Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Shannon Forest Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 421 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Greenville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $168,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

We have had our kids at SFCS for 7 years and absolutely love it. The teachers are attentive, professional, and compassionate. We really appreciate all the opportunities our kids have there spiritually, academically, athletically, and socially. I have served this school on many levels and can honestly say that I am completely encouraged by the leadership and direction of SFCS. Sure, some of the buildings are older, but years from now we won't care about fancy facilities. The relationships and the family-like atmosphere at this school are the best. As far as previous reviews about students not being supervised and safety concerns, that has NEVER been our observation. In fact, the school now has timed locks on every door and a system that requires all guests to be let in by the front office. You cannot get in without the front office buzzing you in. As far as students crossing a "busy road", that has also never been an issue. There is a crosswalk with a teacher posted in the morning and a caution signal for other times of the day. We HIGHLY recommend SFCS. There are other choices in Greenville, but none of them have the intangible things that we have found here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Our daughter attended one year at the junior high level. While the teachers may be competent. They spend an enormous amount of time doing community projects, social events etc. They waste valuable class room time for students to learn. The curriculum is developed more from non academic staff members. The facilities are outdated and the school is always short on resources. The small class room settings was a plus. Toward the middle of the school year we noticed the middle and high school had little oversight of visitors entering the facilities. Students driving had to park across the street resulting in students crossing a high traffic street. Finally, the cost of attending this school far out weighs the positives. We eventually relocated to a larger private school in the Greenville area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

Please do not send your child to this school. Their facilities and staff are secondary at best. They have poor oversight for child safety. They are in major debt and in jeopardy of closing. Please research other area private schools first. They have stopped teaching special needs children all together. They changed their student profile to college prep only. This decision was made with no thought of those children who were deemed special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

We have had a wonderful experience! Our child has been enriched through the arts and sports in conjunction with a superb academic curriculum that is appropriate, challenging, but not overdone. They have a high percentage of students accepted into Duke's TIP program. High school grads choose from a huge array of colleges with acceptance, last year 100% enrollment into higher education after graduation. The staff is warm and caring, all hold an educational degree of at least 4 years. Our family has been very pleased with the small school feel with BIG positive impact on our child. We can't wait for our youngest to begin kindergarten next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

We have a daughter ther ein 9th grade. Its an excellent school with teachers who care and know each student. Many of the reviews here are out of date. For example the school now starts all Freshman in the LAUNCH program along with a iPad. LAUNCH is taught by a team of professionals & includes topics like personal and social development, educational achievement, college choices, careers, time management, oral presentation skills and financial literacy. They also start the first week with a several days leadership and service trip. Our daughter went to help tornado victims in KY. The school has also added football and the coach is former professional player and Clemson player Levon Kirkland. There is much to feel good about at Shannon Forest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2012

Not very happy, I felt that my kid was being bullied and the teacher in charge couldn't care much. Not a good school if your kid is average. Favoritism too exists. But The admin staff is polite and they do listen to you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Love this school! We moved our son from a "quality" public school where he was overlooked as he was neither a trouble maker nor in the top 5%. The teachers respond immediately to any questions, and they make an effort to make new children feel welcome. Our only regret is not moving our child sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

The Good: Most of the students are undoubtedly hard-workers with obvious aspirations to do great things. The students participating in the AP classes are challenged and work hard to reach personal goals not only in their academics, but in the after school programs as well. The Bad: For the high tuition amount, the academics are sub-standard. There is little to no emphasis on fine arts and the programs that they do offer are over-looked and are often side-lined to make room for the sport programs. The Sports program is obviously the main platform for Shannon Forest, so any student with artistic talents or a main interest in Fine Arts should alternatively pick a different school. Because it is a small school, favoratism is an acknowledged issue and past incidents of student-teacher relationships is questionable at best. SFCS is good for sports-minded individuals, but not reliable in anything else.


Posted August 29, 2008

I absolutely love Shannon and I can't imagine myself at another private or public school. I've been at Shannon since 4th grade, I'm now in high school, my brother attends the middle school at Shannon and my mom teaches here. Our high school Science and English programs are very well qualified in all areas. The Math program has undergone some changes and has prepared all those before me for college very well. The History program has one really strong teacher, and then we've got some that have come and gone over the years. When people say that Shannon is a college-prep school, they don't lie. We have a blossoming Key Club, a Math Team, and a lot of well-supervised and well-coached sports teams. The Christian beliefs and acted faith comprise the best part about our school. Come check it out!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2008

My child has been in the middle school at SFCS for two years. The peer group of friends (about 10) are all the kind of 'kids' you would want for your kid to associate. The teachers, fellow students and staff make SFCS feel like 'family'. You always know and your child knows that YOU will always know, if she/he gets 'out of bounds' in studies, social behavior or 'dress code'. Achedemically the school has a couple of weak links but the administration is working the issues. The 'non-selling' of SFCS successes is a weak link. There is a good story to be Told but they do not make the statistics available in a usable form. Ask about sports, clubs, some are missing relative to other schools. The kids and 'family' reminds me of a 'small town school' where everyone knows you and helps you. EXCELLENT QUALITY KIDS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

No dicipline issues. Great behavior of kids. Respectful! Some of the teachers are excellent and a couple should have been asked to leave. However, it is a small % versus the total. The CHRISTIAN attitude and committment is supported.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

My child has attended Shannon Forest for 13 years (kindergarten through 12). She has received an excellent education. She was reading very soon after beginning kindergarten and has been encouraged to be and do her best. The lower school program is ideal for nourishing the spirtual and intellectual growth of the student. In the difficult middle and upper school years, my child has been guided to make wise personal choices and has enjoyed excellent teachers. The biology and math programs have been particularly rewarding for my child. The quality and dedication of the teachers is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 53%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Black 0% 36%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

829 Garlington Road
Greenville, SC 29615
Phone: (864) 678-5107

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Palmetto Prep
Greenville, SC


GREEN Charter School
Greenville, SC


Mauldin Elementary School
Simpsonville, SC



Mauldin Middle School
Simpsonville, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT