Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shannon Forest Christian School 5

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
We have had our kids at SFCS for 7 years and absolutely love it. The teachers are attentive, professional, and compassionate. We really appreciate all the opportunities our kids have there spiritually, academically, athletically, and socially. I have served this school on many levels and can honestly say that I am completely encouraged by the leadership and direction of SFCS. Sure, some of the buildings are older, but years from now we won't care about fancy facilities. The relationships and the family-like atmosphere at this school are the best. As far as previous reviews about students not being supervised and safety concerns, that has NEVER been our observation. In fact, the school now has timed locks on every door and a system that requires all guests to be let in by the front office. You cannot get in without the front office buzzing you in. As far as students crossing a "busy road", that has also never been an issue. There is a crosswalk with a teacher posted in the morning and a caution signal for other times of the day. We HIGHLY recommend SFCS. There are other choices in Greenville, but none of them have the intangible things that we have found here.

Shannon Forest Christian School 1

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter attended one year at the junior high level. While the teachers may be competent. They spend an enormous amount of time doing community projects, social events etc. They waste valuable class room time for students to learn. The curriculum is developed more from non academic staff members. The facilities are outdated and the school is always short on resources. The small class room settings was a plus. Toward the middle of the school year we noticed the middle and high school had little oversight of visitors entering the facilities. Students driving had to park across the street resulting in students crossing a high traffic street. Finally, the cost of attending this school far out weighs the positives. We eventually relocated to a larger private school in the Greenville area.


Shannon Forest Christian School 1

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
Please do not send your child to this school. Their facilities and staff are secondary at best. They have poor oversight for child safety. They are in major debt and in jeopardy of closing. Please research other area private schools first. They have stopped teaching special needs children all together. They changed their student profile to college prep only. This decision was made with no thought of those children who were deemed special needs.

Shannon Forest Christian School 5

Posted December 21, 2012
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience! Our child has been enriched through the arts and sports in conjunction with a superb academic curriculum that is appropriate, challenging, but not overdone. They have a high percentage of students accepted into Duke's TIP program. High school grads choose from a huge array of colleges with acceptance, last year 100% enrollment into higher education after graduation. The staff is warm and caring, all hold an educational degree of at least 4 years. Our family has been very pleased with the small school feel with BIG positive impact on our child. We can't wait for our youngest to begin kindergarten next year!

Shannon Forest Christian School 5

Posted November 28, 2012
- a parent
We have a daughter ther ein 9th grade. Its an excellent school with teachers who care and know each student. Many of the reviews here are out of date. For example the school now starts all Freshman in the LAUNCH program along with a iPad. LAUNCH is taught by a team of professionals & includes topics like personal and social development, educational achievement, college choices, careers, time management, oral presentation skills and financial literacy. They also start the first week with a several days leadership and service trip. Our daughter went to help tornado victims in KY. The school has also added football and the coach is former professional player and Clemson player Levon Kirkland. There is much to feel good about at Shannon Forest.


Shannon Forest Christian School 3

Posted July 20, 2012
- a parent
Not very happy, I felt that my kid was being bullied and the teacher in charge couldn't care much. Not a good school if your kid is average. Favoritism too exists. But The admin staff is polite and they do listen to you.

Shannon Forest Christian School 4

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
Love this school! We moved our son from a "quality" public school where he was overlooked as he was neither a trouble maker nor in the top 5%. The teachers respond immediately to any questions, and they make an effort to make new children feel welcome. Our only regret is not moving our child sooner.

Shannon Forest Christian School 2

Posted November 29, 2009
- a community member
The Good: Most of the students are undoubtedly hard-workers with obvious aspirations to do great things. The students participating in the AP classes are challenged and work hard to reach personal goals not only in their academics, but in the after school programs as well. The Bad: For the high tuition amount, the academics are sub-standard. There is little to no emphasis on fine arts and the programs that they do offer are over-looked and are often side-lined to make room for the sport programs. The Sports program is obviously the main platform for Shannon Forest, so any student with artistic talents or a main interest in Fine Arts should alternatively pick a different school. Because it is a small school, favoratism is an acknowledged issue and past incidents of student-teacher relationships is questionable at best. SFCS is good for sports-minded individuals, but not reliable in anything else.


Shannon Forest Christian School 5

Posted August 29, 2008
- a student
I absolutely love Shannon and I can't imagine myself at another private or public school. I've been at Shannon since 4th grade, I'm now in high school, my brother attends the middle school at Shannon and my mom teaches here. Our high school Science and English programs are very well qualified in all areas. The Math program has undergone some changes and has prepared all those before me for college very well. The History program has one really strong teacher, and then we've got some that have come and gone over the years. When people say that Shannon is a college-prep school, they don't lie. We have a blossoming Key Club, a Math Team, and a lot of well-supervised and well-coached sports teams. The Christian beliefs and acted faith comprise the best part about our school. Come check it out!

Shannon Forest Christian School 4

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
My child has been in the middle school at SFCS for two years. The peer group of friends (about 10) are all the kind of 'kids' you would want for your kid to associate. The teachers, fellow students and staff make SFCS feel like 'family'. You always know and your child knows that YOU will always know, if she/he gets 'out of bounds' in studies, social behavior or 'dress code'. Achedemically the school has a couple of weak links but the administration is working the issues. The 'non-selling' of SFCS successes is a weak link. There is a good story to be Told but they do not make the statistics available in a usable form. Ask about sports, clubs, some are missing relative to other schools. The kids and 'family' reminds me of a 'small town school' where everyone knows you and helps you. EXCELLENT QUALITY KIDS.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shannon Forest Christian School
829 Garlington Road, Greenville, SC  29615
(864) 678-5107
Last modified Shannon Forest Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Shannon Forest Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top