Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Westview Primary School

Public | PK-2 | 562 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2009

It's a great school. The parents and teachers really care about the students. WVP has wonderful activities for all the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

This school is great all around. They pratice positive reinforcement, that helps the childrens self esteem, along with getting compliance from them. They have well structured classes that encorporate all sorts of fun while the children are learning. As far as i have seen in k4 and first grade the teachers are wonderful, my kids and i both respect and adore them. They communicate well with parents and honestly love to teach and are amazing at it. I would reccommend this school to anyone with great cofidence in doing so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I love this school. I think any parent who is willing to put effort into thier childs education will be very impressed. My daughter is going into 5th grade this upcoming year and reads on a high school level and is the same with math. My son is in the primary school now. He is doing wonderful. I think the principle makes a big difference on how sucessful a school is. Our school has great teachers, students, parents, and of course a great principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

WVP is a great school. The teachers seem to genuinely care about the kids as if they were their own. That ranks pretty high with me. I do, however, agree with the post below about the office staff being rude but luckily most children don t spend very much time in there, only the parents. I can put up with the rudeness if it means my child gets a solid education and I feel that he is. Traffic also flows very smoothly in the mornings. It s not super fast but, hey, we don t need to be driving fast with all the kids out there anyway. I would definitely recommend West View Primary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I am very disapointed in this school. My son was in preschool since he was two and is advanced for his age. Last year he was at Devon Forest Elem. School and they taught him the proper way to write. Westview Primary teaches him to put tails on his letters. I also don't like how they let the K5 children sit in the main hallway while their teacher is outside. My son does not like going to school here and wishes he was back at his other school. The office workers are also rude. Overall I am very disapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

Westview Primary is an awesome school as they are very much on teaching and for the kids to learn there is awesome and I am glad my son is hearing the Pledge of Allegiance as he was unable to do in K at another school. The staff is very caring and seem to be interested in the Kids doing well in their classes. I am pleased to have my boys there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

I have been very pleased with Westveiw Primary school. My child went to a private kindergarten and was very advanced, reading on a second grade level when she started 1rst grade at WP. She has continued to excel. The teachers and staff are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2006

I have to say I was very disapointed in this school. My son has always been praised by his former preschool teacher and pediatrician about how well advanced he was, Westview did nothing to encourage or expand on that. In fact, this school has taught him nothing. Needless to say we are transfering to another school that does have extra programs and goes the extra mile for the kids, not the appearance. The only good thing I can say about this place is that they have a great after school care program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2004

Westview primary is an excellent school. We pulled our son out of private school after touring westview primary. The school is only three years old, has great teachers, and a super support staff. I absolutely recommend wvp to any parent, you will not find a better facility or staff anywhere. As of dec 04, there is 100% parent particiation in the pta for the whole school - this is a true testiment to the parent/staff involvement in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 53%
Black 21% 36%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:15 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Lucretia Carter
Fax number
  • (843) 820-4078

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

98 Westview Blvd
Goose Creek, SC 29445
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 820-4082

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Crowfield Academy
Goose Creek, SC






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT