Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Midland Valley High School

Public | 9-12 | 1192 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2014

First year at Midland Valley High School and so far I have found an administration who is responsive and available, teachers are professional and caring about the student. So far, off to a good year. I appreciate the hard work that the principal, teachers and students are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

This has got to be the worst school I have ever been too. They told me I have a .4 GPA. I dropped out of Midland Valley High School, because the teachers are unprofessional. I went to a online school, and Graduated with a 3.66 GPA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2010

Last year, I went to Fox Creek High School and HATED it. This year I'm at Midland Valley and I LOVE it. The kids are awesome, everyone will talk to you. The teachers really care about your grades and are ready to help you at any point. For once, I actually have homework and I'm happy about it because I never got it at Fox Creek. I'm challenged here and I like that. They're doing a great job prepping us for college. Drama seems to be nonexistant because everyone just kinda shakes it off since there are so many people around. The kids genuinely care about the school and it's great. I'm really happy to be at Midland Valley and for the first time, I'm actually enjoying high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2009

Excellent Staff and Athletic Program. 2009 CSRA MV Mustangs Softall Team of the Year. Athletic Director and head Softball Coach Michelle Yeater is 2009 Coach of the year in the CSRA! We love our MUSTANGS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

The guidance counselors are great. They really care about students. There are also many great teachers there. I would not recommend that your child ride a bus to and from Midland Valley because if there is an issue you will get no assistance from the transportation department nor the principal of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

I graduated from MVHS and I was in the ROTC program, I made lots of friends that I wouldn't have made in any other group or organization. Of course I'm gonna say the leadership was great it's my school. Go Mustangs!!!


Posted June 18, 2007

the current administration is awful. The band is the best thing at the school. ROTC its a joke. my kids were in no way prepared for college from MVHS. until all kids in aiken county receive the same education then nothing will change. Go to a charter or private school, I don't recommend any HS in Aiken County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

Midland Valley is much better now that the former principal is gone. The current admin is much more focused on students learning instead of who's doing what. Is is clean and in good repair. It is the best high school around by far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2004

Both of my children graduated from MVHS. One is working in Japan and the other is in med school. I think they got great foundation education at MVHS. The band and NJROTC programs are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I have had Children at Midland Valley for 5 years now. Teachers there arent interested in their students. If they were, my children wouldnt have had the problems they did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2003

Midland Valley has the best principal and teachers in South Carolina. South Carolina's teacher of the graduated from Midland Valley. It's a safe school. My daughter is a senior this year and she has enjoyed every minute she has attended M.V.H.S. PS: They have a great band too. I would highly reccoment Midland Valley to everyone. Jenny Dunn


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students92%
Female95%
Male90%
African-American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized meals89%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled63%
Not disabled95%
English language learners63%
Proficient in English94%
Not migrant92%

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male89%
African-American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled50%
Not disabled92%
English language learners74%
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant88%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
65%
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
61%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

337 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
48%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 53%
Black 23% 36%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (803) 593-7106

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

227 Mustang Dr
Graniteville, SC 29829
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 593-7100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


North Augusta High School
North Augusta, SC


Victory Christian School
North Augusta, SC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT