Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The King's Academy

Private | PK-12 | 370 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Florence

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $145,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

The King's Academy is a fantastic school! I have two children in lower school and they have truly excelled there. The staff is like family. I feel like I am dropping my kids off in the morning to people who truly care about every aspect of my kids lives. The character building skills they receive there are amazing. They participate in everything from sports, plays, academics and have every opportunity to find what they will excel at. The upper school students really watch out and mentor the lower school students. I also can't say enough about the Christian education they receive. My boys are learning so much about how to walk with the Lord and ask for his guidance in their daily lives. The heart of TKA is evident the moment you walk onto campus. I wouldn't have my kids anywhere else. I highly recommend TKA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

As a parent of a middle schooler, I used to have warm feelings about TKA, but in the past two years, I feel the christian education at this school has grown shallow, headed toward fundamentalism. So much teaching here, if taken to its natural outcome, boils down to "You need to do better, act better, be better." This is legalism and I don't see grace being taught or even on display in many cases. I don't see the teaching in chapel, from the chaplain, or from some in positions to speak to students being the sort that changes hearts/minds, but rather aimed more at rules. I have a strong suspicion that teachers (and perhaps some in admin) are not given much grace by disorganized leadership. I've noticed that way too many teachers quit at the end of each year. You hear that some left for personal or family reasons, but later learn it's because they can't work under the stress created by this headmaster or never knowing what to expect out of the leadership. Good teachers have been dismissed with no explanation or in hurtful ways. There is clearly a disconnect going on somewhere here. I hope the board will take notice before what used to be a good school comes to a sad end.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

Many of the classrooms are too crowded, which is not good for the kids. I used to feel that the quality of education was decent, but in the last few years, I'm disappointed with it. Some years, science seems to be ignored, other years social studies. Foreign language in lower school used to be part of the curriculum, but I've not seen any growth in this area. Lower school math scores on standardized testing have dipped. There's such a wide disparity among learning abilities in the classroom that, while the Discovery program helps kids at the lower end, it feels like kids at the opposite end aren't well taken care of. Maybe these are just private school problems, but I really feel like it's a core leadership issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

We have two daughters in Lower School that want nothing more than to graduate from TKA. They love the freedom to speak openly about their faith and love for their Savior, the teachers who take the time to get to know who they are as individuals, and the parents who come along side and serve as extended family. The administration expects excellence in academics, athletics, fine arts, service and character but understands the need to extend grace in certain circumstances, as God does for each of us. I feel that our girls are being well prepared for living a life pleasing to the Lord. The graduates that have left TKA have become missionaries, doctors, teachers, nurses and the list goes on. They have earned degrees at some of the best colleges and universities available and they have become productive members of society! We are blessed to be a part of The King's Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

This is a great school, but has been changed for the worse by the administration. As long as you are a doctor or lawyer and donate substantially to the school, then your child will avoid most trouble. If not, then you will constantly be sided against. Mr. Hiltabidel is a pleaser, and a bad one that. The school is becomning industrialized, swaying it away from the original Christian message. Don't get me wrong, I am not trying to down the school as I was a student there for 12 years. Some of the godliest people I've ever met were my teachers and coaches. However, I warn parents now of the hypocriticallness of the administration. Hopefully things have changed since I was a student, but I never forgot how many times my favorite teachers or coaches were "let go" because one parent got mad about something. The original message of this school is to provide an equal opurtunity for children to learn in a christian environment, and not to be disciplined seperate from other students. I hope this had changed!


Posted May 25, 2010

TKA offers a program through the NILD called Discovery for children with learning differences. It is very comprehensive and allows for classroom accomadations that most private schools do not allow. Two of our children have benefited from the program. The love and understanding shown to all of the children is unbelievable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2009

Both of my kids graduated from TKA and received an excellent balance of academic and spiritual education. The kids are held to high standards which is tough these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

We have had two children to graduate from The King's Academy and they both have now completed 4 year degrees at Clemson. Presently, we have two middle schoolers here and are continued to be blessed by the experience of TKA.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 53%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 2% 36%
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mike Hiltibidal
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1015 S Ebenezer Rd
Florence, SC 29501
Phone: (843) 661-7464

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT