Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Public
Greenville, SC
Students enrolled: 822

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school with caring teachers and the best principal in Greenville County!!

Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2014
- a parent
The "low" rating of a 6 for Greenbrier makes me sad. This will be our 7th year with a student at Greenbrier. Nothing but good things to say about the school. Any issues we've ever had have been immediately addressed by the teachers. The principal is very involved with student life and knows almost all by name. She has done great things to improve the school in her 7 years. Parents have plenty of opportunities for involvement in the school. Teachers welcome the chance to have parental help! Don't base your school choice solely on testing scores. Those results never show the whole picture.


Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
I adore this school!!! My daughter has attended Greenbrier since kindergarten. She will complete the 5th grade in a few weeks. I have loved all of her teachers. I am pleased with the administration!! The staff as a whole is extremely friendly!!! I feel blessed to have had such an ideal experience!!!

Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
I love everything about this school! Teachers and staff prove to me that I was right in moving my family to this area.

Greenbrier Elementary School 1

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
My son is in second grade. This school is allowing him to be bullied and doing nothing about it. This is NOT the school of kindness. The teachers are there only to draw a paycheck and nothing more. My son has only been at this school this year and it will certainly be his last year here as well.


Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
Greenbrier has come a long way from where it was, largely due to the leadership of the current principal (Great Schools needs to update the name listed - it isn't correct and hasn't been for at least 4 years). Most of the teachers are actively engaged with the children and provide caring environments in their classrooms. As with any school, there are outliers, but for the most part, our experience at Greenbrier has been positive and our children have flourished there. The main negative I see is the lack of parent involvement. This is NOT due to the lack of opportunities, but it does reflect the attitude of some in the community - this is a real shame because with some additional parents involvement, this could truly be a great school.

Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
Love love love this school! Great teachers, great admin staff, great volunteers, and awesome principal. We have been at Greenbrier for 5 years and our enthusiasm only gets stronger.

Greenbrier Elementary School 1

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
Greenbrier is not focused on every child and their education. The principal does not treat every situation the same and chooses to discipline each student differently based on gender, race, etc. This is a school that believes every student should receive a trophy at the end of the year and be rewarded for being the same as each neighboring student. Greenbrier does not teach individuality and real word situations. Multiple complaints about individual teachers are ignored and students suffer.


Greenbrier Elementary School 4

Posted July 12, 2010
- a parent
The new principal has definitely turned this school around. The energy is positive and the curriculum is motivating. I find the majority of the teachers well educated and very effective with the children. I would recommend this school to everyone.

Greenbrier Elementary School 4

Posted June 07, 2010
- a parent
I love the energy the new principal has brought to this school. It is such a positive atmosphere for my daughter. They treat her with respect and love. The school is clean, the staff is friendly. I love the hands on learning projects and especially the community garden the classrooms share.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenbrier Elementary School
853 Log Shoals Rd, Greenville, SC  29607
(864) 355-5300
Last modified Greenbrier Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Greenbrier Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top