Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-8
Public charter
Greenville, SC
Students enrolled: 450
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Langston Charter Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
Langston Charter Middle School differentiates itself from other middle schools in Greenville County through its demanding curriculum and its single gender classrooms. This allows the students to focus on the material being taught and not the drama that tends to occur when you have boys and girls present in the same classroom. The uniforms remove distractions as well. They reinforce to the students that they are in school to learn and not for a fashion show. The amazing faculty encourage, coach, praise and inspire students to build their knowledge base and self confidence. Middle school is a time where our children need parental involvement and Langston offers ample opportunities for parents to actively participate in their child's education. We are forever grateful to the Langston staff for exceeding our expectations with regards to the education of our children. Our son, who "graduated" this past spring from Langston, was exceptionally prepared for high school. Our daughter, who is currently a 6th grader at Langston, transitioned smoothly into middle school and we attribute this to the positive environment that the Langston community fosters. This school is extraordinary!!!

Langston Charter Middle School 5

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
As the parents of two currently attending, and one that will soon attend, our family has been very impressed with Langston Charter. Both of my children excel at LCMS. It is hard work, and the teachers expect nothing but the best. They will help anyone and everyone with anything they can, but the staff fully expects for you as a parent, and student, to do your part. Mr. Black, Mrs. Guerrero, Ms. Cannon, Mr. Venable, Mr. Temple, (and the list goes on) show compassion and respect for the children, all while pushing them to excel. Offsite activities, sports programs, school functions, are all a part of the Langston community experience. With that said, Langston is not a reform school. Langston was created as an educational facility for people from all walks, who wanted more from the school system. However, if your child becomes a problem, your child will be returned to the school for which they are zoned. This is a nice feature, as problems can be corrected, or shipped; it is up to the parent and the student. Langston is ever evolving. They make every effort to keep up with educational advancements, all striving to keep the small town school feel.


Langston Charter Middle School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
Langston Charter Middle School has been an amazing experience for our children. Langston has exceeded all our expectations academically and we have seen our children flourish as independent learners. The faculty and staff are invested in teaching and caring for our students. Gender separated classes and a strict uniform policy have made an uniquely wonderful way for our kids to experience middle school. We are so lucky to be a part of the Langston community. We truly feel like we won the lottery!

Langston Charter Middle School 5

Posted July 16, 2013
- a parent
2 out of my 4 children have completed Langston Charter Middle School, with my 3rd starting this fall. Our family cannot say enough about this school. The teachers and staff are like family with the one united goal of helping your child succed and do well. Hand in hand with the parents, they are preparing our children to be great people and leaders in their community. The uniforms are a blessing. No one has to worry about "who's wearing what," and "who has what." Gender split classes are wonderful. Boys and girls are just so different at that akward middle school time of life. If you take away the boys and the clothes, your left with A LOT less drama and the students can focus on what's important~their education! My oldest daughter entered Langston in the middle of middle school. She was bullied so badly at a Christian school. Langston changed her life and now she is a florishing rising 10th grader at JL Mann. She has a 5.7 GPA, is a Beta Club member, and was student of the month during her freshman year. LCMS made it possible for her success in high school. If there were 10 stars, I'd give them all to Langston!

Langston Charter Middle School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
Langston lived up to and surpassed our family's expectations these past 3 years for our daughter. The academic challenge along with teacher support created a learning environment that has well prepared their students for high school. The service requirements were hard to meet sometimes because kids are in school all week and you may have to commit weekend time to saitsfy community service.


Langston Charter Middle School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
Langston Charter Middle School is a wonderful place to be! Both of my children attended Langston & graduated with a high quality education that more than prepared them for high school. The teachers, staff and board all work amazingly well together to provide a safe and nurturing environment. If your child has the opportunity to attend Langston, do so without hesitation. It's a special place!

Langston Charter Middle School 1

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
My son was bullied this past school year. We met with his teachers and was told my child needs to get thicker skin. I got the "Its normal" speech, "Its a pecking order, the kids are just trying to fit in." The school is high on community service but does not teach the kids how to treat each other in their community which is the school. If your child struggles with anything, do NOT send them here, there are no exceptions, no help and NO understanding. My child entered this school a kind hearted, honor roll student and left a bully because he had to finally start defending himself and C's and D's on his report card. If you can't give 100% of your time and money, don't go here, you will not be accepted!!! This school is running on great theories and ideas, but try still have a lot of kinks to work out. Once they admit that they'll be unstoppable!!!

Langston Charter Middle School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
This middle school is the best of both worlds. It feels like a high-end private school, yet it is a public Charter school. The teachers know all the students and truly care about them. We love the single gender classes.


Langston Charter Middle School 5

Posted February 04, 2011
- a parent
A geat school that focuses on leadership. This school is a single gender school, which makes a good setting for kids to learn.

Langston Charter Middle School 5

Posted May 16, 2010
- a parent
Langston has great leadership, teachers, parents, and students! The Board could not be better! Langston is the best middle school in South Carolina!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Langston Charter Middle School
1950 Woodruff Rd, Greenville, SC  29607
(864) 286-9700
Last modified Langston Charter Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Langston Charter Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top