Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frances F. Mack Intermediate School

Public | 5-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

My 11 year old daughter goes to Frances Mack Primary School. She is in 6th grade and they are teaching Buddism, Hinduism, and Islam in Social Studies. What does this say for our school system when they took Christianity out of the schools!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2011

I am pleased with the school. I believe the school system is only a guide to the education process. It is my responsibility & my obligation to my children to help them learn and grow into adults. The teachers have their own children to raise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

I have 2 Grandchildren at this new "primary" school and three younger students headed there in a few years and I wish I could home school them instead of them being taught by the teachers of this school, One of my grandsons has already been suspended three times in the 60 days school has been opened this year not because he is a bad child it is because "he won't do his work" what is the teacher there for if she can't make a 10 yr old do his class assignment, we have no problem with him doing what we tell him at home, he is a smart child, maybe the teacher needs to be suspended. If you have children beware of this school... They would rather kick a child to the curb than teach them..


Posted September 3, 2009

F Poor administration, although some of the teachers are extremely pleasant and nice, but pleasant and nice does not educate my children. The several problems I have had over the years have not be taken care of to my satisfaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

I am a teacher at this school. This is my 3rd year here and it is a great school. I came from Greenville County where the standards are high. Frances Mack is a Title ! school that meets the needs of the children. Hands Down.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 15, 2009

I think that this school does not meet parents needs adequately. I also believe that this school focuses more on poverty stricken children while the other children that are doing well fall behind. Furthermore if I had a choice my children would not go to this school or any school in district 4 for that matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

really good school an friendly teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

I have A son that just finished kindergaretin, and I love the school. The teachers are great, as well as the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

I currently have 3 children enrolled at mack. They have attended for 3 years and we love mack. They care about our students and my children have grown dramatically. We came here from ny and are so blessed to have found this school. I have 1 child in the special education program and he has blossomed under their care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2006

I have mixed feelings about this school, the teachers and staff are rude to the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

Do not send your child to this school! My child has just completed and passed the 2nd grade. Numerious times I was told, she's okay, just read to her more. After taking her to a privte school and having her tested - I discovered that the school had never taught her the basics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

I really think that mack ele. Is a good school for a kid to be in. I just moved here in november of 2003 and my child is doing alot better than he was at his old school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students66%
Female71%
Male60%
African-American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Subsidized meals64%
Full-pay meals74%
Disabled35%
Not disabled73%
English language learners69%
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant66%

Math

All Students58%
Female60%
Male56%
African-American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White64%
Subsidized meals53%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled28%
Not disabled65%
English language learners77%
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant58%

Science

All Students63%
Female61%
Male65%
African-American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Subsidized meals63%
Full-pay meals60%
Disabled32%
Not disabled69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant63%

Social Studies

All Students59%
Female54%
Male64%
African-American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White58%
Subsidized meals56%
Full-pay meals70%
Disabled33%
Not disabled65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant59%

Writing

All Students49%
Female59%
Male38%
African-American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White53%
Subsidized meals46%
Full-pay meals66%
Disabled13%
Not disabled57%
English language learners57%
Proficient in English49%
Not migrant49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students68%
Female71%
Male64%
African-American49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracial73%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White72%
Subsidized meals62%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled29%
Not disabled74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant68%

Math

All Students48%
Female46%
Male51%
African-American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracial55%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White51%
Subsidized meals42%
Full-pay meals69%
Disabled13%
Not disabled54%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English49%
Not migrant48%

Science

All Students50%
Female48%
Male53%
African-American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White63%
Subsidized meals44%
Full-pay meals72%
Disabled19%
Not disabled58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English52%
Not migrant50%

Social Studies

All Students73%
Female72%
Male74%
African-American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled17%
Not disabled79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant73%

Writing

All Students65%
Female74%
Male57%
African-American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracial50%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White70%
Subsidized meals60%
Full-pay meals82%
Disabled13%
Not disabled75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 53%
Black 18% 36%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (803) 794-5946

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

161 Gaston St
Gaston, SC 29053
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 794-8369

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pine Ridge Middle School
West Columbia, SC


Sandy Run School
Swansea, SC


R. H. Fulmer Middle School
West Columbia, SC



Covenant Christian Academy
West Columbia, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT