Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seaside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 700 students

We put service to students above all else.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2013

This school has been great for my daughter. She has learned so much so far. The teachers have been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I could not ask for a better school to have my son attend! The one on one attention given to each child is amazing...and not just from teachers, but from the principal and support staff as well. The PTO is amazing and go above and beyond to try and include family activities and not just catalog fundraisers. Teachers respond to problems and concerns immediately. My son is about to leave Seaside to attend middle school and he asks everyday if he can please stay for another year because he will miss it so much. I have to admit, I feel the same way. We may have to be removed kicking and screaming!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

When we moved to the Myrtle Beach area we visited six different schools trying to decide which school would best suit our families needs. After meeting with the principal we knew that we wanted to be part of the Seaside Family. Our children have had great experiences with the staff at the school and feel very safe every day. The staff and teachers are very compassionate and caring and make each individual student feel special every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2012

Seaside Elementary is a school that enbraces the children. When you drop your children off in the morning, you know they will be well loved during the day. Each child is expected to work to their highest potential. Students write goals and reflect on their work and effort weekly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

Thank goodness that there is a school that has such involved and concerned teachers. Children are treated fairly, and as 'individuals'. The 'Specials' teachers are phenomenal, going above and beyond teaching the children the importance of Art, Music, Technology, and Physical Education. That is what makes a well-rounded kids, knowing how to make an importance of all that we can teach in those areas, as well as their excellence in academics. Bravo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

I THINK THAT SEASIDE IS THE BEST SCHOOL EVER. SEASIDE ELEM HAS THE BEST TEACHERS AND THE MOST AMAZING PRINCIPAL EVER. MRS SEALANDER IS MORE ACTIVE AND INVOLVED WITH HER STUDENTS THAN ANY PRINCIPAL I HAVE EVER MET. MRS SEALANDER IS A BLESSING AND I AM VERY THANKFUL TO HAVE HER TAKING CARE OF MY KIDS. MRS SEALANDER IS AWESOME AND MY KIDS AND I LOVE HER SO SO VERY MUCH. THANK U MRS SEALANDER FOR EVERYTHING YOU DO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

My grand daughter attends and it is a great school. Friendly staff, helpful teachers, very clean and cheerful.


Posted September 16, 2009

My grand daughter attends Seaside and we love how each child is considered to be special. Already in kindergarten, the children could express themselves well in writing. Mistakes, yes...but they seem to love to learn.


Posted August 20, 2009

My Son had a great year in Kindergarten and is looking forward to first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

I have 4 children at this school and we love Seaside they are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

I have grandchildren at Seaside and I think the school is great! They are very concerned for the safety of the children. The first time I went in to pick the children up from school they checked my identification. I glady showed the lady at the front. This made me feel that my grandchildren are in a safe enviroment.


Posted January 15, 2008

I absolutely love this school my children both have attending. My son K-5 and my daughter K- presently in 5th grade. I love the principal and the staff. I feel very safe with my children attending this school. You could not ask for a more caring principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

This is an awesome school. I am very proud that my children attend. I would do what ever I needed to do to keep my chidren at this school. The Principal is awesome and the staff in amazing. You could not ask for a better education for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

My children have all attended Seaside. We have been extremely pleased. I have a 5th grader this year and we are very sad that our time at Seaside is coming to an end. We will truly miss the entire staff. It has been a wonderful experience for our children. They have tremendous support from the staff an cummunity. They are extremely involved in community fundraising for many charities. The entire staff, parent and children come together as a team for many endeavors such as the Myrtle Beach Fun Run, Caring for kids and support for the troops. I cannot say enough about this school. A.G.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2007

i am very disapointed with the principal and the staff. they dont seem to care very much about the childrens safety. i am hoping to take my child out of this school asap.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

I am very disappointed in this school, particularly the principal and the support staff.We will not be returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

My children were at this school for three and 1/2 years. The school was supposed to be so 'good' but we were very disappointed with it. The secretaries and staff are rude and unknowledgeable beyond belief; the principal is uncouth, apathetic and uses poor grammar. Although we ran into several great teachers there, I am very pleased my children are now attending another local school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

My daughter attended the prek program for the 2006-07 term. I was very disappointed with the main teacher. Most of the children were 4 and 5 year olds and spent far to much time being disciplined. I felt the teacher was too young and didn't know how to identify with there needs. I was disgusted every time I observed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

My daughter is moving from Seaside to St. James Middle School after this year. I have to say that we will sadly miss Seaside. My daughter has had the opportunity to take part in many activities both during school hours and extra-curricular. I commend the 5th grade team in forming their own special net that allows no child to fall through the cracks. I also commend the staff, especially Duke Brown, for giving their precious time to teach the the nationally supported Junior Lifeguard Program; a program offered to all 5th graders at no instructional costs. Academically, the 5th grade teachers take a no-nonsense approach to learning allowing each student the ability to surpass her own expectations. I do not hesitate in congratulating Seaside for an overall great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

My daughter is in Mrs Moretz class this year (2006-07). I just want to say that I couldn't be more please with this teacher she is wonderful and should win teacher of the year every year!She offers a very challenging curriculum and is great with my child who unfortunately, is not the most cooperative child! Thanks so much for all that you do! Jennifer Graves
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students94%
Female90%
Male98%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Subsidized meals91%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled75%
Not disabled98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%

Math

All Students81%
Female75%
Male88%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled44%
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%

Science

All Students71%
Female77%
Male64%
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Subsidized meals50%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female76%
Male93%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Subsidized meals78%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%

Writing

All Students81%
Female83%
Male79%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled50%
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students88%
Female91%
Male86%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals88%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabled61%
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant88%

Math

All Students88%
Female90%
Male88%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals87%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled50%
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Non-migrant88%

Science

All Students86%
Female84%
Male89%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals85%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabled56%
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant86%

Social Studies

All Students92%
Female95%
Male91%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized meals92%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled72%
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Non-migrant92%

Writing

All Students83%
Female90%
Male78%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Subsidized meals80%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled55%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Non-migrant83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Subsidized meals92%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled69%
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant92%

Math

All Students86%
Female84%
Male89%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Subsidized meals79%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled54%
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant86%

Science

All Students84%
Female85%
Male82%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Non-migrant84%

Social Studies

All Students77%
Female75%
Male79%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant77%

Writing

All Students80%
Female86%
Male75%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabled23%
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 53%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 2% 36%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Palmetto Gold Award (2012)
  • Palmetto Gold Award (2011)
  • Palmetto Gold Award (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Elizabeth Selander
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Facebook page
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (843) 650-3490

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • District buses provided
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Horry County Police
  • South Atlantic Bank
  • First Federal Bank
  • Surfside Rotary Club
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Junior Lifeguard for 5th grade
Girls sports
  • Junior Guard for 5th grade stu

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Recycling club
  • Safety Patrol
  • Spirit Team
  • Student Council
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
700
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
700

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. James Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1605 Woodland Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 650-3490

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Michael Catholic School
Murrells Inlet, SC



Burgess Elementary School
Myrtle Beach, SC



Calvary Christian School
Myrtle Beach, SC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT