Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sara Collins Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2014

What an amazing learning environment for children! Parents and community members are very involved to support all students. The teachers, staff, leadership are top notch! After reviewing and visiting many other schools, I would not have my children attend any where else! Simply the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Sara Collins is an amazing school! The teachers and staff are great and our children have made so many wonderful friends! The PTA is incredible too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

WE LOVE Sara Collins! The staff are all wonderful and incredibly supportive of the students. There is such a feeling of family here. Excellent school spirit!! Just a special place to be. Would not want to be anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

The teachers and the PTA make this a wonderful school. My kids are in the challenge and the math olympiads program. They are not only learning but they are made to think outside of the box and apply themselves. I appreciate the diversity of the school and truly believe that it will make my kids a more worldly person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2013

I have been at Sara Collins as a parent for 6 years and have 5 more to go. I could not ask for a better environment for my children. I am pleased with Sara Collins and their staff. My children have been more than prepared for middle school and have developed and love for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

My daughter started here last year and I was pleasantly surprised by everything that she has learned and how great Mrs. Hook is! I seriously considered moving out of state before my children got old old enough to go to school because all of the schools I looked into just weren't that nice, but Sara Collins Elementary is an International Baccalaureate school and I now know why they have a waiting list a mile long!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

The education my children are receiving here has way exceded my expectations! My husband and I are very pleased with the whole package!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

This is an incredible school. I am new to this area, so my daughter attended another school for k-5 and 1st grade. The level of education at this school versus other is amazing. My son is now in the k5 program, and can read on a first grade level. He is already learning the value of money and adding and subtracting. These are things the other school's k-5 program did not offer. I am a hands on parent, so luckily I teach my kids at home as well as being involved at school, but I see a big difference in the syllabus. I would recommend this school to any new families in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

I have 1 child at this school and my other child went there for 5 years! i have found the staff there to be extremely helpful anytime a problem or concern arises! i volunteer at this school and i see alot that most parents dont see! like what the teachers have to put up with while trying to teach our kids that 'want' to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

I would not put my child in this school. I went there and now my sister and nephew are enrolled. This school is a social gathering for the stuck up parents. Children are treated on how much money they have. Please do not put your child in this school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 16, 2005

I graduated from this school in 2001 I really loved the education I got here. I highly recomend this school to anyone planning on coming to this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 12, 2005

I really love the diversity in this school. It is really good for the children in this school to be able to see all different types of other children, whether it is their ethnicity or their different physical abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students83%
Female87%
Male79%
African-American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals64%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled55%
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%

Math

All Students70%
Female71%
Male70%
African-American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals38%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled25%
Not disabled78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%

Science

All Students65%
Female61%
Male68%
African-American42%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Subsidized meals36%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabled30%
Not disabled71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%

Social Studies

All Students81%
Female87%
Male77%
African-American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Subsidized meals60%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled50%
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%

Writing

All Students71%
Female74%
Male70%
African-American49%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals47%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled30%
Not disabled78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students89%
Female93%
Male84%
African-American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled58%
Not disabled93%
English language learners75%
Proficient in English90%
Non-migrant89%

Math

All Students87%
Female88%
Male87%
African-American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled37%
Not disabled95%
English language learners92%
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant87%

Science

All Students81%
Female81%
Male82%
African-American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized meals63%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled32%
Not disabled89%
English language learners83%
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
African-American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled69%
Not disabled93%
English language learners83%
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant90%

Writing

All Students82%
Female86%
Male78%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized meals61%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled21%
Not disabled92%
English language learners75%
Proficient in English83%
Non-migrant82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students82%
Female85%
Male80%
African-American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Subsidized meals66%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled32%
Not disabled94%
English language learners72%
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant82%

Math

All Students75%
Female74%
Male77%
African-American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Subsidized meals57%
Full-pay meals84%
Disabled16%
Not disabled88%
English language learners79%
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant75%

Science

All Students70%
Female63%
Male76%
African-American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Subsidized meals39%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled23%
Not disabled82%
English language learners50%
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant70%

Social Studies

All Students69%
Female74%
Male67%
African-American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Subsidized meals46%
Full-pay meals82%
Disabled17%
Not disabled80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Non-migrant69%

Writing

All Students71%
Female80%
Male63%
African-American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Subsidized meals45%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabled12%
Not disabled85%
English language learners59%
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 53%
Black 29% 36%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 Parkins Mill Rd
Greenville, SC 29607
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 355-3200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Washington Center
Greenville, SC


The Chandler School
Greenville, SC


Blythe Academy
Greenville, SC



Sterling School
Greenville, SC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT