Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
121 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori School Of Florence
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
All of them. Ms. Amy, Ms. Meghan, Ms. Teena, Ms. Kathleen and All their assistants and associate teachers have been exceptional and approachable and really lovely. Florence is blessed to have this little gem of a school for us.

Montessori School Of Florence 5

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
All three of mine are at MSF. Small personal attention and the kids learn the way nature intended them to, not glued to a desk for six hours a day but interacting with their environments both inside and outside the classroom. Kids are taught respect for themselves and others, and parents are very involved in their childs' education. I would live In a trailer to keep my kids out of the clutches of government schools in these formidable years.


Montessori School Of Florence
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
They are all certified in Montessori or are accumulating credits in preparation for Montessori accreditation. They all want to be there. Some have left for the promise of fat retirement pensions of the public system, but those promises can never be met anyway so why not stay where you love to teach?

Montessori School Of Florence
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
My fourth grader is bringing home math homework which he loves. I check it each night so he can learn from his mistakes. Even the second graders and third graders have projects, although they are not expected to bring any work home with them.

Montessori School Of Florence
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
There is accountability when students do not complete their expected tasks for the day, and rewards for achievement in the form of "free choice". You do the work, you reap the benefit. You don't do the work, you do not. This is essential prep for the Real World, where you don't get a medal for merely showing up.


Montessori School Of Florence
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
We had a bully last year, and staff nipped it in the bud before it became a bloody thorn in my side.

Montessori School Of Florence 5

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is in preprimary (also attended the 2K program) at MSF. I have been very impressed with her progress academically and socially. I also value the extremely diverse school body. It is very unique for Florence.

Montessori School Of Florence 5

Posted November 03, 2005
- a parent
I have a 2-year old and a first grade child at the Montessori School of Florence. My 2-year old doesn't want to leave at the end of the day and my first grader loves school. She is learning math concepts far beyond her grade level and she enjoys the variety of activities. She transitioned well from the traditional kindergarten classroom she had attended previously. Parental involvement is plentiful. Parents are encouraged to become involved with the education process and are welcome to observe their child at any time.


Montessori School Of Florence 5

Posted March 19, 2004
- a parent
My daughter is in the preprimary program at Montessori of Florence and I am absolutely in awe everyday she comes home. At the age of 3 she knew the planets and the continents. She is now five and working with multiplication. She can tell you about past presidents, detailed anatomy, and geometric shapes that most adults couldn't name. Parent involement is very high and parents are always welcome to observe. I can call or walk in the door and everyone knows my name and who I am, they know my child and who her teacher is. They go to any and all lengths! I love it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori School Of Florence
510 West Palmetto Street, Florence, SC  29501
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (843) 629-2920
Last modified Montessori School Of Florence is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top