Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Midland Valley Preparatory

Charter | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2011

I think Midland Valley Prep is a wonderful school. The Principal, teachers and staff are outstanding. I highly recommond this school to all of Aiken County. Children get one on one teaching. A small but fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

This is the worse school I have ever dealt with. The principal is rude, haughty, and insensitive to the needs of the children. Some of teachers are fantastic, but their hands are tied due to this school's administrator. I would never recommend this school to anyone if they want their child to be successful in a school where the faculty genuinely cares about their well-being, achievements, and works with the parents. My advice is tto stay away from this place. It is a nightmare!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

My son has been attending MVP since 4K. We have had wonderful teachers every year and the quality of learning is excellent! The standards are high but teachers always help the students to meet their full potential along with making learning fun. My younger son will be attending MVP when he gets of age as well. I wouldn't send either of them to any other school! I couldn't ask for a better learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

This is an excellent school of choice... This school has a unique approach to learning that works! Parents are involved and the children love the certified teachers and warm and encouraging atmosphere... most people think it is a private school with the small classroom size and high achievement goals ! I only wish this school had been an option when my children were in school... my grandchildren are excelling ... I cannot say enough good things about this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

If you want to send you child to a school that is run by an unmarried, pregnant administrator, a board that is totally out of control and cannot bring the budget together, this is your place. I have removed my child from this school BEFORE it implodes. The new reviews written by the staff try to paint a very rosy and under control atmosphere but it is anything but that. Behind the scenes it is total chaos. Like the saying says...buyer beware...BEWARE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

My partner and I placed our children at MVP in 2008. I have never been more pleased with a school. the teachers are top notch when it comes to creating a learning environment that is developmentally appropriate for every child in their class. the children are not grouped together and taught on one level but treated as the individuals they are. The school staff treats each family with respect and dignity. As a parent you are involved with your child/rens educational journey. As for B.J. Dogget the schools administrator, I have never experienced a person with such a love and compassion for a school, its students and their families. She, the staff, and their love for the children is the reason this school as made AYP for the past two years and will continue to thrive as a successful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

I think MVP is a great school. The new administrator, Bette Jean Doggett, is perfect for the school because she is so good with the children. The staff, teachers and board members are all doing a wonderful job.


Posted May 3, 2010

Every story has two sides. Please reserve your judgement of this fine school until you've actually had children there. It is a very good school, very student and parent oriented and I believe it will continue to grow under the new leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

i think the school is very productive in regards to our children's education. i feel all the politics and allegations should not be priority...but the kids should be. the children are very close knit and they love their school! it is their school. not the administrator's or any one else's. why does everything have to be a battle. cant we all just stick together for the sake of the ljkids?1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I would like to respectfully disagree with the parent who stated that the school has fallen apart. On the contrary, our school continues to operate with friendly smiles, great families and dedicated teachers. Our Administrator has the experience, organization, dedication and knowledge necessary to keep our school running smoothly. I do agree that our Board is not operating smoothly, but we are diligently looking for people to run for the Board for next year who are committed to our school and its success. In the meantime, it is the teachers and staff who are looking out for the students and their best interests. I invite ANYONE who would like more information about what goes on at our school to call and schedule a tour of our classrooms. We'll be happy to see you.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2010

This is school is an excellent choice if you are a single parent; the concept of year-round schooling fits well if you are in school or working. I have enjoyed having my daughter at this top notch school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

I am very unhappy with the school and pulled my son out and placed him back in public school. They are very disorganized and unprofessional with my son and his class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

This school is awsome!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2009

Midland Valley Prep is a great school with a great staff. They know all the children personally and go the extra mile if your child needs help. Their Curriculum is Core Knowledge which provides an academic focus and encourages consistency in instruction using a plan for sequenced learning from grade to grade building upon the foundation previously taught. For more information on Core Knowledge check out: coreknowledge.org. Also the smaller ratio classes are a plus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

I was very excited about my daughter going to this school this year, especially concerning the alternative. It has been a bumpy road and there will always be a few of those bumps no matter what school your child goes to. I have heard about some of these other middle schools and I thank God my daughter is at MVP. I feel like part of the progress and not like I am being judged or looked down at when I come into the school. The office does not chastise me for not calling ahead before coming to eat lunch with her class. i am welcome at all times of the day. I feel like we are teaching her as a group and not like I am on th outside of the school looking in. I have recommended this schol to other parents who are getting more and more disenchanted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

This is truly a different world than your normal public school. The Principal is one of the most caring I have ever seen. She is always in close contact with students and parents. The extra things the school does are great for the students, like the Thanksgiving dinner. Nowhere will you find a more close knit school.


Posted March 26, 2008

This school is Aiken County's best kept secret! I have been affiliated with the teachers, administration, and office staff for 5 years... they truly CARE about students and their success! It may not be the prettiest school on the block, but 'pretty is as pretty does' and this school does a BEAUTIFUL job of academics! It has made AYP for the last two years and was only 1 of 2 middle schools to make AYP! I have read the negative reviews and totally disagree with their comments... I wish these former students the best in their new environments, but to write negative comments about MVP is very immature... God bless this school and may it continue to prosper.... I wish only the best for the growth and continued success for MVP...


Posted September 22, 2006

The leadership at MVP is horrible...the best teachers are now gone along with most of the students...also any religious expression is forbidden unless it seems to encourage humanism
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

My little girl started this school the first year the school began. We too had high hopes for it. I had home schooled her, and had decided to try this school, as I wanted an alternative to traditional public education. My child started the 1st grade class. We stayed from the opening in August of 2002 until March of 2003 (7 months). When school began (late), our children were in tiny trailer units that we were assured would be temporary placement units. They were too small, and cramped. This year...3 years later, the same 'temporary units' are still being used. Just an example, of the lack of organization in this school. My child was not happy. She had an excellent teacher, the only reason we stayed as long as we did. She returned to home school, but, is now attending Jefferson, and is an Honor student and in the G/T program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

I happen to love this school. I have four children who attend and have attended since the school began in August 2002. I understood going into this school that it was a brand new school and a brand new format. I expected some kinks, just as I would in any business. Regardless of the kinks, my children have had very attentive teachers, love to get up for school, the classes are smaller (16 - 20 depending on their ages and most have a classroom aide. Unfortunately, many parents expected this school to be a miracle cure for their children. It is not that. As a parent you are expected to participate and if you do you know about everything happening in the school. There are more teachers who have stayed at the school then have left. They are the good ones! I thank them and the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students75%
Femalen/a
Male82%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White75%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals75%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%

Math

All Students63%
Femalen/a
Male73%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White67%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals58%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Writing

All Students62%
Femalen/a
Male50%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals70%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students89%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant89%

Math

All Students72%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant72%

Science

All Students67%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant67%

Social Studies

All Students89%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant89%

Writing

All Students89%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students55%
Female50%
Male58%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White63%
Subsidized meals50%
Full-pay meals60%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled56%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English55%
Not migrant55%

Math

All Students32%
Female20%
Male42%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White31%
Subsidized meals17%
Full-pay meals50%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled38%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English32%
Not migrant32%

Science

All Students73%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant73%

Social Studies

All Students46%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English46%
Not migrant46%

Writing

All Students50%
Female50%
Male50%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White56%
Subsidized meals33%
Full-pay meals70%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled56%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English50%
Not migrant50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students57%
Female69%
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals40%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant57%

Math

All Students29%
Female31%
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White36%
Subsidized meals46%
Full-pay meals10%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled35%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English29%
Not migrant29%

Science

All Students46%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English46%
Not migrant46%

Social Studies

All Students50%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled50%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English50%
Not migrant50%

Writing

All Students52%
Female62%
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White60%
Subsidized meals50%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English52%
Not migrant52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students71%
Female73%
Male70%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White72%
Subsidized meals54%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant71%

Math

All Students33%
Female36%
Male30%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White39%
Subsidized meals23%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled33%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English33%
Not migrant33%

Science

All Students57%
Female46%
Male70%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White56%
Subsidized meals54%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled61%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant57%

Social Studies

All Students43%
Female36%
Male50%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White44%
Subsidized meals39%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled45%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English43%
Not migrant43%

Writing

All Students67%
Female64%
Male70%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White67%
Subsidized meals46%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students33%
Femalen/a
Male27%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White46%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals18%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled40%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English33%
Not migrant33%

Math

All Students22%
Femalen/a
Male18%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White23%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals9%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled27%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English22%
Not migrant22%

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Writing

All Students56%
Femalen/a
Male46%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White54%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals46%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
82%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 53%
Black 25% 36%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A57%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (803) 594-0511

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2432 Jefferson Davis Hwy.
Graniteville, SC 29829
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 594-1028

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Byrd Elementary School
Graniteville, SC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT