Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Goose Creek Primary School

Public | PK-2 | 949 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2013

My grandson goes to your school for 3 years now. I think there should be a better way of communication. Sometimes the teacher fills out his communication book and sometimes she doesn't even tell us how or what they did to improve or not. This is the only issue I have with the school. With the bus system I do not know why they have an assistant on the bus for the small ones. She doesn't help them up or down on the bus when they need it. Ya'll can have the bus driver strap them in or the parents. No sense in paying someone who doesn't help the driver. That is my opinion. Other than that I do not have anything negative about the teaching


Posted February 21, 2012

Excellent school. Great teachers, I love the school.They work well with the children. I and my Family have great experiences!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

I have a foster child in this school and they have worked with me to discover her strengths and weaknesses. I am very pleased she will have 1 more year in this school. The principal and staff are friendly, courteous and helpful in all of our needs.


Posted April 13, 2011

My son has been at Goose Creek Primary since he was 3 years old. The staff are warm and inviting. The Special Needs program is great. Each and every person I have met at GCP has been concerned about the welfare and education of my child. My child is greeted by everyone he comes into contact with. I love the Family nights they have at the school. They offer a lot of functions for families to attend. They do school fairs, Water day, Field Day, Field Trips, and much more. The principle offers a Pajama Party every year. Every month the school does a Spirit day and the kids receive popcorn and they do activities. We have had nothing but great experiences. Awesome PTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

I work at GCP. I really love my job, the kids and my fellow staff members. I look forward to going to work each day working with the children in my class and throughout the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

Great, warm, and inviting environment. Hard working teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

The staff is very helpfull, teachers are great and very educated and i like the way things are organized and the involment of parents with the school activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

They work hard to make sure that motivation is always provided. Can't imagine trying to do that for 1700 kids but I DO know that it can't be done without excellent teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

My child has been attending this school for the past 2 yrs. I could not ask for better teachers!! My child developed a divine sense of enthusiam for learning AND attending school. She absolutely loves her awards for good behavior and strives every day for better, thanks to the teachers. Parent-teacher involvment and communication is not only more than welcome but encourged, which as a parent is essential for me to feel comfortable trusting the school with my child!! Thanks to all staff members. For future school-aged children whose parents are researching a school, this has been a great experience from kindergarten to now, and this is a wonderful school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I have been working at GCP for 5yrs. I have been working w. children w/ special needs it is such a wonderful thing when a student reaches there goal when they have worked so hard in trying to get there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Friendly family oriented school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Because it teacher really care about how their students learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

My son just started school here and we have been very impressed with the procedures in place to keep him safe. It seems like the staff and administration are friendly and professional. The principal already knows my son's name and greets him with a smile in the car rider line each morning. That means a lot to me as a mom. Their library is great - stocked with what looks like all new books and I think they have smartboards in every classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

I am a parent and I have never had any problems with this school. I love this school. Everyone, from office staff to teachers to cafeteria workers to custodians, have always been helpful to me and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Recently the school put on a principal pj party for the kids who collected 75 otter bucks.My two kids really enjoyed themselves and it was an incentive for them doing good things.I really do believe that this is a good school.teachers that care and love their student this to me is really important.We've had the same kindergarden techer for our two older kids and is planning on her teaching our yolungest son.I believe that you can always find fault with something but I'm the type to always find the good in anything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

I have been very pleased with the progress my child has made this year. his teacher cares about him and is very supportive and understanding. I was impressed with the various art opportunities - artists in residence offered throughout the year. principal is very understanding and will listen to concerns - knowledgeable about early childhood growth and development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

My daughter is 4 and is attending speech therapy at this school twice weekly.....on that note ....my experience is limited with the staff and the school. Unfortunately .....the experience I have had has been less than adequate. The staff is disturbingly 'unconcerned' in nature.....not to mention the fact that they are very unorganized. They have thus far LOST my daughters entire file, registration, copies of birth certificate, ss card, emergency info twice.....yes......twice. No one could tell me where it went or who it went too or even seemed to understand why this was such an issue with me that my daughters info was 'floating around somewhere'. With this knowledge I will be sending my daughter to a different elementary school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

Very large school with very large classes. Most of the teachers are good teachers, but are not good with teaming up with parents - very cold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

I found this school very cold. The staff was not very helpful or friendly. I am glad that we moved away from Goose Creek Primary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 37% 36%
White 33% 53%
Hispanic 18% 6%
Two or more races 9% 2%
Asian 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Foster Creek Rd
Goose Creek, SC 29445
Phone: (843) 820-8008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Northwood Academy
Charleston, SC


Northwood Academy
North Charleston, SC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT