Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Florence, SC
Students enrolled: 898
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Henry L. Sneed Middle School 3

Posted January 08, 2014
- a community member
Your experience at Sneed largely depends on the teachers your child recieves; some are kind, some rude, and some are nice, but don't care much about the children. I also think the issue goes both ways -- a lot of parents don't understand just how horrible middle school children can be. They wear the staff down, and someone that might've been caring and considerate is writing up one kid twice a week. If your child is struggling in a subject (or worse, more than one), they will most likely only struggle more -- although some teachers are very helpful on this, and are happy to do extra tutoring. It all depends on the luck of the draw. On the other hand, if your child excels in school, they will lack challenges. Unless they take the initiative on their own, which we all isn't likely from a seventh or eighth grader.

Henry L. Sneed Middle School 2

Posted March 06, 2010
- a parent
I agree with the parents who made the posts on October 26, 2009 and September 18, 2008. Most of what they've said is right on the mark, especially concerning standardized testing. If you have a child that works slowly and needs to actually process what he learns, you may want to send him / her somewhere else. The quality of teachers varies. Some are caring, others are downright condescending and arrogant. Don't expect your e-mails to be answered promplty, and if you e-mail 'too much', they complain. If you don't e-mail enough, they imply you're not 'involved' enough. If you end up having a family crisis, don't expect much compassion and / or understanding unless your child is an 'easy - A' student. If he / she is, you should have no problems. The teachers need lessons in mentoring and Child Development (my opinion).


Henry L. Sneed Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 26, 2009
- a parent
The teachers don't assign written homework, they don't challenge the students and the administration seems to think they are God allowing teachers with bad attitudes to translate their bad days to the students. I am utterly dissappointed with the Principal, vice principal of the 7th and 8th grade. The principals and teachers really need to ask themselves why they are there.. what I'm seeing is nothing more than collecting a pay check. Its beyond sad

Henry L. Sneed Middle School 4

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Henry L. Sneed Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 11, 2008
- a parent
My son loved sneed, and now my daughter does. It's an amzing school!


Henry L. Sneed Middle School 1

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
They emphasize too much on the testing scores, & don't make learning interesting enough for the students. It seems like all they want to do is teach straight from the PSATs & other tests that are scored & then ranked among the other schools in our state. They just want to have good enough scores so they will rank higher. Teachers need to get back to making learning interesting & fun & not so mechanical & robotic. Not all students learn at the same pace, so they need to slow down & let the students 'smell the roses', & not be in such a hurry to go from one test to the next. Children are not robots & do not have photographic memories. They need to come up with a more personal way of teaching & show the students how learning could help them in the real world later in life.

Henry L. Sneed Middle School 5

Posted January 20, 2008
- a parent
Sneed is a wonderful place for my teen to attend and learn!

Henry L. Sneed Middle School 5

Posted February 08, 2005
- a parent
Sneed Middle schools has really been a blessing to my daughter and me as a parents. My daughter has struggle with her attitude toward school and having low self esteem. But thanks to the Guidance counselors (7and 8),Assistant principal(7&8),Principal Mrs.Mcgee and seven and eight grade teachers,my daughters has higher expectations about herself and is really trying to accomplish her goals . I thank Sneed Middle school for all the help,patients and prayer you have given my daughter. I know there is no middle school in South Carolina that can rate to the caring staff Sneed Middle school has. Sneed Middle school staff is like a big family that wants all their children to achieve and accomplish the goals they long for. With the quality academic programs Sneed has and the highly experience teachers at Sneed, students will definitely achieve their goals!


Henry L. Sneed Middle School 2

Posted December 15, 2004
- a parent
I think this school does not want to deal with children much. They tend to send students to the office more frequently than usual. There are just some things a teacher can handle in his/her classroom as oppose to sending the kids to the office. My child transferred from sneed to williams middle school and is doing great! sneed needs to deal with the kids that come to the school instead of being in such a rush to send them to alternative school. Kids are our future and they should be treated as such and not treated as though they are just a number.

Henry L. Sneed Middle School 4

Posted October 14, 2004
- a parent
Mr. Jeffries is an excellent 7th grade math teacher. Bullies are not much of a problem here all you have to do is tell the principal and they put an end to it immediately. My son switched from Private School to this school and is thriving.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Henry L. Sneed Middle School
1102 Ebenezer Rd, Florence, SC  29501
(843) 673-1199
Last modified Henry L. Sneed Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Henry L. Sneed Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top