Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Royall Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2012

I went to this school years ago under same principal and my own friends have kids here. I also work for district one. The teachers there are usually very compentent and care. The principal is not a great person. If your child is seen as a threat to maintaining high test scores forget getting help. She has a reputation for pushing hard for special needs children to be moved to other schools instead of welcoming them to the school. I feel that's hateful and her priorities are not children's education but school ratings. It's sad actually.


Posted January 29, 2010

I am a grandparent of two Royall students and I am constantly amazed at their academic progress and their genuine enthuiasm for learning. This is certainly due primarily to their fine teachers but I also know that leadership is what makes any organization work and the leadership at Royall is unequalled. I have visited the school several times and I have spoken with Mrs. Smith twice - she not only knew my grandchildren by name but she was also able to talk about them and their progress. I have found her to be knowledgeable, accessible, positive, and focused on the welfare of her students. I know that Royall is a great school with a great principal because I can see it in my two grandchildren and that's all the proof that I need!


Posted December 16, 2009

I am happy to know that Royall students have good test scores. We have also been extremely happy with our teachers. The administration leaves a lot to be desired, just an unfriendly, uninterested tone. The code of conduct is harsh and the principal, who has been there a long time, seems to be resting on her past success and reputation as opposed to being dynamic and innovative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

This is our first year at Royall, we came from a private school in Florence & I must say that Royall is an awesome school! My son loves it, I love it, the teachers are great. Royall makes learning fun, they are all about reading & that is so important. Mrs. Smith wants the children to do their best & it takes the parents, the teachers & the community to all come together & believe in these kids & give them the best & that is what I think Royall is all about. God bless them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

We have enjoyed another fantastic year at Royall! We will be moving soon and I believe that Royall will be what we miss most about Florence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

The school was above average but not exceptional. My daughter has attended schools in other states that were a little more advanced and pushed the students to work harder. There is the potential to be great, but I don't feel that it is encouraged enough in our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2006

My twins attended Royall in the year 2000. My youngest daughter is now in the 3rd grade. Royall is the best elementary school in Florence. The emphasis that is put on reading is priceless. The strong reading skills that my daughters acquired at Royall is so important in today's society. The principal is all business when it comes to her school and I like that. I wish everyone could visit Royall and see how well behaved the students are and how respectful they are to each other. To the staff, please continue to keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2005

Great teachers and great learning environment. Very student centered school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2005

As public schools go, Royall is one of the best ones in town, perhaps the best. All the teachers are good, and the students are made to treat each other with respect. The only negative is maybe the principle is a bit lofty, but she runs an efficient school. If you have a child going into 5K, request Mrs. Parrott's 5K. She's fantastic. My son is heartbroken to leave her class. -Kim Vozel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2003

My daughter is attending her first year at Royall. She's in Mrs. Parrott's 5K class. Mrs. Parrott along with Mrs. Wright has been wonderful teachers. She enjoys school and she's learning alot. Royall is truly a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
African-American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Subsidized meals90%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled90%
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%

Math

All Students89%
Female90%
Male87%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled90%
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%

Science

All Students86%
Female79%
Male95%
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%

Social Studies

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
African-American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Subsidized meals94%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%

Writing

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
African-American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals87%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled80%
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students92%
Female94%
Male89%
African-American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals88%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled57%
Not disabled98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant92%

Math

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
African-American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals90%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled79%
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Non-migrant94%

Science

All Students86%
Female85%
Male87%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled71%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Non-migrant86%

Social Studies

All Students93%
Female91%
Male94%
African-American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized meals88%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled86%
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant93%

Writing

All Students87%
Female92%
Male83%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled57%
Not disabled93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
African-American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Subsidized meals93%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Non-migrant96%

Math

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
African-American96%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Subsidized meals96%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Non-migrant97%

Science

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
African-American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant92%

Social Studies

All Students92%
Female86%
Male96%
African-American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Subsidized meals92%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant92%

Writing

All Students93%
Female98%
Male88%
African-American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Subsidized meals89%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Non-migrant93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students91%
Female88%
Male95%
African-American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant91%

Math

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
African-American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant86%

Science

All Students85%
Female81%
Male90%
African-American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant85%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female89%
Male90%
African-American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Subsidized meals77%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Non-migrant90%

Writing

All Students96%
Female98%
Male95%
African-American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Subsidized meals92%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Non-migrant96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 53%
Black 35% 36%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (843) 292-1573

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Woods Rd
Florence, SC 29501
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 664-8167

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Center Day School
Florence, SC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT