Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-12
Private
Greenville, SC
Students enrolled: 610
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


7 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Joseph's Catholic School 5

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
I highly recommend St. Joseph's Catholic School if your primary objective is the personal and academic success of your child(ren). St. Joseph's is a true college preparatory school and it's graduating students are rewarded for their academic successes. The 2014 graduating class amassed nearly $10 million in college awards and scholarships. St. Joseph's does emphasize academics over athletics. If you are more inclined to appreciate athletic success or The Athletic Director's Cup over academics, then perhaps you should consider giving your money to "that school down the road"! St. Joseph's Catholic School is First Class and the students follow suit. I disagree with a "May 2014" post...our experience has been that St. Joseph's exhibits and embraces a higher level of class with respect to how they treat others. It's not uncommon to portray someone in a negative light when you have been on the "less favorable" side of a disagreeable situation. If any student is engaged in an activity that is expressly not tolerated in the Student Handbook, that student risks the possibility of expulsion. St. Joseph's expects much from their students and everyone is expected to follow the rules.

St Joseph's Catholic School 2

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
Disturbingly backward. Headmaster preaches Christian values, however, cheating and racism is common in this school. Typical, primarily white, Southern big fish in small pond mentality among the teachers and many of the parents. Teachers are average. Many teach there to obtain reduced tuition. Problems with the teachers are swept under the carpet, and the administration supports the teachers even when their behavior is clearly out of line. Very disappointing. Very white, Southern, bubba attitudes. Average intelligence for the most part. Not many geniuses in this school, however, making large financial contributions pretty much ensues your child will be able to behave as badly as they choose with no repercussions. If that is what you are looking for, this is your school. Teachers often switch subjects with or without the required expertise. Some are just horrible. Overall, a poor to average environment. And, definitely don't be different -- meaning -- don't dare not be a white elitist or school will be very stressful. Racism is tolerated. It's like 1950. No IQ tests to enter, and the school is more interested in money than in the brainpower or lack thereof of the students.


St Joseph's Catholic School 5

Posted February 13, 2014
- a community member
St. Joseph's prepared me well for college. I feel like I've gotten a solid education out of it, and ultimately that's all you can ask for from a school. There's some great people there who are always willing to sit down and listen in every department. Be that as it may, there's so much drama within the administration. I wasn't ever bothered by it as a student, but I can tell you that we were all very aware.

St Joseph's Catholic School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
A remarkable learning environment that is geared toward preparing students for success in college and beyond. Teachers, staff and administration are outstanding: challenging, caring and incredibly supportive. There is a great deal of structure, and the faith-based nature of the school is present in all things without being overbearing. About 1/3 of the students are non-Catholic. Expectations are through the roof, the academics are rigorous - but the kids rise to the occasion. They learn to honor, respect and support one another. The contrast between this school and the local publics is astonishing. I have been impressed with almost every aspect of St. Joe's every step of the way, and consider enrolling our child here to be one of our best parenting decisions.

St Joseph's Catholic School 3

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


St Joseph's Catholic School 5

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
St. Joseph's Middle School and High School is the best education in the upstate. It provides great academics with a caring faculty and staff. The students are happy and motivated in a safe and caring environment. St. Joseph's High School produces graduates with character and great work ethics.

St Joseph's Catholic School 5

Posted August 25, 2003
- a parent
St. Joseph's is the highest rated high school in the entire state of South Carolina. This high school involves religion and friendly students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joseph's Catholic School
100 Saint Joseph S Drive, Greenville, SC  29607
(864) 234-9009
Last modified St Joseph's Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
St Joseph's Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top