has been better than we had hoped for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2014

So far, one week in, my child has came home with numerous horror stories. Comp/gym teacher yelled at the students yesterday. Today a replacement woman comp. teacher came in and was just as mean. Elective teacher points students out and tells them how horrible they are. I don't understand why these people are "teachers" if they have such negative attitudes! If these 3 had attitude adjustments we'd rate this school higher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2014

This is our second time around attending this wonderful school. The academics and the performing arts are as good as anywhere. Great teachers and same great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2014

My child attended Berry Shoals. I can honestly say that it was a frustrating and disappointing experience. The teachers deal with so many students that it is easy to get lost. They were not advocates for my son. In addition, the testing seemed more important than anything else. After testing was over, my 6th grader spent weeks on busy work. Graded Sponge bob coloring sheets. I kid not. I was thoroughly disappointed with the time we were there. It is a commonly known that this school provides a poor learning environment. We know many families who removed their children to homeschool or private schools. Unfortunately that is not an option for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

Wow. This is a great school full of caring teachers and a wonderful principal and assistant principal. My husband and I have 3 children. Two have gone to Berry Shoals. The teachers are highly educated and have high expectations and high morals. In addition, they know and care about every child. I cannot say enough good things about this school. Only 5th and 6th grade go here so it is a great but small school atmosphere. Band, orchestra and music in general are also highly valued and well taught at Berry Shoals. And the carpool line is short! Lots of good things to say about Berry Shoals! Parents are very involved too. There is no shortage of kind people. Oh, and the school nurse is a registered nurse (RN) which is pretty rare nowadays. You can send your children here with confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Berry Shoals has one of the greatest staffs is SC. The teacher, faculty, staff, and administators really care about the growth of every student, and they work hard to make sure that no student goes unnoticed.


Posted April 19, 2010

It is child centered and provides for individual needs by having a caring environment with superb teachers and great administrators.


Posted April 18, 2010

I love Berry Shoals Intermediate School because it is student focused. Every decision is made with the best interest of each student in mind. The teachers feel as if the students are their own children/grandchildren and do for them what they hope their children/grandchildren's teachers are doing for them. There is always an atmosphere of love and respect in every aspect of Berry Shoals. Teachers monitor and assess lessons, practices, and activities in an effort to provide the most meaningful, effective, successful learning experiences for each student. I would be proud to have my grandchildren attend Berry Shoals Intermediate School where the most important thing is what's best for each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

i think this school has magnificent 5th grade teachers like mrs. adair and dr.kay
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2008

We love this school!!! The teachers and staff are exceptional. Not only do they care, but the environment is very inviting and the kids are allowed to have fun while they learn. My 2 children have some of the best teachers I have ever seen. There are so many opportunities for all the kids, such as their performing arts, the labs, and all the activities. I know this school is rated highly, but it is not just about academics at this school, and that is what makes it so good for my kids. The principal is very funny and nice, and they have a really good PTO. As far as my children are concerned, they are as different as night and day. For a public school, it is amazing how the school manages to meet the needs of both my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

This is a nice school. My child was a little overwhelemed in the 4th grade as the academics were very tough. He did fine after getting used to the way things worked. He is now in the 6th grade and just loves it. He has 4 teachers, just like middle school, but is not in a middle school and we really like that. Tons of activities during school and exceptional teachers. The students are very well behaved for the most part and the administrators run a tight ship yet still have fun. It is a great environment. My only complaint would be the size of the school. It is very large. However, they do a good job of breaking it down into smaller school which helps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

What a great school. The academics are very challenging, but the teachers and staff are so supportive of my son. They have a top fine arts program with band and orchestra as well as art, music and drama. My son is also in the science club. I know that my child is safe everyday and is at a school where he is loved and pushed at the same time. The new principal and assistant principal are always willing to listen and make the parents feel welcomed. We are bless to be in District Five.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students84%
Female90%
Male79%
African-American75%
Asian100%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled57%
Not disabled87%
English language learners83%
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant84%

Math

All Students83%
Female82%
Male83%
African-American70%
Asian100%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled37%
Not disabled88%
English language learners78%
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant83%

Science

All Students88%
Female93%
Male84%
African-American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled50%
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant88%

Social Studies

All Students78%
Female82%
Male75%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Subsidized meals67%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabled44%
Not disabled83%
English language learners60%
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant78%

Writing

All Students84%
Female90%
Male79%
African-American70%
Asian100%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabled37%
Not disabled89%
English language learners83%
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students89%
Female89%
Male88%
African-American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled67%
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant89%

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male90%
African-American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled52%
Not disabled93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant90%

Science

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
African-American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Subsidized meals75%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant86%

Social Studies

All Students94%
Female93%
Male95%
African-American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Subsidized meals83%
Full-pay meals99%
Disabled92%
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Not migrant94%

Writing

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
African-American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled62%
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 53%
Black 15% 36%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Shoals Rd
Duncan, SC 29334
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 949-2300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Fairforest Middle School
Spartanburg, SC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT