Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-12 & Ungraded
Public charter
Greenville, SC
Students enrolled: 1,062
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Legacy Charter Middle School has also seen exceptional growth this year. Enrollment increased throughout the year and our students achieved much success. We had over 40 students take high school courses and receive credit. We had an 84% passage rate on the English 1 EOC and 85% on the Algebra 1 EOC. The use of our Project Class discipline model improved our culture and overall school climate. The second year of the Teacher Advancement Program (TAP) created a sense of community and professionalism amongst our faculty and staff. We implemented Math and ELA intervention classes for each of our students to provide extra assistance or acceleration. We continued to provide an individualized education to each child and build partnerships with our parents. Our goal is to prepare students for high school and college and we are doing that every day. Our school is growing and improving each day because of the hard work and dedication of many.
June 23, 2014

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Legacy Charter School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a teacher
2013-2014 was a year of continued growth for the Early College High School division where our goal is to prepare every student to be college, career and life ready. 100% of the graduates in our inaugural class were accepted to two and four year colleges and universities qualifying them for a $1,000 school funded scholarships renewable every year they are in college. Once again, as part of our dual-credit agreement with Greenville Technical College, students were encouraged to take college courses (tuition free) and this year, 21 students took them with a 90% success rate. Students also worked hard to gains on End Of Course exams including a 17% improvement in US History. New programs like Transitional Coaches provided every 12th grade student with individualized assistance consistent with our college bound mission of providing wrap-around services for success. The Early College High School division continues to put student achievement at the forefront of every decision made to provide customized learning programs that help all students reach their fullest potential.

Legacy Charter School 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a community member
No other school offers PE everday for kids as well as healthy meals and a commitment in teaching kids Healthy Lifestyles that they will be able to take into their homes and eventually change our society. No other school requires their teachers to workout 3 days per week and has a Fitness Center on campus Free of charge with personal trainers and classes. We all know the benefits of working out and eating right fuels the brain. This school has the best idea yet!


Legacy Charter School 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a teacher
I am blown away by what is going on at Legacy Charter. I am a teacher here and wouldn't trade it for anything. These teachers care so much about the student's success and work very hard to ensure it. We do house points which has had a very positive outcome. The principals care about every at Legacy and do so much to show it. I am proud to work at Legacy Charter School.

Legacy Charter School 5

Posted February 15, 2014
- a teacher
To start, Legacy Charter School is AWESOME!! It's awesome because it provides the students we serve with opportunities I think the wouldn't get in others schools. As you walk down the hallways, pictures of our students line the walls with their achievements that they have made so far; which boosts their self-confidence and self-esteem. Students are taught social-skills that will help them as they grow. We are the only school in SC right now that provides students with PE everyday. We are the only charter school that bus in students. Teachers are alive and vibrant; they go the extra mile to help students achieve their goals both in class and out of class. We are lead, at the elementary level, by two of the most caring and supportive principals I have ever been blessed to work with. When you have great leadership combined with a great sense of humor and insight about students; it makes for a wonderful place to want to work.

Legacy Charter School 5

Posted February 09, 2014
- a community member
Legacy elementary is the most child-centered school I have seen in recent years. the schedule, the activities, the after -school program and the daily lessons are planned with students as the main focus. Children are taught social skills, manners, and all academic areas. The leadership at the schools is exceptional. Parent involvement workshops boast excellent speakers such as Larry Bell and Dr. Montrio Belton among others. The facilities are beautiful and growing monthly. Uniforms alleviate many problems that may be evident in other schools.


Legacy Charter School 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a teacher
This is an excellent school, where health and fitness are made a priority. They have PE 5 days a week for 50 minutes (40 min on Fridays) which has proven to improve student cognition. This will give them an edge health-wise and in the classroom with focus/concentration.

Legacy Charter School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a teacher
I really enjoy working with my students and watching them succeed academically. Legacy Charter is a great place to be!

Legacy Charter School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a teacher
Legacy Charter is comprised of dedicated teachers who know how to get results. Faculty, staff and the student body make up a diverse population at an extended day school. Teachers/staff offer and support many supplemental efforts on top of rigorous academic curriculum such as an extensive music program, reading/writing/math intervention, the Lion's College Club afterschool program and much more! Legacy also offers physical education class everyday!


Legacy Charter School 5

Posted January 18, 2014
- a community member
My grand daughter is on track to earn college credits while in high school.She is academically stimulated and enamored with the courses she is taking. Small classes, uniforms, sports,and dedicated teachers make this one of the best public schools in the district. It's great to see the Parker High campus active as a community school again.

Legacy Charter School 5

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
Legacy's academic, arts and athletic programs are wonderful. The school fitness & nutrition model is second to none and the early college opportunities at Greenville Technical College is outstanding.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Legacy Charter School
PO Box 1832, Greenville SC 29602, Greenville, SC  29602
(864) 248-0646
Last modified Legacy Charter School is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Legacy Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top