Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blythe Academy

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2014

My children have been attending this school since Pre-k and this school has fell apart. The front desk staff is very rude and unorganized as well as the teachers staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My son as attended Blythe academy for the fist time this yea , my experience has been a negative one, for two weeks now the school has made a big deal To all the kid abut field day, a day of fundraising exercise and fun! My so has been very existed an looking forward to it all week. The day of the run as all the kids line up with excitement to begin the the principal and nears abruptly jerk my son out of line and tell us that my son is not current on all of his shots and needs to leave immediately ,with out warning or letting us know there was a problem during the 3 months my Son has been attending not on question about his shots but all the sudden they have an epiphany In the middle of the fun day! So my crying son who is completely up to date with ALL of his shots had to leave!!! The ignorant people at Blythe lost his paper work and all they had to do is ask us to bring prof AGIN! Or call his doctor to see they had made a mistake, so not only are the staff an principal inefficient at there job but also ignorant and rued with no concern for their children!!!!!!! Needless to say this will be his last day at Blythe and I would NOT recommend this school to anyone!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

We have been extremely pleased with Blythe Academy of Languages. where our children participate in the Spanish Immersion program. Blythe was recently selected as the 2012 International Spanish Academy Elementary School of the Year by the Spanish Embassy in Washington, DC in a nationwide competition. A tremendous and well deserved honor. It is truly amazing to see the students learning in a foreign language. Not only do they learn in a foreign language, but they speak it as well. The academics at Blythe are very rigorous and the quality of the teachers and staff are unparalleled - we are very fortunate to have such a school in Greenville!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2013

Our school, Blythe Academy, is a creative, diverse, and rigorous learning environment. All three of my children attend Blythe, and the greatest strength is the amazing teachers. Each of my children has been able to excel in their strongest interests and has had support and encouragement in their weaknesses. Their teachers have been approachable in person and by email an phone. Love of reading is a huge emphasis in the classroom and in homework. Teachers us hands-on activities with manipulatives and classroom movement to reinforce concepts. I have had teachers use music, yoga, bubbles, cartoons, Legos and dance to teach through play. The principal is a strong leader. She is present in most classes daily to support the teachers. She makes sure the kids are safe. As a parent, I have had access to her easily through email and in person. She knows my kids by name. The excellent school rating and Palmetto Gold award speak for themselves. Legislators and community activists visit our school to see an example of how a partial immersion school in a downtown neighborhood can be so successful. Middle school teachers tell us how well- prepared our graduates are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

I have had one child go through the entire program at Blythe and 2 others that are currently in it and have consistently been impressed with the school's model for partial immersion, the quality of the teachers, communication with parents, and administrative leadership. Over the years that we have attended, the school has strengthened it's community and parental involvement, improved academic standing, and excelled in providing a safe, secure, stimulating and inspiring environment for children to learn. Blythe provides an excellent option for public school choice, as it provides a high quality program in a unique learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Blythe Academy is a wonderful partial immersion language school. This year (2012-13) Blythe received an Excellent Rating Overall on the Annual State Report Card. An Excellent Overall on "Closing the Gap" and an overall Grade of "A". What is incredible about this score is that 80% of the children at Blythe are taught Math, Science and Health in another language (either French or Spanish) and take these standardized tests in English. So not only are they able to do well on the tests but are learning the content in a different language. I have been an involved parent at the school for over 10 years and travel over 30 minutes one way to send my kids to school here. I am grateful to have the opportunity for my children to attend Blythe. Blythe has an incredible group of teachers that represent over 20 countries. The Principal and her staff provide strong leadership and are focused on Academic Achievement for all students. The PTA and SIC offer a great deal of support to the school with many opportunities for parental and community involvement within the school. Most importantly, the children love coming to Blythe and are getting a great education! What more can you ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

The children are not bilingual when they leave the school. I have had one go all of the way through (K-5 - 5th grade) and she knows the basics of Spanish. The principal is terrible and has no idea of what the program should be. The test scores are mediocre. The Spanish teachers don't know how to teach, they just know Spanish. I am definitely not impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

For those comments that Blythe immersion is available only to an "elite" few, I strongly disagree. My daughter as well as her friend were both accepted in the immersion program and neither one of us knows anyone at that school. If you have an older sibling, then yes, you are accepted before other students, but that is all magnet schools. Acceptance is based on how well your child scores on her recommendations, parent letter and interview. My daughter has had a wonderful K5 year, with great teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The fifth grade teachers have really prepared my grandchild for middle school. The challenge program has been amazing for our grandchild. Every teacher she has had since K-5 has built on the previous experiences and I'm very thankful as a grandparent raising a grandchild.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

My daughter has been in the Spanish Immersion program at Blythe since K5. Overall I am very satisfied with Blythe. The principal was new when we began so we have no one to compare her to. But I think she is really pulling the staff together to provide a good education for our kids. I have been happy with most of my daughter's teachers, but you will find good and average teachers from year to year in any school. Regardless of my opinion of their teaching abilities, all of her teachers have been very caring and attentive whenever I've brought concerns. All of the staff has been very caring and concerned about the safety of the children. The PTO is very involved and while it sometimes seems like a country club atmosphere, if you take time to get involved you will find it a welcoming environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

To have my child graduate from elementary school fluent in Spanish is a gift. Blythe is amazing in that the teachers cover the required curriculum and manage to teach our children a second language at the same time, not skipping a beat. I feel that my child will be ahead of others within the state and across state lines upon completion of elemenary school and that is a great advantage. Also, the school is welcoming and has many volunteer opportunities. Blythe is a magnet school which means that many of the parents picked this particular school for their students. If it were not working, the choice would be gone. The fact that it is growing stronger and a more popular choice only adds to the excellence of this program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

Blythe is a wonderful, diverse school that provides an excellent environment for my children (who are both in the Spanish Immersion Program, K-5 and 4th grade) to grow and learn. The teachers are excellent and our principal provides solid leadership which focuses on quality academics in a safe and secure learning environment. We have an extremely dedicated and involved PTA at the school. I am consistently amazed at how my children are able to learn in both languages so effortlessly. It is a wonderful program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

Not impressed with Blythe. Office staff is less than stellar. Teachers are great, but school is falling apart from poor leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I have 1 child in 3rd grade and another child in kindergarten at Blythe and we love it. They are both in the Spanish immersion program and we have seen nothing but excellent results from Blythe. It is very challenging and keeps my children on their toes. We cannot say enough good things about Blythe. It is a great foundation for their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Blythe Academy has been a wonderful experience for my children. I have a child in 1st grade French Immersion and a child in 4th grade French Immersion. I have been very pleased with their teachers and the academics in the classrooms. Along with that they are learning the French language. Also my daughter is in the challenge program that is offered in grades 3rd - 5th which has broadened her even more. Now we are now having the pleasure of starting the flute in our home, our talented music teacher gives more of her time to our students by offering band at our school. I grew up living in different areas and I believe learning any language at a young age will help a child in life. Our teachers, students and parents make this a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2006

Blythe Acdamey provides strong academic instruction as well as enrichment in foreign languages. The teachers are amazing and parent volunteers are very supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

Blythe is a wonderful school. The French K5 teacher is the best. All the children love her and learn so much. The children in my childs class are a great mix. Some are zoned to the school and others are able to join the program. The kids range from all walks of life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

Blythe is a good school, IF your child is a very visual learner, and is well ahead for their grade. It is NOT, however, a good school for any child who is struggling or simply 'average'. This school caters to the 'country club' set, and the kids who can keep their test scores up. The principal can be very hateful and rude if you question her judgement. There is LOTS of emphasis on PTA fundraisers and selling things. Overall, I'd say that if your child is average, or strugging, or you're not very well off, stay away from Blythe. It's all about who you know, how much you can contribute, and what you wear there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2004

When I went to Blythe, the teachers were really hands-on about learning. I went to Blythe in K-5 through 5th grade. I did the immersion program where I learned math, science, and health in spanish. I'm in 7th grade and I'm very fluent in spanish. The school that I go to is good because it focuses on international studies,so all that spanish really paid off!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2004

When comparing Blythe to other elementary schools in this area, there is no question as to which school comes out ahead. My daughter did not get into immersion in kindergarten but did for first grade. We are very pleased with her progress so far this year. I agree with the other reviews that the selection process is not completely fair. I do not understand the reviews about more emphasis needed for the French program. I was extremely impressed by the French immersion, but I do not feel that French is as useful in this country as Spanish. Therefore, the program should put more emphasis and money on its Spanish Immersion.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students85%
Female97%
Male72%
African-American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled89%
English language learners83%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%

Math

All Students73%
Female78%
Male68%
African-American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals47%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled77%
English language learners83%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%

Science

All Students75%
Female76%
Male73%
African-American44%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Subsidized meals59%
Full-pay meals82%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%

Social Studies

All Students91%
Female100%
Male84%
African-American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%

Writing

All Students83%
Female95%
Male70%
African-American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled87%
English language learners92%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled40%
Not disabled92%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant87%

Math

All Students87%
Female95%
Male79%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled60%
Not disabled90%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant87%

Science

All Students86%
Female90%
Male81%
African-American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled70%
Not disabled87%
English language learners77%
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant86%

Social Studies

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
African-American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals80%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled70%
Not disabled93%
English language learners92%
Proficient in English90%
Non-migrant91%

Writing

All Students82%
Female88%
Male76%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled27%
Not disabled88%
English language learners92%
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Subsidized meals70%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled62%
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant84%

Math

All Students77%
Female81%
Male73%
African-American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Subsidized meals56%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled23%
Not disabled84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant77%

Science

All Students72%
Female72%
Male72%
African-American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Subsidized meals42%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant72%

Social Studies

All Students68%
Female74%
Male63%
African-American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Subsidized meals44%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%
Non-migrant68%

Writing

All Students79%
Female85%
Male74%
African-American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Subsidized meals61%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled31%
Not disabled86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 53%
Black 39% 36%
Hispanic 13% 7%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Blythe Dr
Greenville, SC 29605
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 355-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Chandler School
Greenville, SC




Washington Center
Greenville, SC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT